We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No charm, bare bones, avoid unless need something cheap”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olasiti Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Ranked #50 of 156 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“No charm, bare bones, avoid unless need something cheap”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

we went here on an Overseas Adventure Travel tour of Tanzania. I felt like taking some of the African art that I had purchased in the last 3 weeks and donating it to them. There reception/bar is unadorned with any significant art. The art they have is so small that it does not stand out. The food is just sufficient to survive, but not tasty or original. The rooms are ok. The trees are infested with something and coated with spider webs or worm infestations.

It must be cheap, although I don't know the price. Otherwise I don't know why the tour company put us here. If they invested just $1000 in African art and $1000 in treating the infestation of their trees, it would be a great improvement. However, the neighborhood is very low end, even for Africa.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lindaruthe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
8
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is an excellent place to stay at the beginning (or end) of a safari. We arrived mid-morning after a long flight and were greeted warmly and shown to a clean, comfortable room. We were able to arrange lunch at very short notice and it was delicious, as was supper. The staff were very friendly and helpful which added to the relaxed feel of the place. An afternoon spent by the well kept pool was the perfect spot to unwind and "recharge the batteries" before embarking on our busy safari itinerary. We did not have the time, nor inclination, to venture out - but I am sure that had we wanted to, the staff would have helped us to book transport etc. This is not high end luxury, but it IS clean, functional and excellent value. I would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I second the comments of the previous reviewer. The place itself is clean and attractive, but it is surrounded by an ugly concrete wall about 10 feet high to isolate it from the surrounding neighborhood. That neighborhood is probably representative of Tanzania and other African countries in that it is the home of many people who are desperately poor but making an honest effort to improve theri standard of living -- particularly by educating their children. But that population is contaminated by a small but significant minority who would steal from Western tourists (who they view as "obscenly rich") if they had the opportunity.

Oops. I'm afraid that my commentary on the society in which a lodging facility is set may drift away from the qualities of the facility itself. Within the walled compound of Olacity Lodge, those are excellent by African standards and not bad by Western standards. In particular, our room was clean and fairly large, but had no air conditioning and had ants in the bathroom. With the (barred) windows open, noise from the surrounding neighborhood was somewhat annoying, although not completely obnoxious.

The grounds are nicely landscaped, The dining area is located on the patio of an attractive building with a nice view of the landscaping, and the food was very good. This lodge is a nice stopover for tours outside of Arusha, but is not located in the part of Arusha that would appeal to most Westerners.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cetus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our OAT Safari Serengeti Trip and had use of a day room on the final day prior to our flight out of JRO.

Great stopover hotel though not a lot of activities on site or room to roam. Gated in a more isolated part of Arusha. Not somewhere I wanted to wander alone.

The hotel was well kept and beautiful grounds. I hung out in the lobby area on my final day and the couches were very comfortable to relax in. They also had television in the lobby. Internet service was down on the day I was there.

I would stay here again as a stopover hotel when you don't plan on doing much but eating and sleeping. The food was excellent especially the soups. Nice gift shop as well.

I was impressed by the day room they provided us (one room per couple) which was a regular room with beds and a shower/bathroom which gave you a chance to shower change and reorganize your luggage prior to your trip home.

I would stay here again as we had plenty of hot water for showers, electricity for charging and great meals. If you want to get out and explore Arusha though, you might want to get closer to town.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrscherry2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
376 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We spent our 1st 2 nights here at the start of an OAT trip and had lunch there on the last day. Rooms were small but comfortable. Beds had mosquito netting and there was a screen on the bathroom window but none on the big window in the bedroom. Staff needed to spray the beds after they put down the nets because there were mosquitos that got us inside the nets. Main building was spacious, had a good gift shop with reasonably priced quality items. Nice pool and good but not fancy food served out doors in a covered porch. Internet was $5 per half hour and you could not hook up your own computer. Internet service was very slow.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fsdukejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We visited the Olasiti Lodge twice on our 11night/12 day Safari.
The first visit was en-route between locations for a rest and lunch stop. A very nice buffet lunch was served on the outdoor patio area. The pool area was available to us for rest—there are changing/restrooms adjacent to the pool. There were also lounges & tables/chairs in the pool area. The food was tasty, properly cooked, and there was reasonable variety. Desserts were excellent.
Our second visit was as a day room waiting for our evening outbound flight. We had a very nice room with two beds; large bath and balcony, located in a two-story block of about 10 rooms adjacent to the central lobby/dining etc.. The room would have been more than acceptable as an overnight accommodation.
The property is in an unusual location a moderate distance from the center of town, and we did not notice anything of interest in the immediate area (i.e. walkable distance). The area surrounding the property is typical of what we saw in Arusha in general—i.e. poor, underdeveloped, dusty. However, the property is gated and once past the guard at the gate, it is a whole different world. The grounds are clean, lush with vegetation and well manicured.
The lobby is very large with comfortable furniture on one end for lounging. There is also bar in the lobby and a gift shop off to one side. The gift shop as a small selection of items we saw elsewhere, plus a few unique items. Internet is available for $10 USD for 30 minutes, but it is VERY slow.
Would not hesitate to use this property again as a day room, and would also use for overnight on arrival or departure from Arusha.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GCrackr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We stayed here before and after our safari with O.A.T. We stayed an extra 2 nights for $55 per night per person including three meals. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you are travelling on your own, as we did, then you should note that the taxi drivers in Arusha know this place as the KIBO Guides hotel. It is off the beaten track and there is another hotel with a similar name so it is not easy to find. It has a nice swimming pool. The rooms are comfortable and the food acceptable given where it is.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank srscmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serengeti Safari Camp
Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serenget...
#9 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ilboru Safari Lodge
Ilboru Safari Lodge
#4 of 156 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olasiti Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olasiti Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps

Property: Olasiti Lodge, Tanganyika Wilderness Camps
Address: Oljoro Rd, Olasiti, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 156 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arusha CityLodge. A garden oasis, situated only 7 km form the city center of Arusha business district. The lodge lies within easy reach of all amenities, yet it provides the perfect haven for visitors seeking a more tranquil venue.24 rooms with en suite facilities.Activities: Museum visit, shopping, game drives in Arusha National Park, relax in the pool.Nearest airstrip: Arusha Airport 20 minutes away and Kilimanjaro International Airport 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olasiti Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing