We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find - enjoyed our stay!”
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The African Tulip
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We only stayed for one night but enjoyed our time at the African Tulip. The staff was very friendly and worked hard to assist us as best they could. We had lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food/service was great! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissionsMinded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
There are newer reviews for The African Tulip
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2011

For those of us who like a swimming pool, the one at the African Tulip is small (about 3 meters sq).

However, the ambiance of the lobby, the beauty of the rooms, and the serenity of the restaurant is worth a one or two night stay at the end of a safari before flying out of Kilimanjaro airport.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Putachesnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed here in November for 1 night at the start of our safari. The hotel was picked by our safari operator, Swala Safaris, and we were very pleased.

After a long flight we were greeted with a refreshing fruit juice and we have never had a welcome like it. After a very slick check-in our bags were taken to our room by the porters. Our room was lovely and clean and the bed was lovely and firm, just the way we like it. The bathroom was very clean and spacious.

After a good nights sleep the buffet breakfast was great with lots of choice and very fresh, with eggs cooked any way you wanted them.

The service we received from them was first class and they were very accommodating and friendly. We didnt have time to use the pool but it looked like it was very clean.

Overall, a fantastic start to our safari, and would definitely recommend. It deserves its rating as the top hotel in Arusha.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed here 1 night before the start of our Safari and 1 night at the end of it.

Great service and "Jomba" (hello) from everyone. As we pull up, the bellman and manager were there to greet us. As we walked into the lobby, we were treated to a cold fruit juice and quickly taken to our room.

The room was wonderful, very large, clean, with large washrooms with great showers. Included a fridge, safe and bottled water.

Only problem with the bed, is that they only have a bottom sheet and a duvet cover.
The wife loved it, but I am always warm and a duvet is just to hot for me. The room got
to hot without the wonderful "whisper" air conditioner and when it was on, I was either to
hot, cause of the duvet cover, or to cold as there was nothing else to cover me with.

The wife says I could have just asked for a blanket.

The entire hotel has a great charm to it and everyone seemed to want to go out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.

The dining room is terrific and the French Chef they have cooks superb food and came out to greet us at dinner and breakfast.

Nice little pool area that we enjoyed using for a short period of time.

Only knock I would have is the price for internet, $20 USD for 24 hrs. of internet. At the price we were paying for the room, i was surprised it was not included. But not a deal breaker.

It's not near anything and they advise you not to wonder far. Which suited us fine.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed here during a safary trip in Tanzania. Managed by the well established Tanzanian safari organizer Roy Safaris, it is definately a very comfortable and safe option for a stay in Arusha. Although we reserved a triple room to reduce the accomodation costs, we were kindly given two rooms without demanding any additional charge. The frontdesk staff were also extremely helpful by assisting us making other hotel reservations for the remainder of our trip. I recommended this hotel to my collegues, also visiting Arusha during a safari, and they were pleased as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

The African Tulip is a boutique hotel with pure African styling, very clean and everything feels nearly brand new. It is set in a small lot, not much bigger than the hotel itself, but with high garden walls for privacy and security. The inside is all very stylish and professional looking, there is a small outdoor swimming pool set in a very nice garden area with lounge chairs and a pool bar. Another bar is located inside by the restaurant. There are no elevators in the building so if mobility is an issue, make a special request for ground floor.

LOCATION - African Tulip is located just a block off the main road to town, within easy walking distance of city center, a small grocery store, and many restaurants. You'll want the hotel to call you a taxi for going out at night, which takes some time to arrive as the taxi company they use is quite far away, but when it arrives, it is luxurious compared to the regular white taxis you find on the street corner (ours was a new model minivan), and our driver was always honest and courteous. Because it is off the main road, it is quiet, no road noise, which is very nice.

ROOMS - We booked a deluxe room, which was decent sized, but not huge by any means. It was clean and stylish, and seemed like new. It could have used some more things on the walls, and we were annoyed that the television was located right over the desk so if one person was working, the other couldn't watch television - I don't know why hotels do that, it's so impractical!

Because we had a lot of luggage, the room wasn't really big enough to be comfortable for a three night stay, so we upgraded to a suite for $60 per night, well worth it! The suite is quite large, no separate bedroom but the working and sitting area is in a separate part of the room, so it feels separate. The TV was again right over the desk, still very annoying. The furnishings were lovely, the bathroom was large with a separate shower area, two sinks, a wardrobe, a sitting table, and a small balcony which was really on a rooftop. There is a deluxe room upstairs with a huge, lovely balcony - it's not a suite, but the balcony is by far the best in the hotel. It's the on you can see on their website of course.

The television is over the desk in the other part of the room, so there is no way to watch it from the bed. Instead of a second television, there is a mirror on the wall. There is a sofa you could watch the television from if nobody was sitting at the desk working. There is no iron or ironing board in the room or available at all in the hotel - only a pressing service that is charged at half the laundry price - and the hair dryer is so weak it is pointless, so plan ahead if you need those services. The rooms are air-conditioned, and there is a mini-bar but it is not stocked so I'm not sure why they advertise it. The bed is a Swedish Tempur-Pedic style foam mattress (though a lesser quality), and was fairly comfortable. The linens were nice, but the pillows were cheap and hard, which was too bad. Loved the rooms overall, clean, roomy and stylish.

BUSINESS - There is a very large desk, even bigger in the suites - we sat two people relatively comfortably. It is cumbersome to work at the desk because the TV is in the way, but it's workable. There is wireless internet throughout the hotel, though on the 2nd floor it was not a very strong signal - 3 bars generally. The speed was quite slow at only 300kb/s, with an unusable upload speed of less than 100 kb/s. Skype did work ok, but YouTube did not, and internet backup was not possible. It was very slow to upload or download files, and it kept going in and out, not all the time, but sometimes. Even browsing the web was cumbersome, though workable. For this, they charge $20.00 per day. There was no wired internet in our room. There is also a business center downstairs where they charge for everything. I printed one page, they put it on my room bill - 75 cents. There is a conference room here as well. Plenty of places in the bar or pool area to use your laptop if you wish as well. Good cell service and Blackberry service in town here, as well as 3G Mobile Broadband.

SERVICES -
Thereis a small gift shop and a Tanzanite jewelry store downstairs with pretty decent prices surprisingly enough. The whole place was spotless, though I'm not sure why they only give you two half-size bottles of water each day. There is a computer station downstairs where you can use the internet for a fee, and they will store your bags for you if you are going on safari or a Kilimanjaro climb. Room service is available until 10:00 PM. Staff was helpful in recommending a restaurant to us and calling us a taxi. Check-out is at 10:00 AM for some reason and they will charge you heftily if you overstay.

There is a restaurant that has great Indian food and a few Tanzanian dishes. Service is friendly but very slow and poorly trained with limited English, so there were several miscommunications and frustrations. They do try hard to be helpful, they just aren't always successful at it because they aren't well trained or well supervised. Just make sure you ask specifically for your coffee in the morning to be brought before your breakfast (otherwise it will be a long 30 min. wait without coffee), and you'll be fine.

The front desk staff is similarly equipped - friendly and eager to please, but limited English and not well trained enough to be capable in many cases of doing so, and the manager was very unhelpful, seldom seen, did not get back to us when he said he would and totally uninterested in offering solutions to our issues. Our check-out process took over 1 hour to complete because of two very simple issues that the front desk staff didn't know how to handle, and the managers didn't care to offer any solutions or even to talk to us, even though they were standing right there. Very unprofessional.

Laundry services charged by the piece are available, but we got ours back not pressed and stuffed in a bag all wrinkled so we couldn't wear them. Of course we wouldn't have bothered to wash them if they weren't going to be wearable, but they insisted that we still pay for them in full, and fought over the $4.00 in question like it was my entire bill. The manager stood by the whole time and watched without saying a word. Very unprofessional. If you have large amounts of laundry from a long trip, they will not negotiate bulk laundry rates for you, and they will not refer you to a laundromat.

On check-out we were informed that if we wanted to use a credit card to pay, then they could only charge us in U.S. Dollars even though all the charges were in Tanzanian Shillings, using the absurdly horrible exchange rate of 1300:1 rather than the real going exchange rate of 1500:1, a whopping 15% difference! On top of that, they would have to charge us an additional 4% for bank fees, so we would now be paying a whopping 20% overcharge just to pay with a credit card. Absolutely criminal! Of course, none of this was mentioned at any time, so we didn't have enough cash on hand, so we finally had no choice but to pay it.

Then, their credit card machine didn't work and it took the staff a ridiculous amount of time to come to the conclusion that the line was down, so they decided that the only solution was for us to find an ATM or Bank somewhere at 7:00 AM and take out enough cash to pay our bill. No offer to take us either, just that we need to find one. Of course, there is a limit on ATM withdrawals so we couldn't take enough cash out so had to find multiple ATMs to make the payment. We finally managed to get enough cash, but then of course the internet charges were in USD so they charged us a huge conversion fee to change that to Shillings. We left after a full hour of being jerked around and ripped off totally furious. Too bad too, because we had an otherwise very good stay.

With some serious retraining of management and staff members, and a reworking of the gouge-the-customers-in-any-way-possible policies, African Tulip would be a very nice place to stay in Arusha. As it stands, I would not stay at African Tulip again and would not recommend it to others. The service we received at check-out and the absolutely predatory payment policies are so offensive I just can't express it. They simply did not value me as a customer, and for the $300/night price tag I think I have a right to expect better treatment than this.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I recently stayed at the African Tulip for three nights with my father and my nephew and we all enjoyed our stay.

The service at the hotel was first class and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. They chased up my lost luggage and arranged for my father to visit a dentist at short notice. A special mention for Beatrice is appropriate.

The rooms are comfortable and our room easily accomodated three single beds. The shower and bathroom facilities are excellent. The restuarant is clean and it served up good breakfasts and great coffee.

The hotel is located in quiet area, still within walking distance of the town centre but far enough away to avoid the touts. It is a great place to take a break from the hustle and bustle of downtown Arusha. The pool area is a great place to unwind, read a book and sip on a Kilimanjaro. A Barclays Bank ATM is also conveniently located across the road.

Overall, the hotel has a nice relaxed feel to it and it is great place to stay before or after a safari. I would highly recommend the hotel.

A big thank you also goes to Hemed, our driver for Roy Safari, the parent company of the African Tulip. Having Roy's next door to the hotel was brilliant when we needed a car a driver at short notice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattC64Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 44 in Arusha
594 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 44 in Arusha
462 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 44 in Arusha
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 44 in Arusha
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 44 in Arusha
266 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 4 Serengeti Road, Arusha 1517, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
Price Range: £169 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing