We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sakina Campsite: Wonderfull place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sakina campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sakina campsite
Ranked #35 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Sakina Campsite: Wonderfull place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Hi everyone,

This august I stayed at Sakina Campsite for 1 night with some friends of mine before we went for a Safari. Immediately we had a great connection with the owner Robert. He is truly a fantastic guy. He will do anything for you if you ask him and he's very friendly. Therefore we decided too also stay at Sakina for 4 nights after our safari to have some time to explore the surroundings of Arusha. We had no regrets. You get an nice breakfast, warm shower, clean and comfortable room for a very low price! Robert also got his own safari tour operation (Oltumure Tours & Safari's) which is very reliable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
20
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Sakina Campsite on our nights in Arusha between climbing and safari tours--we didn't want to blow a bunch of money just to crash and shower, so we went with a hostel. We were glad we chose Sakina and only encountered a couple of hiccups.

The rooms are tidy and comfortable enough. They have private bathrooms, and really all I wanted to do after my endless bus ride from Dar Es Salaam was take a shower and pass out.
The grounds are nicely kept and charming. It feels very private.

The breakfast at Sakina is good. There is not a full kitchen, but there is a nearby hotel where the owner, Robert, recommends to go eat--the food there was fine. You can buy waters or beers in the Sakina office if you want them. They do not have wifi, but the nearby hotel does, and Robert even let me use his computer one day to check for something I needed in my email.

We did have one issue with a door in our room, but Robert was immediately on top of fixing it and was very concerned. On our second visit to Sakina, after going to Meru and then a safari, our reservation was not in their books--luckily we had printed copies of all our reservations and could show it to them. They did not have a room open, but Robert magically made it happen and they accommodated us. The room was not in as good of shape as the previous one, but it worked for one night.

I would recommend Sakina if you don't want to spend a lot and need a place for a night in Arusha. Robert and his staff are incredibly kind, and even if you have problems during your stay, he will make sure they get fixed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelda713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I'm sorry for the late review! Out visit was on New Year's in 2012/2013. My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the private rooms while our two friends stayed in the dorm. Robert was awesome, and helped us book our safari for a much better price and quality than anything we could find online or in town. We had delicious breakfast every morning, and felt safe in the compound at night. The rooms were clean (for Africa) and very comfortable. I enjoyed staying in Sakina more than I did in the "five star" resort in Moshi! We had a great New Years Eve watching Taken 2 with Robert, and I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandycat87
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Warm and friendly welcome. Very basic rooms but it doesn't pretend to be anything more than basic so no surprise there! we were in a double private bed with private bathroom, very dated and worn.The shower was too weak, but it did the job as we were only staying one night before our safari and one night after. Mosquito net was in good condition and hardly any bugs anywhere anyway.
There didn't seem to be any food available other than breakfast (omlette, pancake, toast, fruit, tea/coffee and fruit juice etc) but if you need water or dinner, Robert, the guy who welcomed us, and runs it with his family, will show you the little shop (window in the side of a house!) and a hotel restaurant just up the road that does good food for around 8,000TSh for a burger, chips and salad. Drinks cheap too.
We got a taxi from Arusha centre off the bus from Nairobi, which we paid $10 but its only 20mins max from the centre so this was too much i think even though the driver originally wanted $20! Happy for Robert to order us a taxi back when we needed to leave, at 10,000TSh ($6), no bargaining, to the bus station in Arusha centre and he got the driver to help us onto the right bus at the other end. We gave them both a dollar or so each for being so kind because its easy to get ripped off otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandycat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

If you are in Arusha then you must stay here!!!

Robert is a great manager and welcomed us to a comfortable and lovely few nights stay. Robert arranged a brilliant safari for us, he walked with us to a local restaurant and was undoubtably the best host!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

The three of us stayed here in Aug. 2013. Our main goal was to climb Kili and we ended up doing a 3 day safari tour as well. Robert is a super friendly host. He helped us book both Kili and safari tours. Skina Campsite is safe and quite. Jessica who works there is also very friendly.

Robert went out of his way to help us with many things. We wanted to have a small barbecue on our last night and he borrowed a grill from his neighbor and walked me over to a market nearby to buy meat and coal. We had a day to spare and we wanted to see the city so we asked Robert and he called his friend Jeremy who was basically our personal guide and took us to many places in the city, including Maasai market.

Overall, you can't go wrong with this place. email Robert @ reservation@sakinacamp.com or
booking@sakinacamp.com or go to Sakinacamp.com. He will reply quickly as he did to me and answer all of your questions.

Tips:
1) If you want do Kili ask Robert to book you with Alex and John who were our guides. They were beyond excellent. By far the best guides we have had ever. Iif you end up climbing Kili with them, tell them Farhan, Temba and Gunu sent you :)

2) If you have time to spare and would like a local Maasai person to be your guide, ask Robert to hook you up with Jeremy. He is a young man who has a degree in Tourism but he is looking for permanent job right now. You can give him whatever you want at the end of the trip.

3) I mentioned this to Robert as well and I have to let you all know that safari tour was ok at best for us. The driver/guide Issac was not so friendly. I am sorry to say this but if you want to book safari with Robert, tell him you prefer someone other than Isaac. Robert did say he was going to talk to Isaac about our trip but I do not know how big of a difference it would have made.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights. Quiet and safe place, clean room, hot shower, full bed, very good breakfest included... Robert is a great host, good english speaking, friendly, always smiling and laughing and he can really help you to book your activities while you are in Arusha (safari, Kilimanjaro climbing, Arusha tour). I booked my safari with a contact he had (Mike from Northern Circuit Adventure) and the experience was absolutely amazing: good cook, nice food, good driver/guide with a good english speaking, saw many animals and most important, everything we wrote in the conract was respected. Asante sana Robert! ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 149 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#6 of 98 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakina campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakina campsite

Property: Sakina campsite
Address: P.O Box 10321, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing