We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, caring staff, Home away from Home”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
grass valley, california
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, caring staff, Home away from Home”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This is now my fourth visit to this wonderful Hotel. The staff is always friendly,, the rooms are clean, ;large and comfortable. Their breakfast has improved since the last time, and because it is a quite small hotel, they really care about you personally.
This has to be the best hotel in Arusha, if you want a nice place with a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    224
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
204
318
52
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

My wife and I spent a total of four nights at The African Tulip 2 nights before our Kilimanjaro trek (which was amazing) then before and after our 7 day safari.
The hotel is an oasis of charm, excellent service and great value. One would never know the hotel was so close to the city centre - it was tranquil and peaceful, a lovely swimming pool, superb lounge and excellent meals. The staff went out of their way to make us welcome and we felt right at home by the time we spent our last night there!
Its proximity to town meant that we were able to visit the local markets, go shopping for gifts to take back home and for a final splurge before we returned home.
We would highly recommend The African Tulip to anyone contemplating a safari and/or Kilimanjaro trek - this is the perfect base for both, and offers everything from meals to internet service (great for sending our Kili pictures back home) and spacious, well decorated accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My colleagues and I stayed at The African Tulip for over a week and found everything about our stay to be excellent. This is a lovely, quiet, small boutique hotel located just off the main road. The staff were very attentive and friendly, the rooms are very spacious, clean, modern and comfortable, with each room having its own theme. Internet connection also good.

Although we were not having our conference in the hotel, the staff were very accommodating with any resources we required. We currently now use the African Tulip every time we are in Arusha and will continue to do so.

My two colleagues and I managed to tag on a safari to our trip which was organised by Roy Safari's (next door). Again, everything about this trip was fantastic and well organised.

Overall, I would definitely recommend The African Tulip and Roy Safari's if you are planning a trip to Arusha.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GALVmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We were positively surprised with the ambiance, nice African decoration and friendliness of the staff at the African Tulip. We stayed one night before our safari with Roy Safaris, which also owns the place.

The hotel is minutes away from the main busy road in Arusha, but in a very quiet and peaceful location. All the premises were perfectly clean during all our stay.

I did not feel the rooms so large as in the previous posts, but adequate. Ours had a balcony with chairs.

The restaurant is relatively expensive for the African standards. I had better T-bone steaks before, but my wife and kids enjoyed the meals ordered from the Indian menu.

The staff was always very friendly and courteous. Internet is available for a fee.

There is a small shop and another one in the Roy office just beside the hotel. The items had good quality and we later discovered that prices were very competitive even compared to regular local shops during our safari.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromAuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
492 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I loved the African Tulip. Rooms are spacious, modern and clean, with very large beds. The bathrooms are new, with extractor fans, shaver outlets and excellent water pressure. I slept soundly here and so did all of our travel companions. The gift store also has a lot to offer at very competitive prices. In fact, we went to the markets the next day, after checking out prices/quality in the gift shop, and many items were better value and quality here. We also loved the food here and the pool. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grass valley, california
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

This was our third stay here, and as usual, we were quite comfortable. The rooms are large, the location is nice, and the staff is from average to outstanding. The best part, is that you can be close to the city, but far enough that you feel like you are out in the country.
I do think, though, that they could certainly improve the breakfast. The fruit is never very good, and the service is quite slow. Juice, usually pretty watered down.
Also, on the last trip, they had a hard time fixing the internet, so we had to go to another hotel to use this service. For business, we absolutely need access to the internet on a daily basis.
Over all, I have to give this hotel a thumbs up, as it is the best you can find in Arusha.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed 5 people from Denmark before and after our safari on the Serengeti. Upon arrival we were greeted by the staff with a friendly smile and shown our very spacious rooms.

On both our stays we found the hotel to be excellent. Both as a base to walk around the town of Arusha and just to relax with a coffee in the lounge.
The rooms were quite on the spacious side - and the food in the restaurant was served with a smile and good humor by the local staff.

We also had a discussion with some of the kitchen staff on how to make danish pastry - as we were danish nationals. They were trying hard to make us feel at home. They were very open to suggestions and we would recommend to anyone staying at the African Tulip to engage positively with the staff there. We had some good meals and enjoyed also eating there - recommended is also the indian specialties in the restaurant. Try them!

All in all we thorughly recommend staying at this hotel - relax and take a walk around Arusha during the day. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere, staff has a willingness to help you - and also in a very friendly atomosphere.

Just - go there and enjoy your stay....

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorensenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
3.2 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
251 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Property: The African Tulip
Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing