We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twiga Lodge - sharing the dream”
Review of Twiga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twiga Lodge
Ranked #9 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We travelled to Arusha, Tanzania from Canada in February 2014 to go on safari with Wayo Africa. It was a long flight, and we were looking forward to starting our trip with a bit of down time. We chose to stay at Twiga Lodge, conveniently located near the gate to Arusha National Park, where our safari was to begin. We couldn’t have hoped for a more perfect place to stay!

We can’t say enough about Paul and Erika, an English couple who came to Africa to live their dream. They received two tired travellers with a warm welcome, let us settle in, gave us a refreshing drink followed by a delicious lunch served on the upper verandah. From here we had an amazing view of Mount Meru which looms majestically over Arusha National Park.

We happened to be their only guests at the time, and enjoyed great conversations with Paul and Erika over appetizing meals shared with them over the next couple of days. They have a real passion for Tanzania, and are a wealth of knowledge about safari life. The lodge is rustically beautiful and warmly inviting. Our room was very comfortable with a mosquito-netted bed snug in the loft. The grounds are lush and well maintained, with a lookout tower facing the Park. They have created a beautiful atmosphere in which to relax, just follow the example of Soxie their cat. And if you need waking up, there’s always Kaneli, their pet rooster.

Now that our safari is over and we have returned home, we have a strong longing to go back to Africa. Part of the attraction would be to spend some more time with Paul and Erika at Twiga Lodge. We thank them for sharing their dream with us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernwoodCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Twiga Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

We visited for the third time to this lovely place. For our son it was the first time and he fell in love with the place as we did. Paul is a guide in his own right and took us out on safari . he is very informative and has a real passion for the animals and birds. We had lovely food cooked for us on our return and an added bonus of a birthday cake for my daughter . Thanks to the staff for looking after our needs. Erika did a great job arranging everything and making sure it all went ok . We will be back at some time, even if its just to chill at the lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferdyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent our first two nights in Tanzania at Twiga and could not have wished for a better start to our holiday. Paul and Erica made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and their enthusiasm for both Africa and the wildlife was infectious. The lodge is supremely comfortable and Erica served up delicious food - the communal dining made for a real home from home experience.
We had one day in Arusha National Park, hosted by Paul and included a drive and a guided stroll. We saw a host of animals, all spotted by an eagle-eyed Paul who also has an encyclopedic knowledge of all African wildlife. Wonderful comfortable, warm, friendly atmosphere, cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sunnydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We visited Twiga Lodge for the first time last year. Paul Sweet took us on a Safari trip into Arusha National Park (which the property overlooks) and we were smitten, so this year we undertook a self-drive safari organised for us by Erika Sweet. We stayed a few days enjoying the wonderful food and warm hospitality and then took the well equipped Land Rover out visiting several National Parks. Paul made sure the Land Rover was ticketyboo and had everything that might possibly be needed. We then set out following the excellent itinerary arranged for us by Erika. The safari itself was magical. There is something extra special when you are on your own without a guide and can quietly watch a cheetah watching for his supper.
Paul and Erika ensured that we had an exceptionally special holiday.
Regarding Twiga Lodge itself the previous posting has said it all and we agree with everything!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glebebears81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Paul and Erika Sweet have created a paradise oasis at Twiga Lodge! My husband I and stayed with them for two days before heading out on safari and returned to spend another three days, including a memorable New Year's Eve, with them after our safari. We were especially lucky to meet Paul's parents in from the UK and were welcomed by their friends for the holidays.
When you arrive you are greeted by warm smiles and welcomed in like family from the moment you enter the gates. You will be received with your choice of refreshment as you proceed to the veranda. Where you will be amazed by the lush lawn and vegetation all around you, with sitting areas and hammocks to tempt you to slow down a bit while you visit Twiga Lodge. Mt. Meru will gaze down upon you, as Mt. Kilimanjaro will peek out just over Arusha National Park. You may be so overcome by the view you will miss the viewing tower altogether, where you can catch glimpses of giraffes, elephants, bushbucks, monkeys, and other wildlife. If you look around grounds you will find the most gorgeous rooster named Kaneli, and the delightful cat, Sox. They are a treat and lend their own personalities to an incredible experience.
Paul and Erika are knowledgeable, friendly, gracious hosts and their staff is beyond lovely. We were shown to our room upstairs, which was a double with a loft and en-suite bath with soaking tub/shower. The bed is dreamy. An absolute brilliant night's sleep awaits you. Drinking water and mosquito net are provided, along with an accompaniment of luxurious bath products. The upper level has a wrap around veranda as well and loads of little place to sit and read or simply take in the view. The lodge is magical with African art and decor adorning the walls and large cozy furniture for relaxing a bit.
Meals at Twiga Lodge are scrumptious. Beginning with a hearty and healthy fresh breakfast. At lunch you may have a divine quiche, refreshing salad or barbecue. Dinners begin with a relaxed cocktail hour on the veranda, leading to a delicious creation by Erika and her staff, Ester and Leacardia.
Paul took us into Arusha National Park for the day and we were blown away by his knowledge and professionalism. We came in with a different tour company for our safari, but after meeting Paul and Erika we are committed to Twiga Lodge and Shaw Safaris (their self-drive safari company) for our next adventures! Erika can create a dream itinerary for you and Paul can guide and drive you or prepare you for your successful self-drive safari.
I could not recommend Twiga Lodge and Shaw Safaris with anymore enthusiasm. This is a small business, providing big hospitality. We look forward to returning and taking on a self-drive safari soon. Thank you so much to Paul, Erika, and your amazing staff!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABSewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Erica and Paul greeted four tired Canadians with warm and gracious hospitaiity and long, cool drinks on their spacious veranda, overlooking the lovely garden ,the silence broken only by the night sounds of Tanzania. It was a magical start to an exciting exploration and we all felt well rested and well fed when we set off on safari three days later.Their wealth of information was invaluable and added immensely to the success of our trip. Many thanks to you both.
We certainly hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Returned 1 week ago from our two week trip to Tanzania. Twiga Lodge was our first stay for 2 nights in order to recover from the long flight, before heading out with Paul as our guide and driver on safari (Shaw Safari, also owned by Paul and Erika). The safari portion of our trip was put together with the help of Erika (even before we had booked with Twiga Lodge she was an invaluable help to me trying to organize my trip to Tanzania), she thought of everything and even paid for our park passes for the week so that when we arrived all we had to do was get in the land rover. Driving around and seeing the countryside and animals with Paul was like being with a family member....except one that knows everything about the smallest bird or reptile to the majestic elephants and lions. We learned more in this one week than we ever would have on our own. The Lodge is like something out of a fairy tale...except with Giraffes strolling by as we had our first drink upon arriving our first night....we couldn't have asked for more. There is nothing bad anyone can say about their piece of paradise. They welcome you and make you feel at home and we are so glad we found them because it made our trip amazingly beautiful, breathtaking and a once in a lifetime experience. Thanks Erika and Paul.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Twiga Campsite and Lodge
Twiga Campsite and Lodge
#34 of 176 in Arusha
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Hatari Lodge
Hatari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Arusha National Park
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twiga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twiga Lodge

Address: Far Plot no 2320, Ngongongare Village | Arumeru District, Usa River, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Twiga Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing