We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

My first steps through the gate and walk across the bridge revealed that we were in an extraordinary place; in fact it felt like something of a fairy tale land. It was after climbing Mt Meru that we returned to the lodge and took the most refreshing and reenergizing cold plunge in their natural and completely private water springs. Afterwards we were soothed by the comfort of a deliciously warm soup and also the tranquility of the surrounding environment. Swimming lengths (which I normally find quite boring) in their vastly long pool was wonderful given the sights and sounds of white-bushy-tailed monkeys jumping around the enormous trees. After swim and sun, i relaxed while being given a lovely massage. Truly an incredible experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca-Jasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
48
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Ngare Sero earned a place as one of my most favorite places to stay in the entire world.

This lodge is a very special place whose uniqueness, comfort and decadence is a product of owners who genuinely love where they live and who equally love sharing this piece of paradise with visitors.

Katya, Tim and the entire staff at Ngare Sero expertly tailor your visit and make you feel like a very special guest in someone's home. After many great adventures in Kenya and Rwanda, my girlfriend and I were excited to take a few days to relax and take a moment to enjoy the beauty of Africa. Katya arranged for the driver (Benny was awesome!) to meet us at the airport and welcomed us as soon as we arrived. She sat down with us over an exquisite candlelight dinner to learn about us, our travels and how we hoped to spend our three days in Arusha.

She was very honest in how the rainy season would affect some of our options and helped us decide on some great alternatives that would be less impacted by the rains. There is a whole list of things to do around the property and there is no doubt you will find something amazing to do whether your goal is to relax or to have great adventures.

Tim and Katya also gave us a personal tour of the property, explaining its history, how it functions and how hard they work to protect the naturally beautiful environment around them. This tour was a definite highlight of my trip and Tim and Katya are just really cool people who are easy to hang out with.

During our stay we got a tour of the local village, went shopping in Arusha and got a great massage. They even had the kitchen staff make me a birthday cake once they found out it was my birthday!

The rooms themselves are very large and well decorated and include a living room area, bedroom, fantastic shower, a dressing area and a separate bathroom. There is Internet, but no TV (not that I would have ever watched it). These are as comfortable rooms as Ive ever stayed in. I got great sleep in these rooms and was very comfortable.

We will definitely return, maybe during the great migration or to climb Kili, but either way we know we will feel at home at Ngare Sero.

I would like to send a special thank you to Gerald, Dottie, Benny and the whole staff. They are EXCEPTIONAL at customer service. Please know we appreciated your world class service and our great conversations. We hope to see you again very soon.

This is really a special place and you will love your time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is always our first stop when landing in Tanzania. It is like a little oasis covered in green. The Colobus monkies are all around. The lap pool is beautiful. It is peaceful and quiet. My only complaint would be the dim lighting in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We spent a very relaxed couple of days here, recovering from a long flight. It's only 30 minutes drive from Kili airport and you can enjoy distant views of that famous snowy peak.

The grounds are lovely and blue monkeys are regular visitors. Pool is fantastic. The walk round the property was nice but could do with a litter clean up.

We stayed in the suite room facing the pool for one night, which you may find a bit odd as the toilet and bath are freestanding and separated from the bed area by a screen.

The next night we moved to the suite above breakfast room in the main lodge which was spacious and characterful and had THE VIEW from a beautiful private veranda where your meals were served:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoolit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

A truly wonderful place to stay and recharge. For a family with kids the outdoor activities are endless and kids are NEVER bored: running on lawns, swimming in a pool (huge!) while watching monkeys in the trees nearby, feeding trout, horse riding, swinging on a jungle swing above the lake, or swinging into the trees on a giant swing, again, surrounded by huge trees, birds and monkeys, tree climbing, exploring the forest and the stream, and on and on and on. Adults can chill and enjoy the view and the fresh air if they don't want to be active. Food is both healthy and delicious. Rooms are beautifully decorated, each unique, spacious, with a bathroom luxuriously big, all immaculately clean, overlooking a well kept garden. And, it takes less than an hour to any of the nearby airports or parks. Just perfect. And last but not least: the team looked after us so well and in such a genuinely friendly way that it was difficult to depart. We would go again any time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dada z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Me, my husband and a couple of friends stayed in this beautiful place for three days. It is a great place to relax, to enjoy the nature - there is a spectacular lake in the backyard and a magnificent view of Kilimanjaro and lots of monkeys around -, to enjoy the company of your friends in the room with a fireplace. The staff is kind, all-the-time smiling and helpful, food is excellent, rooms are comfortable, so nicely decorated and clean. I don't have any negative opinion about this lodge, I just want to go there again! If you ever go there, you should absolutely read the inspiring story of Gisella, the woman who has not only made the lodge as it is today, but also gave the spirit to this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the yard are already great. But also, the room in the main building is huge and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elifpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Before a safari, I always stay here to recharge after a long haul flight. I highly recommend it to my clients too. Its a little off the beaten track as you drive away from the main road between JRO and Arusha. Then you cross a little wooden foot bridge, walk the stone steps and then see the main lodge building and cottages. It is incredibly peaceful, rich with songbirds and even colubus monkeys. It has a great 'getaway from it all' ambience. The rooms don't have air con as this is quite a 'green' lodge. The food is good, but no menu. Meals usually consist of a small buffet with local currys/stews. Breakfast is the usual cereal, fruit, toast mix with fresh eggs to order. The service is always friendly and impeccable. Can't wait to to be sitting on the veranda and sipping a cold Killi again!

Room Tip: The suites offer you the most privacy and are closest to the pool, set away from the rest of the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeepImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arusha
2.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
7.3 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arumeru River Lodge
13.4 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 149 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge

Property: Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Address: Nshupu Village | Meru District, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush gardens amid forest and crystal clear waters on the slopes of Mount Meru, Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge is a wonderful place to relax and simmer in the immense beauty of East Africa. The Lodge has been adapted from an early colonial farmhouse built in the early 20th century and it is one of the oldest family lodges in Arusha.It offers only 10 garden rooms, 2 main house suites and pool cottage with 2 bedrooms, and provides personal service for its residents since 1974. Here you can spend the days amid nature, watching the changing colors of the Kilimanjaro glaciers while sipping drinks on the verandah or hiking in the forest inhabited by colobus and Sykes monkeys as well as hundreds of small animal and bird species. The Lodge is located only 30 minutes away from Kilimanjaro International Airport and Arusha town center and it is a perfect base while on safari in the northern circuit Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing