We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pamoja Expedition Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$230
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
7
13
10
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
13
10
12
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Horribly over-priced and falling apart at the seams. The room was dark, the mosquito net was broken and the TV didn't work. This is just one of many places in the area that preys on gullible safariing westerners, charging much higher prices than other hotels in the area aimed at local Tanzanians.

To add insult to injury when confronted on over-charging us during our stay the management refused to refund the difference or even offer a discount on future nights.

My advice would be to do a bit of research first - Jevas Hotel in Arusha town centre is a nicer and cheaper hotel (more than 50% cheaper) and the Meserani Snake Park offers overland campers another westerner friendly alternative.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We were in Tanzania for a total of one month and covered all the usual suspect activities - mountain trekking, volunteering and safari. After each of our three excursions, we returned to Pamoja to regroup, repack and readjust. And each time, Boniface and George scheduled the same spacious and airy room next to the pool, Tembo. We viewed several rooms before booking our first stay. All were impeccably clean with spacious bathrooms, fans and mosquito nets. All the plumbing worked well (a very important detail, especially for toilets), and we especially appreciated the solid water pressure in the shower. Pamoja is quiet and relaxing, many might say a bit sleepy. But the internet connection is strong and reliable and the overall grounds much more pleasant than across the street at Outpost. True, the restaurant menu is disappointing, but this is Pamoja's only area to improve. We wouldn't trade our favorite room by the pool side for any other place. We can easily walk across the road to Outpost or up the road to African Tulip for a good menu. When we come back to Arusha, we'll stay at Pamoja.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the pool have comfortable lounging areas. Great for reading or writing in your journal. Or sipping a cold beer.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montuno3282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Nice layout and well-sized rooms. Good hot showers and clean bathrooms. Pool and garden area is very pleasant. Excellent staff. Buffet breakfast has various food and fruit each day, the a la carte menu is a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed in lodge for three nights as part of a safari trip. Your experience with this lodge is probably depends on what you expect from it. If you plan only your sleeping hours there, this lodge is probably ok but you want to spend more hours there, you must know this is probably a 2-star accommodation (but probably still good for Arusha). This lodge is located a nicer neighborhood of Arusha. It has a nice garden and a swimming pool (but you most likely have better things to do than swimming in the pool). Breakfast was also good. We ran into trouble with our toilets and hot water but the staff were quick enough to fix the issues or change our room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rombuk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This review is LONG overdue. I was at Pemoja in January, staying there on either side of a 7 day hike up Mt Kilimanjaro.

I became very ill on the last day of our hike and had to be evacuated to a hospital, not arriving in Arusha until very late in the night. When Pemoja manager Boniface and concierge George found out I was in hospital they both came to visit me straight away. They both then came back the next morning with food and water for me from the hotel as hospitals in Tanzania don't provide patients any food/water.

I am eternally grateful for their care and attention to me; it was certainly not expected on my behalf and I feel that they went above and beyond what most hotels will do for their guests.

As for the accommodation itself, the rooms were well equipped with huge mosquito nets, the beds comfortable and pool clean and refreshing. Our bathroom door didn't shut properly but that is the only smallest of worries. Loved having fresh fruit for breakfast and gorgeous George was always ready to take us any place in town we needed to go. For a quiet and relaxing stay, this is the place to go.

Overall, thanks to the service, I can't speak more highly of this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews