We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meeting point for business in Arusha”

Via Via Cafe - Arusha
Ranked #20 of 111 Restaurants in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast
Description: A lively cultural cafe in the centre of Arusha, Tanzania. Beautifully situated in the Garden of the National Natural History Museum. Via Via is among the 16 Via Via Cafes worldwide. Locally embedded and involved in local daily life, they give an extra dimension to your discovery of the country, the culture and the people. Food, drinks, music, art, culture events, trips and tours, cultural and social projects, all bring people and cultures together in an open-minded spirit. Via Via inspires to travel, to discover and to broaden your horizon. Our tropical garden, bar and restaurant are wonderful places to have a rest, meet people, enjoy a lovely breakfast, lunch or dinner and have a refreshing drink in a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Meeting point for business in Arusha”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

As a travel/tour operator based in Arusha, I had a group with me for lunch at via via restaurant before tour briefing, and later evening for dinner, my group and me enjoyed the service, meals and fresh air, live band and acrobat. And also very nice place for tour briefing environment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GofanAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    44
    25
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
“Cool collection of drinks”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The place has a realy wide variety of drinks, this is due to the dance nights it has every thursday. The dance nights are really entertaining too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Argon101v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great nightlife”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I came to Via Via for the nightlife while staying in Arusha and had a great time! There were several different areas to hang out including a kareoke area, bar area, fire pit and dance floor. Very versatile and super fun. I loved the outdoor dance floor, live DJ and cool set up. I had a great time here and would love to go back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Renee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha T
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“thur nites are best”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This is great if there are a group of you to go out on a thur evening for dinner and then stay on when the night gets busy at around 11pm. Ladies this is not the place for you to be alone or in pairs and watch your drinks and bags. Pick pocketing has been a huge problem here so only take whats necessary and keep your cash on you. If you have any problems ask for Halifa the manager as he is lovely and will most certainly look after you. They generally have some great live music on a Thursday evening before the DJ kicks off to welcome the uni and volunteer crowd. Play a mixture of bongo flava and latest tunes coming out of the US and Europe dance and hip hop scenes. Usually an appearance from their local dance crew Contagious which is fun to watch.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank gypsy_traveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“May be better for lunch than dinner.”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We went in the evening, which may explain why it was so quiet, but the background music was good and the service speedy enough. No fish available meant we picked sandwhiches, which were very nice, but the chips were a bit cold. Good price, lovely garden location.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pearlkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Via Via Cafe - Arusha also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Via Via Cafe - Arusha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing