We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Place”
Review of Mc-Ellys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mc-Ellys Hotel
Ranked #41 of 125 Arusha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Fair cost-return ratio. Rooms are really clean, water is warm, satelite TV was okay, location close to the central market. Breaktfast standard but good. Staff is friendly. WiFi is not working in all rooms. They charge 55 USD which I think are well spent. I would go there again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Beni77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Mc-Ellys Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed overnight in this hotel to get an early bus to Dar es Salaam. It served the purpose because it was near to the bus terminal. The lift to each floor was working properly. The wifi was working ok in the room. All other things were just basic and of average Tanzania standard.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on upper floors if you want a view of Mt. Meru and sunset.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We used this hotel as a base between our Mt Meru climb and our safari, had 3 nights here in total. The staff was extremely kind and attentive, and the rooms were clean and spacious. We paid US$60 for a twin room, and this included a nice buffet breakfast. The hotel is located smack in the middle of town, within walking distance to the bus station, market, Shoprite supermarket and some great local BBQ places.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor with a view of the town & Mt Meru. Very nice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maneki-neko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I recently stayed here at the beginning and end of a safari. It's a hotel used often by the local tour companies, as it is a reasonable price, safe and clean.

To be honest - the chances are you'll spend very little time in this hotel, as you'll be transiting through, so value for money and safety are the key issues, and both are covered well. There are a few frustrating things (no remote for the air con, one towel despite having two people in the room, limited restaurant options, etc.), but these are not major issues. It is clean, and the staff are friendly. Wouldn't stay more than was needed though.

Another warning - the noise from the local taxis starts early and is extremely loud. Am sure this is a common problem in many places, but be warned or stay out of town!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

the hotel is centrally located in a very noisy area of arusha, (very close to the bus stand.).. although the rooms without balcony that have a side yard view are relatively quiet. the place is furnished with chinese cheap and second hand furniture which provide a very awkward atmosphere. at the first floor the restaurant seems to be clean but again nothing special...

Room Tip: rooms with the side view without a balcony on the noisy street
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mardeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed there for one night before a safari and one night after the safari. The rooms were clean and reasonably modern. The beds were comfortable. The temperature in the room was perfect. My only complaint about the rooms was that the toilets don't flush well. This was a problem in both rooms I stayed in as well as the bathroom by the restaurant. The buffet breakfast was identical to every hotel buffet breakfast I had in Uganda, Kenya, and Tanzania, which I like (cereal, toast, fresh fruit, eggs, and a few other things like pancakes or cassava). I ate supper at the restaurant and I thought that it was pretty good. The hotel is in a noisy neighbourhood, but you would probably have to get pretty far away from downtown Arusha to find something quieter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here our first night in Tanzania before leaving for our safari the next morning. We had a corner room with a view of Mount Meru and a balcony. The room was OK with an en suite bathroom, TV, and hot water, though the towels were pretty stiff. It is a pretty busy area, near one of the city markets and convenient to money changers and other services.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melindasr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.2 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#20 of 43 in Arusha
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 43 in Arusha
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 43 in Arusha
95 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rich Hotel
Rich Hotel
#20 of 125 in Arusha
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mc-Ellys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mc-Ellys Hotel

Address: Uhuru Road | PO Box 12077, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: £50 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mc-Ellys Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mc-Ellys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing