We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Budget Accomodation in Arusha”
Review of Tumaini Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tumaini Cottage
Ranked #7 of 125 Arusha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I recently spent two nights at this wonderful place on the outskirts of Arusha. I made my booking on phone from Nairobi and drove down to Arusha. The premises are located just outside the city; we had trouble locating the premises at first because the sign faces away from you when driving from Kenya. However, the host, Andy who kept checking on us all through our trip, arranged to meet us and guide us to the place.

The first thing that strikes you about Tumaini is just how neat and clean the premises are; in addition to this, the rooms are large, water pressure is good and the complimentary wi-fi works quite well. The place is very quiet with just the noise from the birds to distract you. The owner Andy and his staff are very friendly and more importantly, very helpful.

We found breakfast at tumaini to be very good starting with fresh juice, seasonal fruits and the the customary coffee/ tea, bread and eggs. We were informed that the hotel serves other meals on request but we did not get to try out the menu.

Overall, Tumaini cottage was a nice place to stay and I would definately recomend it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have a better view of the surrounding areas.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Tumaini Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Very peaceful environment bordering a national park and therefore many bird species: wood pecker, sunbirds, bulbul, barbet, hornbill all in the gardens surrounding the property - and marabou stork, Egret, Sacred Ibis regularly passing through.

The accommodation is very clean, well-cared for and comfortable. The staff are helpful, super-friendly and do their best to please.

On an NGO business trip with long days it was great to come back to this nice place in the evening and I will use it again on a next trip.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank mieke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I recently stayed with a large group at Tumani Cottage before and after our safari. Andy and his staff went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay. They kept us well fed and provided a nice, quiet place to rest. If you are looking to support a local business, I would suggest giving Tumaini a try.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_Skis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I recently had a five night stay at Tumaini Cottage and I would not hesitate in recommending it to people.

The first thing that was really noticeable to me was just how clean the whole property was. It was immaculate. The other advantage was just how safe and secure it felt. I would say it’s slightly on the outskirts of Arusha but I think that’s an advantage. It’s quiet and has lovely gardens. If you do want to head into town it’s just over 5 minutes in a taxi.

The food is also really good. Huge homely meals also with lots of fresh fruit on offer. The other plus is that they offer free Wi-Fi which covers the whole of the property. They are also happy to organise an airport transfer which I would highly recommend.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maldivian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in tumaini cottage pre and post our safari in Tanzania. Although a little out of town, the rooms, food and service were lovely. Andy the owner went out of his way to look after us, which was wonderful after time camping in the wilderness!
I would definitely go back to Tumaini cottage.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubledecker1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

I have travelled to 96 countries around the world, and stayed in places ranging from hostels to the Hilton Waldorf in London. However, Andy's Tumaini cottage stands out as one of the best places I have ever stayed.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Food is excellent. However, most importantly, Andy the owner is an absolute gem. He is so kind and caring. He even stayed up to 1 am to give us a transfer to the airport.

Stay here - you will have No regrets.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silly_sausage_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Tumaini cottage was absolutely lovely. We stayed there for one night after our safari. They greeted us with cold juice as we pulled in the front gate. The room was clean, big, and the bathroom was amazing after a week of camping. Hot water was plentiful. The dinner was good, a bit overpriced but good, and the breakfast was good too. The staff was very friendly, although not as down to earth as other places. But no complaints! Our stay was great and we would return. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
983 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Outpost Lodge
Outpost Lodge
#8 of 125 in Arusha
402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#9 of 125 in Arusha
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tumaini Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tumaini Cottage

Address: Sakina Area, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: £37 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tumaini Cottage accommodation is located in Arusha Tanzania Sakina area, our cottage has 8 en-suite rooms offering single, double and triple rooms all with a TV, a refrigerator, comfortable beds & pillows, hot and cold water, large size bathroom etc.Mbalamwezi restaurant offers Ala Carta made to order menu includes fruits, fresh squeezed juices,delicious African and international cuisine.Our Boma conference facility offers a wide range of meeting services for Ngo's and startups available on 24 hour notice.Airport pick up is an option for a separate charge, free breakfast, free Wi-Fi internet, free parking, free safari/mountain climbing consulting and booking for our confirmed guests in Arusha.Welcome to our home, our city and our country. Enjoy Tanzania "Hakuna Matata. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing