We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Sakina campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sakina campsite
Ranked #51 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I stayed just before the rainy season in the beginning of this year.
It is a very nice place t stay.
Along with the always friendly survises of Robert, it made a perfect base for my travels.
Breakfast i pretty good aswell.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Sakina campsite
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

Sakina Campsite is a bit out of town, righthandsite at the Nairobi road. It is surrounded by walls and a safe and nice place to stay when you do not want to be in the busy city. Above all, as mentioned in other reviews, Robert is really friendly and helped us with everything we had to do in town. There is a "living room" which we used for working (Rovert even provided us with internet stick to check our mails) and the rooms are big enough and we slept quite well. There is optional laundry service (although expensive). The small garden is green and we even managed to see some nice birds there. Highly recommendable! Asante sana to Robert and Jennifer

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrinBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The place is very safe and you can feel that the personnel is taking care of you. Robert is a superb and thoughtful guy, Jennifer is kindly taking care of the cleanliness of your room. Nice breakfast and good view of Mont Meru. I had an awesome time. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudra6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

A perfect cheap and friendly place to stay. Robert is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the garden with our small camper van. A great view of Mount Meru. A laundry service is also available. With a daladala Arusha is easy to reach. We even had a BBQ in the garden.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Ok, first off let me get the mediocre parts out of the way - location. Sakina is not the most convenient location, but it's $3 in a dalla-dalla or $6 in a taxi away from anywhere. So it was not a problem at all. In return, we get very good value for our lodging dollar.

Just to be clear, this is not ONLY a campsite. They have several rooms with decent appointments. This is not Hilton, but things are clean and quiet. For the money, I would use this place again. We saved a ton of money staying on the cheap in Arusha and splurging all the rest on our beach resort in Zanzi :)

However, the best feature of this place is the guy who runs it - Robert. He's the friendliest and the most helpful person I experienced in Arusha. He was singularly the reason why we did not have a meltdown in Arusha when we had disagreements with our safari company. He knows reliable people around town - safari operators, taxi drivers, restaurants - everything... and is happy to connect you with them. Once inside the fence, Sakina is such a quiet place and Robert knows how to keep it that way. We are still in touch with him after we are back and wish him the best.

Highly recommended for hikers and backpackers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashterfuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

If you're looking for a clean, comfortable place that is away from the hustle and bustle of the town itself, then this is it. It has the feel of a large home and there are always other guests staying, who like to socialise in the lounge/dining area.

The daily tariff is very reasonable, whatever level of accommodation you are looking for, and both Robert and Jennifer will do everything they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartynF353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Great place to stay, really helpful people and good service. It was really good value and the sleeping quality was good as well. This is a great place to stay as it is located just outside the centre of Arusha so it is not too busy, but is not too far from the shopping areas. For the price it is an excellent place to stay and the staff are very accommodating and cater for your every need. I would recommend people to stay here if they are on expeditions, as I was, because you can get a good nights rest and good food here as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#10 of 125 in Arusha
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
0.0 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 43 in Arusha
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Point Zone Resort
Point Zone Resort
#34 of 43 in Arusha
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakina campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakina campsite

Address: P.O Box 10321, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing