We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, but quite basic”
Review of Mc-Ellys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mc-Ellys Hotel
Ranked #45 of 117 Arusha B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value hotel, but quite basic”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I recently stayed here at the beginning and end of a safari. It's a hotel used often by the local tour companies, as it is a reasonable price, safe and clean.

To be honest - the chances are you'll spend very little time in this hotel, as you'll be transiting through, so value for money and safety are the key issues, and both are covered well. There are a few frustrating things (no remote for the air con, one towel despite having two people in the room, limited restaurant options, etc.), but these are not major issues. It is clean, and the staff are friendly. Wouldn't stay more than was needed though.

Another warning - the noise from the local taxis starts early and is extremely loud. Am sure this is a common problem in many places, but be warned or stay out of town!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    26
    34
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
35
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

the hotel is centrally located in a very noisy area of arusha, (very close to the bus stand.).. although the rooms without balcony that have a side yard view are relatively quiet. the place is furnished with chinese cheap and second hand furniture which provide a very awkward atmosphere. at the first floor the restaurant seems to be clean but again nothing special...

Room Tip: rooms with the side view without a balcony on the noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed there for one night before a safari and one night after the safari. The rooms were clean and reasonably modern. The beds were comfortable. The temperature in the room was perfect. My only complaint about the rooms was that the toilets don't flush well. This was a problem in both rooms I stayed in as well as the bathroom by the restaurant. The buffet breakfast was identical to every hotel buffet breakfast I had in Uganda, Kenya, and Tanzania, which I like (cereal, toast, fresh fruit, eggs, and a few other things like pancakes or cassava). I ate supper at the restaurant and I thought that it was pretty good. The hotel is in a noisy neighbourhood, but you would probably have to get pretty far away from downtown Arusha to find something quieter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here our first night in Tanzania before leaving for our safari the next morning. We had a corner room with a view of Mount Meru and a balcony. The room was OK with an en suite bathroom, TV, and hot water, though the towels were pretty stiff. It is a pretty busy area, near one of the city markets and convenient to money changers and other services.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melindasr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Pros: The room was more or less clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Complimentary bottled water was provided. Breakfast buffet offered lots of choice (but the food is only average).

Cons: The location of this hotel is very noisy. Wifi was not reliable. (I could only get a signal when sitting on the toilet). No hot water to take a shower. Towels must be hanged to dry because they were hard and crusty.

We were supposed to stay a second night but I cancelled the booking to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odot_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arusha hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The lift is excellent.
It was very noisy due to "Taxi" drivers trying to drum up business.
Bathroom was very basic, no hot water, toilet gave the impression it was about to leave the wall.
Lunch on our first day was delicious, cooked by a couple of women, so good in fact we thought we'd order the same for dinner, WRONG, some guy was cooking and it was tasteless.
There are so many other hotels, select them.
We didn't make this booking it was selected for us.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makena35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

At first glance McElly's Hotel is impressive with its five stories and its elevator. However, our room was small and basic. There was no art or decoration on the walls. The one nice touch was the mosquito screen around the bed with woven, decorative borders.

If one opens the window for some fresh air, the street noise can disrupt sleep. WiFi is free, a nice touch, but reliable only in the lobby.

Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was basic, with minimal choice and instant coffee. Dinner included deep-fried tilapia that was very oily, and tasted old. The rice contained gritty, sandy particles. I ate very little. To cap it off, the waitress made many mistakes in the simple bill.

In summary: a basic, serviceable hotel. Look elsewhere if you want good food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4seasonsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Point Zone Resort
Point Zone Resort
#33 of 42 in Arusha
16 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 42 in Arusha
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 42 in Arusha
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Joshmal Hotels
Joshmal Hotels
#62 of 117 in Arusha
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rich Hotel
Rich Hotel
#23 of 117 in Arusha
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mc-Ellys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mc-Ellys Hotel

Property: Mc-Ellys Hotel
Address: Uhuru Road | PO Box 12077, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mc-Ellys Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mc-Ellys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing