We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find in Arusha!”
Review of Tumaini Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tumaini Cottage
Ranked #7 of 126 Arusha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in tumaini cottage pre and post our safari in Tanzania. Although a little out of town, the rooms, food and service were lovely. Andy the owner went out of his way to look after us, which was wonderful after time camping in the wilderness!
I would definitely go back to Tumaini cottage.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubledecker1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

I have travelled to 96 countries around the world, and stayed in places ranging from hostels to the Hilton Waldorf in London. However, Andy's Tumaini cottage stands out as one of the best places I have ever stayed.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Food is excellent. However, most importantly, Andy the owner is an absolute gem. He is so kind and caring. He even stayed up to 1 am to give us a transfer to the airport.

Stay here - you will have No regrets.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silly_sausage_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Tumaini cottage was absolutely lovely. We stayed there for one night after our safari. They greeted us with cold juice as we pulled in the front gate. The room was clean, big, and the bathroom was amazing after a week of camping. Hot water was plentiful. The dinner was good, a bit overpriced but good, and the breakfast was good too. The staff was very friendly, although not as down to earth as other places. But no complaints! Our stay was great and we would return. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Andy was outstanding ! They took perfect care of of us and the rooms great. We even ended up calling while having issues at another place on our trip and he stayed up late and greeted us with open arms. I can not say enough good things about our stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I'm not sure what I was expecting but this place was lovely.

Our room was large, had a four poster bed, a powerful hot shower and a fridge. There was also a television with English channels which we hadn't experienced for a while. The place was quiet and a nice place to relax. There was also free wi-fi which was available in our room as well as the adjoining restaurant.

Andy collected us from the airport and we were given a warm welcome when we arrived.

We had dinner in the adjoining restaurant which was delicious. The restaurant also has a nice view.

All of the staff we came across were polite friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was very good and included eggs cooked to order and lots of lovely fruit - the avocado was amazing.

Location wise it's on the outskirts of town in a quiet area. It might be a bit difficult for some taxi drivers to find so a transfer organised by Tumaini Cottage might be a good idea.

We only stayed one night so didn't get a chance to walk around the area or see how close it was to walk into town but a taxi wouldn't take very long at all.

Would not hesitate to recommend and would stay again if we get a chance to be back in Arusha.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Tumaini Cottage for 4 nights, 3 before our safari and one night afterwards.

The rooms were good with a nice shower and comfortable bed. I suggest placing a towel at the bottom of the door at night to stop mosquito's coming in.

The service was excellent, Andy was great to deal with but we also had no problem getting information and directions from the other staff. We particular liked getting an early breakfast and being dropped off for our 5:30am bus ride to Dar Es Salaam. Best service so far in our 4 weeks in Africa.

The location is quiet and a short Dali Dali ride to town. We found the Dali Dalis a quick and easy way to get into town, I am sure a taxi would be pretty cheap too.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackstockNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have a very mixing feeling about this lodge. If all you need is a clean room, hot shower and quite neighborhood, I would highly recommend it. For this price, it is definitely a good value.

However, if you need a little extra, this could be a challenge. People work there don't speak very good English except Andy, the owner. Andy is very caring, friendly and knowledgeable. The trouble is if he is not around, you won't be able to get help from other people in terms of local knowledge. And, the cottage is a little far from downtown, so, it is hard for you to walk around and take care things if somethings go wrong. You know, in Africa, things are still unpredictable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank DaijieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tumainicottage, Guest Relations Manager at Tumaini Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Tumaini Cottage as your Arusha accommodation,we are glad and humbled that you took your time to write us a review.We are so happy you enjoyed our affordability,clean rooms,hot shower,quiet neighborhood (away from the busy & sometimes noisy part of the city),and the quality of hospitality from your host.We totaly understand the language barrier issue and we are constantly trying to close that gap through training & finding people that are able to be fluent to your standards.Andy(your host) residing at the property is also always on call and our family members are instructed to get him on the phone should our guests have any questions.
Wish you the best and hope that someday we might might see you again in Tanzania,once you stay with us you become a part of our Tumaini Cottage family and so our doors and hearts are always open for you,family and friends..Till we meet again "Karibu nyumbani"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
0.0 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#6 of 126 in Arusha
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Outpost Lodge
Outpost Lodge
#8 of 126 in Arusha
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tumaini Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tumaini Cottage

Address: Sakina Area, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: £38 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tumaini Cottage accommodation is located in Arusha Tanzania Sakina area, our cottage has 8 en-suite rooms offering single, double and triple rooms all with a TV, a refrigerator, comfortable beds & pillows, hot and cold water, large size bathroom etc.Mbalamwezi restaurant offers Ala Carta made to order menu includes fruits, fresh squeezed juices,delicious African and international cuisine.Our Boma conference facility offers a wide range of meeting services for Ngo's and startups available on 24 hour notice.Airport pick up is an option for a separate charge, free breakfast, free Wi-Fi internet, free parking, free safari/mountain climbing consulting and booking for our confirmed guests in Arusha.Welcome to our home, our city and our country. Enjoy Tanzania "Hakuna Matata. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing