We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Sakina campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sakina campsite
Ranked #52 of 180 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Sakina Campsite must be the best place to stay in Arusha. Nice rooms, nice garden, nice breakfast and the nicest people running the place. Robert will help you with everything you might need: airport pick-up, getting the Daladala into town, finding a place for dinner and so much more. The most wonderful place where you will feel just like at home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

Sakina Campsite is a small lovely place. It is placed outside of Arusha but the town is easily reachable. The couple at the place are very lovely and helpful with whatever problem you might have.
There are different kinds of room, all of them are really nice (I tried three differents).
It is a great and trusthworthy place.
If you want to you can relax in the small garden with the nice paintings on the outer wall.
The place and the staff are great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed at Sakina for 3 nights. Room was nice and clean and the staff is excellent and helpful. Jennifer washed our laundry and Robert helped us a lot! He arranged a 3 days safari to Serengeti and Ngorongoro and a one day trip to Kilimanjaro for us. I most definitely recommend Sakina Campsite for anyone whose visiting Arusha (and want to do a great safari). Sakina is one of the best hostels I stayed in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed at Sakina Campsite for 4 nights, and had such a great time, thanks to Robert the owner. He was so helpful and were always smiling! We also booked 2-days safari through Robert and that was fantastic. Rooms were basic with mosquito-nets and comfy beds. Easy to take cheap dalla dalla to citycenter. Roberts prepared a good big breakfast every morning, and anytime we needed to use the internet we could borrow his computer. We can really recommend Sakina Campsite, it feels more like coming home to someone than a hostel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PH89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Sakina Campsite is a very cosy place:) the staff is so friendly and they made us feel like home. The room are nice and clean. And Robert who is running the place gives you all the information you need about Tanzania. We just stayed here for one night on our way to Zanzibar, but i will return to stay there for longer next time I am going to Tanzania:) I highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miriam o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed at Sakina Campsite for 8 nights. Actually, we planned to stay here for 3 nights, but because of the very friendly staff, Robert and Jennifer, we decided to stay longer. On our first day Robert gave us a very warm welcome, including a lunch and a lot of information about Tanzania. He also arranged a 5-day safari for us. We can highly recommend to arrange your safari by Robert, as he offers you a good price and you can be assure of a excellent and save safari trip (which is not always the case if go to town to arrange it by yourself).

Robert is also very helpful, concerned about his guests and gives you the feeling of being home, which we really appreciated!! Furthermore, we had a nice time with the other guests from the USA and Italy during breakfasts and drinks in the cosy living room.

If we come to Tanzania again, we will definitely visit Sakina a second time!! We will miss you Robert!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter de Zwart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I highly recommend planning your safari ahead of time with Robert Lawrence and staying at Sakina campsite hostel. The safari Robert arranged for me was excellent with a good driver and guide who knew all the wildlife, birds, and trees, and a good cook. Robert made sure I got the trip I wanted at a price I could afford. Some visitors to Tanzania get scammed by fake safari operators and their money stolen but I had a great experience. Rooms at Sakina are pleasant and reasonably priced. Robert is also very considerate and helpful to all his guests.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#9 of 126 in Arusha
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Impala Hotel
Impala Hotel
#33 of 43 in Arusha
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakina campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakina campsite

Address: P.O Box 10321, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 180 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing