We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best and most friendly hotel in Arusha”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After staying so many years in another property in Arusha I had to check out while quite sick of that place due to them being fully booked and by default ended up here - what an experience :) they say you get used to something and habits are hard to change - but change is always great - as now I would not stay anywhere else - just an amazing place to be - the staff were friendly and attentive and always at hand to help me with anything I needed - the food was exquisite - and the management kept checking on me due to me being sick which was such a homely and comforting feeling that people away from home cared. Fabulous people, team, food and place:)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pooja76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights before the start of our safari with Roy Safaris. We arrived at around 03:30 AM at Kilimanjaro Airport and as per our request, someone was there to meet us and take us to the hotel. It takes approximately 45 - 50 minutes to reach the hotel. Our rooms very clean and spacious.

The staff was very kind and friendly and they even arranged to send the breakfast to our room after the breakfast time was over as the kids were still sleeping. Our beds were very comfortable and we all slept very well. The service was of very high standard and we are very happy especially because of the response to our need by Mr. Sharma, the General Manager of the hotel.
We were coming from a safari trip from Zambia and our son (age 9) had been bitten by some insect there which became infected by the time we reached the African Tulip hotel. We asked for guidance regarding a medical clinic and the reception informed Mr. Sharma who came to see us. Mr. Sharma then contacted a doctor, set up an appointment and then accompanied us to the doctor with us. It was such a relieve to have him accompany us that words cannot describe it. It was true hospitality for which we are very grateful. Mr. Sharma ensured that we got the medical attention that we required and stayed with us throughout this experience.

We were very happy with our stay at the African Tulip hotel and would highly recommend this place. Thank you, Mr. Sharma for being so kind to us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anwar570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Perfect stop for the first night we arrived on our Safari Honneymoon! The hotel was just what we needed after 20+ hours of flying. Clean room, large beds, modern and large bathrooms. The staff was wonderful and the food delicious! We only stayed here one night before we began our Safari but think it is the perfect place to stay upon arrival in Arusha.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLaverty1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

If traveling to Arusha consider the African Tulip before any other place. The small, exceedingly attractive boutique hotel with considerable character has only 29 rooms, but this also means that it is easy to meet the extraordinarily competent and professional staff. There is a sense of pride among the staff, and it is exhibited in so many helpful and thoughtful ways. Mr. Sharma, the manager, could not have been more helpful or gracious. He made me feel welcome and at home. The hotel’s restaurant serves a wide variety of excellent food, including several Indian vegetarian dishes, at reasonable prices. Even if you are not staying at the hotel, a visit to the restaurant is still in order. Please be sure to say hello to Christopher, one of the most professional, courteous, and friendly waiters I’ve ever had.

The African Tulip is on Serengeti Road, about 100 yards from Old Moshe Road.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RichT529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel two years back. Its very neat and clean. I am a vegetarian and the chef cooked specially some very good Indian Punjabi food. The rooms are very nice and spacious. The staff is also very courteous. Great stay in a far and secluded place like this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hitenmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our tour companies, Africa 2000 Tours and Infinite Horizon, were the ones that suggested this hotel for our stay before and after our Meru hike and we were totally pleased. The service was outstanding and the rooms were extremely clean. We were pleasantly surprised on the large size of the rooms, including the upgraded mini-suite that we were given after our hike. The staff in all parts of the hotel were friendly and willing to help us with anything. The dining room offers some wonderful breakfast and dinner options. Internet is available in the business center near the lobby. We were able to have laundry done very quickly before we headed out to our safari. Would certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1adklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed at the African Tulip Hotel with a group of eleven people. The hotel accommodations were wonderful. We felt like we were in colonial Africa with staff ready to meet our every need. Hotel management was visible and ready to help when needed. Check-in was easy, rooms comfortable, bathrooms large and well equipped. We didn't use the pool but it was lovely. Laundry was quickly done and returned to our rooms. The dining room food was great with a emphasis on Indian cuisine. Dining room staff were professional and pleasant to be around. Overall, a great hotel. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Both rooms were fine. The neighborhood can get noisy with construction during the day but overall t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kathyadamsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 45 in Arusha
646 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
487 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Arusha, The Arusha Hotel
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
111 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £164 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing