We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to buy Tanzanite”

Tanzanite Experience
Ranked #6 of 61 things to do in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit The Tanzanite Experience and learn about the history, mystery and rarity of this precious gemstone, unique to Tanzania. Through a series of interactive tours and visual exhibitions, including a replica of a Tanzanite mine shaft, visitors discover how tanzanite was created, named, mined, cut, polished and graded. There is also the opportunity to purchase tanzanite direct from the source with all gemstones purchase being accompanied by a certificate by The Tanzanite Laboratory™.T The museum is located in the centre of Arusha and has a store attached and in addition, there are also stores at Arusha Coffee Lodge, Manyara Airport and The Manor in Ngoronoro. The Tanzanite Experience is dedicated to create a greater awareness of the rare and precious tanzanite and offers visitors a complete ‘tanzanite experience’.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Tanzanite experience is the best place to purchase Tanzanite in Arusha. The Tanzanite Experience show room located in Blue Plaza is must to visit . The staff are professional and friendly, the tour around the museum is informative and unique. I found the stones available for purchase of the highest quality, exceptionally cut and of a reasonable price considering the rarity of the stone. They also serve great coffee.

3  Thank Coffeebeantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have no qualms about recommending Tanzanite Experience as to be the only place to purchase a Tanzanite. Both my daughters age 13 and 16 have also invested their surplus pocket money and brought stones here. The service has always been exemplary. Whatever your budget or whether you wish to buy "blue" Tanzanite or a "fancy", there is plenty of choice.And your purchases are authentic and certified so you feel safe and secure with your purchase.

1  Thank SandraKaribu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanzanite E, Director of Sales at Tanzanite Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

That you very much for your review and we are delighted that your daughters were happy with their purchases. We hope to see you back at the museum very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

It gives you a good view on how and where Tanzanite is found and mined . Not much shown on how they polish or cut the stones . But it is a nice visit and informative , You are also given the opportunity to buy stones or read made Jewelry. It is quite expensive so take a credit card !! Only thing it they ( Tanzanite experience ) gives their stones different classifications to other vendors TZ experience almost uses the Diamond classification V, VS etc. Where as other vendors use the colour as clasification : AA , AAA etc . Just an observations . With every stone you buy you do get a certificate and tat is important

1  Thank Annemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanzanite E, Director of Sales at Tanzanite Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to visit our museum and store and we are very pleased that you found the experience interesting.

Please note that we certify all of our tanzanite with the Tanzanite Grading Scale which is similar to the way diamonds are certified. The other classification that you mention (AA, AAA etc) is a street term that we use for rough tanzanite. It is very limiting when used for finished cut and polished stones.

Please note that we also have a museum in Cape Town so if you are every there please do call in and see them and they would be delighted to welcome you there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

As someone who lives in Dar es Salaam, I have visited my fair share of Tanzanite boutiques. This is by far the best place to buy Tanzanite in Tanzania or any where else in the world--straight from the source, ethically mined, and of the highest quality. The store is beautiful and the staff are exceptionally professional and knowledgeable. A must see for anyone interested in buying or learning about Tanzanite!

9  Thank Marissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanzanite E, Director of Sales at Tanzanite Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our museum and store in Dar Es Salaam and found our team to be so helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I visited the new shop a few weeks ago in Dar es Salaam and was blown away by the beautiful layout, the choice of stones and the experience we had. The shop assistant Whitney, was very helpful. I will treasure my tanzanites' forever...

1  Thank Anita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tanzanite Experience also viewed

 

Been to Tanzanite Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing