We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem”
Review of Ngurdoto Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngurdoto Lodge
Ranked #56 of 185 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Reviewed 10 February 2013

What a place! Virtually everything from the beautifully private and well appointed rooms to the food, the staff, the grounds and the main building itself are first class. Great view to Mt Meru as well.
Manager Angelique is exceptionally charming and helpful, she is an asset to the place.
If you have the cash, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

This small cottage, peaceful setting and wonderful vista takes all stress away. The rooms are well equipped and the terraces the perfect place to enjoy morning coffee. The staff are charming and go out of their way to make the experience memorable. Informed it was our anniversary, they provided flowers, fruit and sparkling wine in our room and at dinner presented us with a cake and sang and danced around our table - in costume. The food is excellent; the grounds and pool welcoming. We recommend this as a breakaway from mountain climbing or safari-ing or just a nice retreat.

Room Tip: if a family go for rooms 6-7 to get a living room and large veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsb9-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We spent the first two nights of our Safari at Ngurdoto Lodge and could not have dreamed of a better start. The lodge has six cosy guesthouses which are located in a wonderful garden, a nice swimming pool makes it perfect. After a game drive in one of the national parks you can relax on the verandah, enjoy the sounds of nature and maybe you even hear the choir of the nearby church practicing - no better place to relax, like paradise! The staff is very very friendly, the athmosphere is very nice, not to be compared with a big impersonal hotel. Breakfast and dinner were very tasty. For the meals our group of six was placed at a big table together with other guests which was great because we got to know the other guests and could exchange our travel stories. All in all there is just one conclusion: go there and stay as long as possible!

Room Tip: There are also rooms in the main building but take one of the cosy guesthouses - they are wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taria78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

we had the most wonderful stay at the Ngurdoto Lodge. It is a beautiful estate with very friendly staff and excellent service.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxelS1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed at this lodge on Xmas day. The American owners had wrapped gifts for every member of our party, little souveniers from Tanzania. There were 14 of us in total, including 6 children between the ages of 10 and 13. The lodge is beautifully cared for with private guest houses on the property. The main lodge consists of a large dining room, living room and terrace with scenic views of Mt. Meru and Kilimanjaro. It is around a half of hour drive from Kilimanjaro airport and five minutes from Arusha National Park. There is wonderful hiking in the park, along with some good game viewing. The service and food (Xmas dinner with turkey & stuffing!) was great and I highly recommend the lodge as a starting point for an African safari. You do not hear or see any of the Arusha town noise or poverty but feel as if you are in the Arusha National Park. The owners take good care of you and their property!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FastenYourSeatbelts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fregoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BelgiumWdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge
Ngurdoto Mountain Lodge
#93 of 185 in Arusha
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#8 of 130 in Arusha
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngurdoto Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngurdoto Lodge

Address: PO Box 515, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 185 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing