We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Songota Falls Lodge
Ranked #1 of 140 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Songoto Falls for one night between hiking Kilimanjaro and then flying to Zanzibar. We were welcomed by the owner Joyce who went out of her way to make us comfortable and to help us with lost baggage problems we were having with the airlines. Songoto Falls is out of the way and overlooks a beautiful river valley. The huts are very comfortable and rustic. We had a great dinner ( including a cooking lesson from Joyce ) and she made sure breakfast was ready before we had to leave for the airport. The hike down to the river and to the neighboring village was quite interesting. I would highly recommend Songoto Falls when in Arusha.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Joyce and Co. were wonderful hosts. Peaceful and quiet. Getting to the city was a bit of a challenge. If you are there on Sunday, make sure you attend a service at the Pentecostal church just down the hill. The music will move you! Thanks Joyce and staff!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliotHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

As a female traveling alone, far far away from my home, I am happy to highly recommend songota falls lodge. I felt totally safe, was welcomed every time I came through the gates, and the food! Wonderful soups, and African dishes every night. Thank you Joyce!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent several days with Joyce at her quaint lodge. She treated us like family and we enjoyed our stay very much. The cottages are modest simple accommodations but are well maintained and comfortable. The meals provided were excellent buffet style servings that were very tasty. Loved the breakfasts to start our days! And the best is when we met Joyce as we arrived and she gave us a cup of the best mixed juices I have ever tasted. And we got to do that four times on this trip through our travels in Tanzania that included our summit of Mount Kilimanjaro as well as many other amazing adventures courtesy of our tour operator; Boma Africa.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Airglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

What a special little oasis high in the hills around Arusha. You will enjoy a unique and truly local experience. Joyce is a wonderful cook and hostess, homemade juice when you arrive, and Raymond, her son, a great host as well. Rooms are comfortable, private, and nicest of all have hot water and real toilettes. You won't be disappointed making Songota your home base for your visit to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nel-dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I went to Tanzania for our honeymoon. I wanted to find a place to stay in Arusha because it was the closest to all the parks. I was also looking for a small and quiet place that will allow us to experience the authenticity of the surrounding and that's when I found Songota Falls lodge. We stayed here in our first and last night in Arusha before leaving for Zanzibar and it was everything that we have hoped for and better. The lodge is surrounded by nature over looking the valley, great hospitality, great food, room, quiet, and safe. It's a small lodge with only a handful of Rondavel (african-style hut). It has a unique character of african taste, something you will not experience in other fancy hotels. Joyce is the owner of the lodge and she is absolutely wonderful. She takes care of all the details herself and she is also your cook! She would always asks what we would like for breakfast and for dinner. We've stayed at so many resorts during our safaris, Joyce's cooking is #1. I love love love her dessert one night, fried bananas with custard. I could've had 10 servings of that. My luggage didn't arrived with our plane and since we are going to safari the next morning, it was unlikely that I will have my luggage on time. Joyce and my guide took care of everything for me and arranged that the luggage be picked up and delivered to wherever we were.
You can really feel that Joyce puts a lot of thought into making her guests feel special and she loves what she does. It's a really cozy place - home away from home!
I saw a post about safety, I just wanted to say, not once did we feel unsafe there. But if you have concerns, the place is gated, no unauthorized person can get in but I really don't think there is anything to worry about at all.
Songota Falls Lodge is the place to be in Arusha! Totally recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bushbabyvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at Songota Falls Lodge for one night in June 2013 before our safari. It was also our first ever night in Africa. Upon stepping out of the Kilimanjaro Airport, Joyce's son Raymond was there to meet us to drive us to Songota Falls Lodge, which is tucked into a quiet neighbourhood slightly away from the center of Arusha.
We were made to feel at home, and we felt very safe and comfortable in Songota Falls Lodge. The cottages were very clean, and there was a beautiful green area for us to relax in. Nice hot water was also available for the shower.
Joyce and Raymond are very friendly and welcoming, helping us with all our requests. We also learnt that prior to starting this lodge, Joyce has worked in the lodges in the safari parks, so she has a good understanding of the general standards and expectations of tourists.
What was most memorable for us was Joyce's cooking - BBQ chicken, banana soup, rice... In fact, it was so good that after our safari, we decided that her cooking was better than all the meals we had during the safari, so we went back to Songota Falls Lodge for dinner with our guide as a wonderful wrap up for our safari experience.
We are very happy with our choice to stay with Joyce for a homey, friendly, and authentic introduction to Tanzania

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank hey_its_mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
8.5 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
3.5 mi away
White House of Tanzania
White House of Tanzania
#2 of 140 in Arusha
102 reviews
1 mi away
Onsea House Country Inn & Guest Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
2 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#7 of 140 in Arusha
115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Green Mountain Hotel
Green Mountain Hotel
#3 of 140 in Arusha
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songota Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songota Falls Lodge

Address: 1134, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: £32 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing