We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique away in the middle of Tanzania”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 121 Arusha B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique away in the middle of Tanzania”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We chose this hotel at a starting point before our safari, and before our connecting flight to Zanzibar. I must say it was difficult to leave the hotel... because the quality of services, the food, and the kindness of staff was really above expectations.

There are only a small number of rooms, all are excellent, and located in a quiet area of town. They are decorated with taste and include a nice selection of boutique soaps and creams.

Then the staff is soo welcoming, and can help you with logistics and change in your plans. The manager is really nice and always ready to help you.

The best : the restaurant. Wow. The food and the cuisine are excellent, a fusion-type of approach mixing traditionnal indian food with european cuisine and spices from the East African Region. We enjoyed 2 excellent dinners there. I really recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garpison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayur M, General Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the bay leaf and for your kind recommendation.

We believe that it is delighted guests, such as yourself, who are our best ambassadors. I am glad that you have taken back such pleasant memories of the hotel, particularly the rooms, the food and service.

It is our constant endeavour to create a truly memorable experience for our guests and I hope that our distinctive product and service will tempt you to return and experience more.

Thank you.
Mayur Margamwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    8
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
38
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We climbed Kilimanjaro this past February. The Bay Leaf is the perfect place to come back to after a strenuous climb up Kilimanjaro. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the setting is peaceful, the food is delicious and the staff is incredible. They were so understanding and helpful and even helped us clean our gear after the climb.
If you do the climb or go out on safari, this is your home to come back to.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayur M, General Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your reviews on Trip advisor with regards to your recent stay at the bay leaf boutique hotel.

I am most delighted to read your generous praise of the hotel and the team. It has always been our endeavour to make each of our guest feel special and to make sure that they have a most memorable stay with us.

Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to serve you while you were with us. We look forward to welcome you back in not so distant future and please feel free to write to me for any assistance.

Thank you
Mayur Margamwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

If you are going to climb Kilimanjaro or go on a dusty safari, treat yourself to a stay at the Bay Leaf Hotel or at the very least lunch or dinner in the restaurant. We are so glad that we did because this newer hotel has really perfected almost every little detail.

After extensive research of places to stay in Arusha I knew that we needed a trifecta – a quiet location with reliable power and hot water. I didn’t expect a spotlessly clean hotel with great African art, free WiFi, excellent staff, beautiful gardens and a gourmet restaurant too. To top it off they have air conditioning in every room and breakfast is included (with selections which will please every palate). Don’t forget to ask for mango juice.

Those staying here after a Kili climb will appreciate the drain plug in the sink to do some hand washing before heading out on safari. Trust me, your clothes will dry overnight.

The only suggestion I have is to ask for a room in the front because the noise of the generator can be annoying in the late afternoon/early evening when Arusha’s notoriously unreliable power goes out. We had a very lovely private balcony which was pretty much unusable except for in the morning.

The rooms are all very different in size and layout (with at least one room having only a tub) so read the descriptions and ask questions to get the best room for your stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room in front as the generator can be noisy in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_Tessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the bay leaf boutique hotel on TripAdvisor and for your feedback.

At the bay leaf, we take great pride in the services we offer and it is feedback from our guests, which assist us to strive for excellence.
Just for your information we have changed our old generator recently with the new commercial generator and it is noise free we have worked on your feedback and resolved it.
Please do give us another opportunity as I am confident you will have a brilliant stay with us with much more improved changes. Do let me know when you plan to visit us again, as I will be delighted to look after all aspects of your stay personally.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the bay leaf boutique hotel.

Thank you,
Mayur Margamwar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed two nights at the start of our safari to recover from the long flight. We had a suite with sitting room, bedroom and large shower area. Suite was clean and well kept with AC. Comfortable bed. Wi-Fi included. Friendly staff. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at its restaurant was very good. Quiet neighborhood about a 15 minute walk to town center but expect to be accosted by all manner of tout.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I recently stayed at the Bay Leaf Hotel when I was in Arusha on a work trip. The manager, Vikas, and his staff took amazing care of my colleague and I. My room was comfortable and tastefully decorated, and the food at the restaurant was excellent. We especially liked the creative choices for breakfast each morning. The customer service was also excellent. I will definitely stay at the Bay Leaf the next chance I get!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed here as a family at the start of our safari - and what a great place to begin the adventure! The hotel manager VIkas and his staff made us feel so welcome and didn't bat an eye when we showed up with four kids. Service was cheerful and attentive. The rooms were trendy without that "don't touch anything" feeling, and the amenities were excellent. The food at the restaurant was to die for - from succulent beef to Indian curries, everything was delicious. Try sitting in the peaceful garden before dinner, enjoying drinks and nibbles (and ice cream for the kiddos). It's a small place, which suited our family just fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

During our visit to Tanzania, we stayed at the Bay Leaf Hotel for a total of 5 nights spread across a few weeks while we climbed Kilimanjaro and went on safari. We were treated wonderfully. We could leave bags at the hotel during our travels which is very handy. They made phone calls for us. They sent someone with me to the closest ATM (at Barclays Bank), and they sent one of there staff off to find a specific charger cable for our iphones.
The accommodations are fantastic. Beds excellent, excellent washroom facilities. They take pride in there accommodations and it shows. I was there with my son, but I know my wife would definitely approve of the accommodations if she had been there. Also, within a few blocks we found a great café, an Italian/Pizza place, an Indian restaurant, a Chinese restaurant and an internet cafe and it was safe to walk back and forth in the evening. It is very quiet, and the air conditioning with backup generator was great to have.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank windymountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.6 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
572 reviews
1.3 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
261 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel

Property: The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel
Address: 102 Vijana Road | PO Box 409, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of the majestic Mount Meru, The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel is nestled in the tranquil leafy ‘corridor’ area of Arusha, Tanzania. Exquisitely decorated rooms with finely appointed bathrooms ensure comfort with style. Gourmet breakfasts are served in immaculate lush gardens and The Bay Leaf boasts a Fine Dining Restaurant, where one can sample a fusion of international & local cuisine. The Bay Leaf is ideally situated; walking distance to banks & all the main attractions that Arusha has to offer. Massage & extensive beauty treatments will be offered from December 2009 after the completion of the Spa. The Bay Leaf aims to be the best small luxury hotel in Arusha, with unmatched personalized service, and attention to detail. Personalized service tailored to individual needs will certainly please both the discerning traveler and dining connoisseur alike. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing