We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place at the foothills of Meru 30 min from Arusha town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Ranked #7 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place at the foothills of Meru 30 min from Arusha town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Unlike most lodges in Arusha which were built in a past decade or so, Ngare
Sero is a place with a 100-year-long history. The main house of the lodge
was built in 1905 by Germans who started coffee and rubber plantations in
the area. After the 1st world war the place changed hands to English
Government, and after the 50¹s it was a ³haunted ghost house². 40 years ago
Mike and Gisella Leach restored the property and turned it into one of the
first lodges in Arusha area. Their son Timothy is now running the lodge and
together with his Russian fiancée Katya is helping to make sure that guests
who come to stay here feel like home.
Me and my girlfriends stayed at the pool suites and spent most of our time
chilling in a 30 meter swimming pool surrounded by the garden with flowers,
aloe cactus and ginger. There are beautiful horses to ride, lake for boating
and forests with rare black-n-white colobus and Sykes monkeys and lots of
birds.
Some of the Tanzanian staff have worked here for more than 15 years, and
they all were very helpful and nice. The food was great ­ fresh and
delicious from organic vegetable gardens. Our favorite dish was rainbow
trout which comes from their own fish farm.
At sunset you can see the spectacular snow cap of Kilimanjaro from the
balcony of the main building. And after dark the best thing to do is sip
wine next to the fireplace in the cozy living room downstairs.
There is a nice shop at the reception where you can buy hand-picked local
crafts ­ Masai jewelry, wood carvings and simple clothes made from African
fabrics by local charity organizations. We didn¹t want to go to town, and we
bought all our souvenirs here.
For us it was a perfect place to stay before and after our safari, were we
could rest, relax and enjoy being in nature. I felt like home when I was
here and I hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
48
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moshi, Tanzania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I have been leading a group of 10 Russian clients on safari in Northern Safari circuit this January. Most people rush in an out of Arusha spending only one night there before and after the flight. We spent 3 days in Ngare Sero before and 3 days after our safari and it turned out to be the best thing to do.
People had time to rest, enjoy massages in the garden spa, ride lodge horses, fish and enjoy boat rides on the trout lake, walk in the forest with colobus and sykes monkeys and numerous species of birds. We also went on a culture tour organized by the lodge to a local Wameru village and a school and gave presents to the local orphanage. We had a new year's eve party dancing and singing with a local church choir and a drum-n-bass singer from NYC.

The staff, from directors and reception managers to housekeeping mamas, were taking very good care of us and the quality of food was very good - even my high-end clients who stayed in most expensive lodges in Ngorongoro and Serengeti (700-1500$ a night) remarked that nowhere on their safari did they eat so well as in Ngare Sero. The food was healthy and wholesome served as a family style buffet, bringing people together at every meal in a cozy dining room. In the evenings we all gathered for wildlife documentaries in the Home Theater located in the living room of the main building. And we never had a shortage of things to do - the 30 meter pool with a view on Mt Meru on a clear day, bubbly drinks on the veranda with a Kili view, comfortable rooms for midday rest - it was a really beautiful experience.

By the time we got back after our safari, it felt like we were coming back home. We were so tired after spending 8-10 hours a day in the car, that it was a joy to not have to immediately travel home. Some people had time to go to town for souvenir shopping, others decided to buy everything they need in a lodge shop which has reasonable prices. We were offered to do day activities like hiking in Arusha National Park in Mount Meru Crater or swim in a Hot Springs nearby, but we felt so good to just stay in the lodge for 3 days, rest and just enjoy being there surrounded by sounds of the forest and the lake.

I would highly recommend Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge if you are looking for a safari base in Northern Tanzania. It has the best view of Kilimanjaro in the area, a unique location and it's own little eco-system which keeps you cool while the rest of Arusha is dry and dusty, and with its 100-year long history and eco-friendly practices - it is a destination in itself. I hope you will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadaRaduga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

In Ngare Sero I had the best relaxing rest for the last 3-4 years.
We Arrived on 30th of December and achieved a fast relaxation after 18-hours trip from Moscow to Arusha (Thanks to swimming pool, wonderful massage and a plenty of highquality sparkling wine). The fresh air, proveded by a piece of jungle around th lodge, frogs's songs in the lake and perfect beds allow to have a very good sleep.
The kitchen in the lodge consists of simple, but organic an tasty dishes. Some ingredients grow in the lodge's garden. The staff is very attentive and trys to do their best.
The selebration of the New Year 2012 combined the performance of local Christian chorus and a dj set of one of the world-known Djs. The party took place in the main building, but in the distanced apartments there was quiet.
Additionally I'd like to mention the few bonuses:
1) the horses, which one can ride around the lodge (the white one with the black spots is very friendly, and the white male should be influenced with more power to move faster);
2) the boat to float the lake and to watch birds;
3) the monkeys, which can be found in the trees near the swiming pool (oh! I'm still thinking about this pool and +28C).
4) I hadn't an allergy on the home dust in the rooms. It's a rear chance!!!!

We returned to Ngare Sero after safari on 9th of January for three more days and got the same impressions. We call such a stability by the word "quality".
It was the first time for the last 3-4 years, when I did not want to go home in two weeks of having the rest (only in 2011 I had 21 flights to the places of having rest).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorjik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Ask any of the best safari guides! The combination of forest, lake and homely atmosphere, together with superb rooms that are styled to be timeless make this lodge unique . Don't stay in a lodge that could be anywhere in the world. Start and end your safari in Africa at Ngare Sero Mountain lodge. I always do!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Olivertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

My stay at Ngare sero was undoubtedly one of my best experiences while traveling in Tanzania, with beautiful forests surrounding a cristal clear lake with an abundance of bird life and a miriad of flora and fauna which made my wonderings though out the grounds very calming and interesting- would definatly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

This mountain lodge rebuilt by a civil engineer after the war is an eco haven, water power from the volcanic spring with a turbine hall irrigating the trout lakes and local farms down the mountainside. Food grown in the lodges own gardens, beautiful secluded rooms of cool earthen materials with fresh water showers, baths, and big four poster beds. Surrounded by lakes that are home to four types of frog, red and black colobus monkeys, and numerous other water birds makes this the most magical place to sleep with the constant droan of cicadas replaced by a symphony of frog chorus each night that is a truly unique experience to this resort. Delicious organic food, fresh mountain water, delightful English gardens with a long pool, and hours of punting on the lakes surrounding this 19th century lodge make for a peaceful week in anyone's book.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good as far as I could tell, we had the third one along from the lodge which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigland55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This lodge is situated in Usa River just outside Arusha. It is an extremely pretty spot in huge ground that include a trout farm. The rooms are simple but provide everything one needs for a nights stayover. The food is simple wholesome and very good value. Staff well trained and friendly. To be honest I cant think of a better place to stay in the Arusha area

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBanditt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha
2.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
7.3 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
13.4 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 149 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumeru River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge

Property: Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Address: Nshupu Village | Meru District, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush gardens amid forest and crystal clear waters on the slopes of Mount Meru, Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge is a wonderful place to relax and simmer in the immense beauty of East Africa. The Lodge has been adapted from an early colonial farmhouse built in the early 20th century and it is one of the oldest family lodges in Arusha.It offers only 10 garden rooms, 2 main house suites and pool cottage with 2 bedrooms, and provides personal service for its residents since 1974. Here you can spend the days amid nature, watching the changing colors of the Kilimanjaro glaciers while sipping drinks on the verandah or hiking in the forest inhabited by colobus and Sykes monkeys as well as hundreds of small animal and bird species. The Lodge is located only 30 minutes away from Kilimanjaro International Airport and Arusha town center and it is a perfect base while on safari in the northern circuit Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jovago.com so you can book your Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing