We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem outside of Arusha!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Songota Falls Lodge
Ranked #2 of 126 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My family and I spent some days here in December 2011 and then my daughter and I returned this January 2014. The first time we came we fell in love with the lodge and we were well reminded of the reasons on our return. The lodge is run by Joyce Kimaro and her son Raymond. Joyce is a local woman who spends a lot of her time and energy helping poor and disabled members of her community. It includes 4 different bungalows cottages, on her lovely grounds. Very serene. Not infrequently one sees monkeys in the trees. The location is in a neighborhood a few minute car ride outside of Arusha, down a fairly lengthy rugged dirt road. The spot is wooded, overlooking the Songota Water falls, a short, but a bit rugged walk away. Perhaps most spectacular is Joyce's cooking. She is an artist with local fare and can make meals to order - be they for meat eaters or vegetarians. Not only is this a bit of an oasis, but it gives one a sense of local life.
Like any but the most expensive resorts in this region, electricity can be sometimes sporadic (though we did not experience any issues with this in 2014) which can impact hot water. Taxis fares can run about $8 - $10 each way to Arusha, though at times drivers would request higher amounts which was used to help the local community. If one is on a budget, one can walk about 20-25 minutes to the main road (a lovely walk on a dirt road through neighborhoods and wooded areas) and pick up local public transportation that costs approximately 30 cents each way to Arusha.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband, three young adult daughters, and I very much enjoyed our stay at Songota Falls in July, 2013. Joyce, Raymond and Coba were very welcoming and helpful. The food was very good and plentiful, Joyce is a very good cook and she asked for our food preferences. She even packed boxed lunches at a reasonable price for our road trip when we left. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. There is no heat in the rooms, but the blankets kept us warm and comfortable while sleeping. We took a hike, with Raymond as our friendly guide, down to the waterfall. The lodge is in a beautiful setting and very peaceful. At night for security, there was a guard with a dog walking the grounds. When planning our trip, I had many questions for Joyce and she was prompt and very helpful in her email replies. We stayed at Songota Falls when we first arrived in Africa and returned after our safari trip. It was almost like returning to the comforts of home!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Songota Falls was the first place my family and I stayed at while in Tanzania, and I am very thankful for that! Joyce the owner was extremely accommodating as well as Ray and Coba they did everything they could to make us comfortable and ensure that we had a great experience. Joyce made delicious meals that allowed us to try some authentic African cuisine, while also making sure we were comfortable with what we were trying. She also worked completely around our schedule, which was extremely helpful! Ray was happy to show us around and take us on a hike to the beautiful Songota Falls pointing out interesting plants and wildlife along the way. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming! Songota Falls Lodge is definitely one of my favorite places I stayed at while in Tanzania and I hope to return some day!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My two sisters, parents, and I spent our first couple nights in Tanzania with Joyce and Raymond at Songota Falls Lodge. We even stopped for a night later in our trip! The accommodations were great to get ourselves acclimated to the time difference and food of Tanzania. Raymond, Joyce, and Coba are all very friendly and went out of their way to do anything they could to welcome us and make us comfortable. The view outside of the cabins across the way to the village church and down the valley to the falls is spectacular, and it is very quiet and restful, with just the sounds of nature. Raymond even took us on a personal tour down to the falls, explaining all the wildlife on the way. He is also a very talented painter and we all have his pieces hanging in our homes. Joyce's authentic cooking was fabulous and catered to our liking and needs! All throughout our trip we were commenting on how we wish we had Joyce's food.

Songota Falls was definitely the best place to begin our stay in the beautiful country of Tanzania! I highly recommend taking the time to stay a couple days at Songota Falls Lodge!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Last time we visited this lodge only for lunch and the falls but this time we stayed the night and it was lovely again. Joyce is a very good cook and still a friendly host, just like Raymond her son. We felt very welcome again and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. The place is quiet and authentic and overall a very nice experience. We love to benefit the local people when we visit a poor country, it just feels good to support the locals. That is why we advise anyone to book a safari with a local company and not to book at a big tourist office and try to stay at local owned little lodges like Songota Falls Lodge. Do you like to read more about our (safari) adventures in Tanzania? Go to: www.beleef-tanzania.webklik.nl

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammieoud-beijerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Staff receives you with a smile offering to go to the nice round huge hut (recently renewed) with impressive views.
And after some Yoga (!!) there, having a nice breakfast and a walk to the Songota Falls, which even being small at the first sight, at the second you discover you can have a swim, if you dare! and only monkeys will see you!
Worth staying there and going for a meal too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alternatibag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Owner Joyce made us feel right at home. The cabins are well-designed and comfortable. The waterfalls near the lodge make for a great hike and swim. Home cooked food was delicious. Perfect place to end or start a safari.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 260default
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.5 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 43 in Arusha
137 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
604 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 43 in Arusha
96 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
2.0 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#9 of 126 in Arusha
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songota Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songota Falls Lodge

Address: 1134, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: £34 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing