We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good combination with city visit”

Pamoja Expedition Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pamoja Expedition Lodge
Ranked #74 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Genting Highlands, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good combination with city visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Pamoja is the perfect place when you want to visit also the city. It's only 2 km from the city. The pool and WIFI are another two assets. The kitchen is poor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    13
    10
    12
    2
See reviews for
7
12
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here before en after the safari :
Very relaxing, the swimming pool ( very clean ) , nice garden ( see picture)
Frendly , clean ( don't forge:t this is budget & Afrika)
The food was very good for reasonable prices ( see picture)
The rooms garden - swimpool side: quite, OK
( a bed is a bed is a bed - a rose is a rose is a rose)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita188650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We spent several nights at Pamoja Expeditions Lodge and enjoyed the homey feel and hospitality of the friendly and attentive staff. Our family's two rooms were very clean with comfortable beds, mosquito nets and good showers that delivered hot water all of the time we needed it. The wireless Internet was for the most part quite fast and reliable, though sometimes it would cut out and then come back after a few minutes. The buffet breakfast that comes with the room price included fried eggs, seasoned potatoes, toast with various spreads, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, tea and instant coffee. The restaurant on site also serves dinner, but service was extremely slow and the food quality was mediocre--I'd suggest going elsewhere for an evening meal. There's also a pleasant swimming pool and shaded outdoor sitting areas, nice for unwinding in the afternoons. Personally, I'd choose a guest house like Pamoja over a higher-end hotel, even if the significantly greater cost of the latter weren't an issue. For travelers who enjoy simple, authentic accommodations, a place like Pamoja is just great.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardentadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights before and after a safari and climbing mt Meru. It’s a basic and affordable place. The rooms are clean and there is hot water in shower the most of the time. The staff is helpful, so actually it’s all you need. Not the best place ever, not the worst either... And a tip: take a room in the new wing (in front): better mattresses there.
Breakfast and dinner: the same, it’s all right if you’re just looking for food. If you really want something special, you will have to look somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeemP072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed at Pamoja Expedition Lodge for 4 nights before and after we went on our safari trip and we liked the place cause it wasn't so expensive than the other hotel. The bathroom was a little bit dirty.We liked the place cause there was no hassle and we slept pretty good at the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMstravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karatu, Tanzania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

A friend recommended Pamoja expeditions but it was terribly disappointing. First, they charge you by the beds. If you are one person and they only have a room with two beds then you pay for a double not a single. The garden is overgrown to annoyance with vegetation intruding onto the paths (so you get soaked from leaves if it's rained) and the walkways and surfaces are irregular and dangerous. The beds were ok and the nets in good shape but the bathroom was very dirty and the toilet didn't work. I mentioned the toilet to the cleaner in the morning and she said that she knew it was broken but they rented the room anyway. The service was terrible, even by Tanzanian standards and the food just so so. To give the staff their due the did try but I would not stay here unless price is the only issue (and you pre-book so you don't get charged by the bed) and you don't mind marginal cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auroraafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arusha hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stayed here on an off a couple of times in between trips. Room was relatively clean and very quiet. Beds were comfortable and there was a tv with satellite dish. However, the bathrooms were almost always dirty (toilet bowls, floors, sink). The shower's hot water worked sporadically and pressure was pretty weak.

The grounds were kept very clean and there is a swimming pool. The chef was outstanding and the complimentary breakfast was vast and delicious. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinktulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.6 mi away
Outpost Lodge
Outpost Lodge
#5 of 100 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
5.3 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 150 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pamoja Expedition Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pamoja Expedition Lodge

Property: Pamoja Expedition Lodge
Address: Old Moshi Road | P.O. Box 11937, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
pamoja expeditions lodge is considered a home away from home where comfort warmth and sheer hospitality apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pamoja Expedition Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing