We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Twiga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twiga Lodge
Ranked #8 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Well we returned again this Feb and as soon as we got there it felt like we had come "home". Love the people, love the food and love the tranquility of Twiga Lodge. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferdyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
49
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

this is a great place to begin a northern tanzania safari, being a short drive from kilimanjaro airport and arusha. upon arrival we were met by the very friendly owners of twiga lodge, paul and erika. jetlagged as we were, they left us alone to sleep off our heavy headedness, whilst giving us plenty of good home cooked food and, more importantly, tea.

the lodge itself is stunning and the rooms are comfortable and charmingly furnished, though the sleeping area is a wee bit cramped and you'll have to mind your head. be aware also that sound does appear to really travel in that place (we could hear even moderate level conversation coming from the room below, and our doors and windows etc were all closed.) the bathroom is a nice size with a powerful shower. the grounds are stunning with great views of both mount meru and arusha national park to be had from their various viewing stages. if you're lucky you'll catch giraffes wandering through.

food was very good and the chicken tagine and mixed veg soup served at dinner were particularly memorable.

perhaps the best part of staying at this lodge is the effort that the owners put into making you feel comfortable and welcome. it's a great place to rest and revive yourself for beginning a safari. the self drive option that they offer appears to be a very professional set up and should we ever venture back to tanzania (which i certainly hope we do) then it's something i'd definitely consider.

thanks paul and erika for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quick_draw_mcgraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed at Twiga Lodge in November 2010 when we had a 3 week safari around Northern Tanzania. We hired a Landrover fully equipped will all we needed for our safari from Shaw Safaris based at Twiga Lodge. The vehicle and equipment more than met our expecations and based on previous experiences in other countries in Africa, I believe that this is the best we have had so far.

Twiga Lodge is a stunning, friendly and welcoming place to stay whether you use it as a base for holiday in the area or as a gateway to the Northern Circuit. Erika and Paul Sweet and their staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and in ensuring that your stay is a great experience.

The Lodge is ideally suited for anyone who wants to climb Kilimanjaro or Mount Meru (which is practically in their back garden) or for those heading out to the national parks on safari. Arusha National Park is bordering the lodge and Tarangire, Lake Manyara are within a short drive and the Ngorongoro and the vast Serengeti can also be accessed from Twiga Lodge however will require overnight stays away from the lodge.

Why not hire your safari vehicle from Shaw Safaris and do the national parks through self drive (they can also provide you with a driver/guide if you prefer). We did exactly that and can thoroughly recommend it.

After 3 weeks camping out in the wild with the fantastic wildlife Tanzania has to offer it was lovely to come back to Twiga Lodge, which felt like "coming home".

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monasmithphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2010

My only regret is that we didn't plan to stay for two nights at this lovely, small guest house. It was better than home after a hectic time in Tanzania. The proprietors are warm, lovely, interesting people. They equipped us for the self drive safari so well, we were very confident in our ability to go off on our own. I recommend the self drive for anyone who enjoys camping. Our adult son said it was very empowering.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynKJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Twiga very much. The standard and variety of the cuisine was excellent. The accomodation was clean and comfortable. The African wooden furniture and decor is attractive and pleasing on the eye. Erika and Paul were welcoming, friendly, helpful and knowledgable hosts.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights in this nice lodge. It’s very simple, kind of a backpackers vibe and it’s very clean and comfortable. We stayed on a double room, but you can also camping and we really enjoyed our stay there. We did a 5 night safari, and this was the cheapest lodge we stayed in, but surprisingly was the one we liked the most!

The rest (Seronera Wildlife Lodge and Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge) were fancy from the outside but really uncomfortable and super expensive just because they were inside the parks. On Twiga you can have your own wine bottle without having to pay ridiculous prices! Also they have affordable internet.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneUniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed at the Twiga Lodge upon our arrival in Tanzania and as a base from which to see Arusha National Park. It was an excellent choice. We arrived exhausted from long international flights and were immediately charmed by the warm welcome of owners Erika and Paul. The combination of their hospitality, warmth, and native English made for a very good first impression of Tanzania. This was especially appreciated after a series of nerve-wracking experiences with Air Ethiopia.

Twiga Lodge is also the home of Shaw Safari’s. Shaw Safari’s is a self-drive outfit and they have a small fleet of well-maintained Land Rovers. Since this was our first trip to Tanzania we chose a fully guided safari. Should we return, we will definitely give serious consideration to Shaw Safari’s self-drive option.

The Twiga Lodge property borders Arusha National Park. Apparently the wild game cannot read the park boundary signs and one might have peaceful encounters with giraffe, elephants, bush babies, etc. There is even a viewing platform at the Twiga Lodge from which one can see into the park in an area frequented by Giraffe. The front veranda of the Twiga Lodge overlooks Mt Meru. On a clear day it is an awesome sight. On cloudy days, one has to be content to look over the lush lawn and gardens. Except for the views and the animals, there is a feeling of being in the countryside of the UK.

The Twiga Lodge has the feel of a traditional Bed & Breakfast. Guests have their private room and private bath. Meals are cooked and served in the common area at a table shared with Erika and Paul. Our package included both breakfast and dinner. Dinner – complete with, drinks, soup, salad, entree, and desert -- was exceptional and combined familiar ingredients with special local flavorings. The meal was complemented with a small fire and soft background music on the stereo. Breakfast was wholesome and included eggs cooked to order. During our short stay, we were the only guests. We understand the lodge can accommodate up to 6 couples. There is Internet at the lodge, but there is no wireless connection for guests to use.

Our room was clean and comfortable and generously sized. We had an excellent night’s sleep on a king sized bed protected by mosquito netting [which was unnecessary as we did not encounter any bugs]. Our only suggestion would be to make one of the lights a little brighter so it is easier to work with one’s luggage and things. The bathroom was modern, featured two sinks, and came complete with excellent linens and toiletries. There was no shortage of hot water.

Our top memory is the time spent with Paul and Erika – owners of the lodge and ex-pat’s from the UK. Our welcome drink was the choice of beer, wine, or soft drink – no charge. Our first half hour was on the veranda enjoying the libation of our choice swapping travel stories. After freshening up, it was happy hour time – again no charge. We learned a great deal about life and business in Africa as seen through the eyes of ex-pat’s. Looking back, these simple conversations put us at ease for the rest of our entire trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
915 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twiga Campsite and Lodge
Twiga Campsite and Lodge
#32 of 160 in Arusha
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twiga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twiga Lodge

Property: Twiga Lodge
Address: Far Plot no 2320, Ngongongare Village | Arumeru District, Usa River, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Twiga Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing