We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We arrived after a 27 hour journey and thought we only wanted to sleep - but everywhere was so beautiful and peaceful we just wandered around and recovered. There was a pool which helped. Some horses and a foal were walking across the lawn, a path led past a croquet lawn to the woods, tea was served on the verandah with comfortable chairs and a friendly dog, Sykes monkeys jumped around in the trees and later we saw flocks of sacred ibis fly in to roost on trees by the lake. I felt it was 1930.

The food was great, the staff lovely and the room comfortable. On safari we stayed in tented camps, which were thrilling, but for a 'normal' stay - and certainly one on the first tired night - this was the best place to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
50
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McGregor, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Ngaro Sero is a fantastic oasis that more than delivers on all aspects. Much better than the website may indicate. Glorious gardens, lovely staff, good food, the lake, bird watching, has a small spa and boutique too. All this and genuinely Eco-friendly. Don't even think of staying anywhere else. The access road is a bit rough but don't let that deter you

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I've travelled across East Africa for over a decade, and in the last year I have continuously travelled across seven cities in Tanzania...in all those years, and across all those miles, Ngare Sero is genuinely one of the best places I've ever stayed.

The rustic, captivating and stunning surroundings of lush forest, "dappled waters" of the lake and epic vistas of both Meru and Kilimanjaro, create a serene and surreal experience.

The courteous and informative staff consistently give excellent service; anticipating and accommodating my needs and requests....and the food! Fantastic, fresh, locally sourced - the only place in TZ to taste trout!

I've found that Ngare Sero is a haven for me. With its subtle but diverse activities from horse riding, yoga, fishing, woodland walks, mechanical workshops...or just chilling by the pool are all I could wish for…and it's why i keep going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skoogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a second fantastic stay here. This time I explored the forest around the lodge a little more and managed to have some really close encounters with the colobus monkey troops, sykes monkeys and birds on the lake. This really is an amazing sanctuary. Staff were so friendly and attentive, food is simple and fresh and the cool mountain air and warm sunshine are a lovely break from the dusty plains. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We knew we were in for something special when we crossed the property's lake via a small stone footpath bridge.

The whole estate is immaculately kept and is very welcoming.

Meals are prepared with local and organic products. They are eaten in an old but extremely stylish farm house which is the center piece of the estate.

Things are so nicely put together, it felt like we were walking through a magazine's photo shoot.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raverpoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I only wish I could go and stay more often. The lodge has such a lovely and homely feeling. The last trip was for a wedding. The first trip was to stay in Arusha while I ran an event.
I can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyatt_jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Ngare Sero Lodge is way beyond anyone's expectations . . . It simply put has the best location, the best staff, the best service and they pay attention to every detail. I know . . . I've stayed there many times and I am never disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful . . . if you want to be a bit away from the Lodge itself say so. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
1.9 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
4.7 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
135 reviews
9.5 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
428 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
560 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge

Property: Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Address: Nshupu Village | Meru District, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush gardens amid forest and crystal clear waters on the slopes of Mount Meru, Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge is a wonderful place to relax and simmer in the immense beauty of East Africa. The Lodge has been adapted from an early colonial farmhouse built in the early 20th century and it is one of the oldest family lodges in Arusha.It offers only 10 garden rooms, 2 main house suites and pool cottage with 2 bedrooms, and provides personal service for its residents since 1974. Here you can spend the days amid nature, watching the changing colors of the Kilimanjaro glaciers while sipping drinks on the verandah or hiking in the forest inhabited by colobus and Sykes monkeys as well as hundreds of small animal and bird species. The Lodge is located only 30 minutes away from Kilimanjaro International Airport and Arusha town center and it is a perfect base while on safari in the northern circuit Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing