We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully relaxed introduction to Tanzania”
Review of Twiga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twiga Lodge
Ranked #9 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderfully relaxed introduction to Tanzania”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I just stayed at Twiga for one night before heading off on safari in northern Tanzania but it was a wonderfully relaxed place to begin my trip. Paul and Erika are lovely hosts who create a super homely atmosphere while giving you time and space to do your own thing. Instead of a family dog the very impressive cockrel will come and say hello before popping into the kitchen or out to the neighbouring small farms to meet his girlfriends!

The meals were delicious and I loved the garden (and biggest blue agapanthas flowers I've ever seen) with hammock and the viewing platform for spotting wildlife in the forests beyond but sometimes giraffe and elephants come right to the property! I'll stay longer next time to make sure I explore Arusha NP with Paul too

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
49
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early October 2013 at the start of our time in Tanzania. The Lodge is only 40 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro Airport. We had a warm welcome from owners Paul and Erika. It was a perfect introduction to Tanzania and gave us time to adjust from jetlag. It is home like setting with plenty of sitting areas and books to enjoy. We spent one full day relaxing at the Lodge, wandering around the garden, bird watching and talking to the owners. Erika prepares the best gin and tonic! Meanwhile Paul and staff were meticulous in getting ready 4 self-drive safari vehicles for a large NZ group. Our second day we spent in Arusha National Park whose main gate is only minutes away from Twiga Lodge. This park gave us our first views of giraffes, zebras, black-and- white colubus monkeys and much more. The bird life was excellent with very close views of flamingos in both the Momela Lakes, much closer than was possible at Lake Natron

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebird K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverett, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Excellent Service in an absolutely beautiful location, could not possibly be closer to Arusha national Park--literally a two minute drive to get in. Gorgeous views of Mt. Meru, Erica and Paul are extremely nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My dad and I recently stayed at Twiga Lodge, Arusha. On arrival we were welcomed by the owners Erica and Paul, along with big smiles we were offered drinks and our bags taken for us to our room. Paul & Erica are just lovely and made my dad & I feel very welcome and well looked after. Once we had settled in and freshened up from our flight, Paul took us out on safari around the Arusha National park. You can tell straight away that Paul has a passion for what he does, giving us a wealth of information on the animals we got to see. It wasn't long until we had seen baboons, colobus monkeys, giraffe, water buffalo, warthog and zebra. For our very first day seeing all of these animals along with many beautiful birds was a real treat. That evening Erica prepared a beautiful meal for us, which we ate along with plenty of red wine beside the roaring fire inside their beautiful lodge dinning area. By the end of the evening I felt as if I was dinning with friends and felt totally relaxed and pampered. We slept very well that night in our room, which was cosy, homely and had all we needed.
We were sad to leave the next morning and plan that next time we visit here we must stay longer! Truly a wonderful place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This lodge is quite a splurge, even by European prices, and unfortunately is not worth the bucks. It is quite a drive from Arusha, about half way between Arusha and Moshi actually, so transport to and from will be at least $50US one way on top of the hefty room price. Of course you don't have to take their meal option, but being so far removed from everything else, you will have little choice. The power frequently runs out (meaning no hot water for showering) and there were BIG spiders in my room (eek!). Although the lodge itself is beautiful, it is run as a bed and breakfast an you will find yourself eating every meal with the owners which might not be your cup of tea if you're looking for a little luxury relaxation. Left with a bit of a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank worldtravel9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were offered a hotel in the town by a tour agent for one night in Arusha while on the way to Serengeti. As I was planning to rent a self-drive Land Rover for camping from Shaw Safaris, I thought it would be practical to spend the night at Twiga. I was not expecting anything special and was prepared for basic facilities. However, from the moment we arrived at Twiga till the time we departed the following day, it was a very beautiful experience. The lodge and its huge green surroundings were fantastic, and in Erika and Paul, we had perfect hosts. We were a group of 9, with majority being strict vegetarians. The food was very nice while satisfying all our dietary requirements. The fatigue and pain of a long journey vanished within few minutes of putting arriving at the lodge. Sighting of Giraffe, Elephants and Bushbaby was a bonus. Following our experience of first day, we all ended up staying a further night at Twiga on the return leg.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NimP0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in Twiga few times during our one moth vacation in north Tanzania. Every time we felt like coming home. Erika and Paul go to great length to arranging everything you need, everything you dont need and many things you would not have though are possible in Tanzania. They create a unique home atmosphere while you still enjoy the privacy of a hotel room, your own veranda, enormous garden. Great food. Quiet location. Internet accessible most of the time when there is electricity.Off road vans available from parking lot. We realy recoment anyone to stay a few days at Twiga to catch up breath, get clean and fed, get ready for more adventures out there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twiga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twiga Lodge

Property: Twiga Lodge
Address: Far Plot no 2320, Ngongongare Village | Arumeru District, Usa River, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Twiga Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing