We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy”
Review of Arusha Tourist Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arusha Tourist Inn
Ranked #65 of 104 Arusha B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Wifi worked for the most part. Located next to a local outdoor market which sold fruit, clothing and other nick nacks. Grocery store is about a block away which was very convenient. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauntrell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    19
    33
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
20
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel feels secure and it has a lift so you don't need to lug your baggage around. The staff were very nice and always willing to help. The restaurant food was, like most others I have found in Africa, disappointing. All ion all though, this is one of the better hotels I've stayed in in Kenya & Tanzania. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I would definitively recommend this place. The location is great, it is really clean, wi-fi works really well in the lobby, breakfast is OK, and the staff is great. Really helpful with whatever you may need.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomade123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanga, Tanzania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Took some friends there and they were comfortable. Good service, friendly staff and clean rooms. Good starting and finishing point for a safari or climb. A good value for your money. It doesn't have a garden area, but if you are just passing through, you don't notice it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I booked a safari in Tanzania with one of the local operators. We needed a total of 3 nights in Arusha - on the day of our arrival, on the day of finishing the safari, and one more, because we decided to do a walking safari in Arusha Park. The safari operator recommended Arusha Tourist Inn and we agreed. We didn't book the hotel directly, it was done through the tour operator. We paid only $30 per night per person B&B (maybe the operator had some discount when booking through them, not sure about the prices when booking directly), which was really quite cheap, and the hotel turned out to be of a suprisingly high standard. We've seen in our time some hotels that claimed a 4-star standard, which were significantly worse.

The room was squicky clean. The bathroom was really nice and in excellent condition - everything worked, which is not always the case in Africa :) A large sink, a nice toilet and a shower cabin, everything looking nice and clean.

Our double bed was large and comfortable, the bedding fresh and looking brand new. The mosquito net was well designed, it covered the whole bed without making it a tent ;) Watch out for holes in it though, we happened to find one, but it was easy to work around with the rest of the net. Every day a sealed bottle of water was supplied (we use it when brushing our teeth in Africa), together with clean towels, standard hotel soap and shampoo (we brought are own so we didn't use it, but it's always reassuring to know it's there just in case). There was a mosquito net frame installed in the window, so we could keep the window open without worrying about insects. A number of power sockets were in the walls, for us it was really nice, since we always carry a lot of equipment that needs regular recharging. Despite some hot weather it was always cool in the room, event though there was no air conditioning.

The hotel has a nice restaurant that serves different types of food - African, continental, Indian. There's also a bar with a choice of drinks. Nothing very fancy, but for this kind of money it was nice and clean.
Also, in the same building, just at the exit onto Sokoine Road (one of Arusha's main roads), there is a very good Indian restaurant - reasonably priced with a very high quality of food. If you like true Indian food, you should deifinitely go there :)

The hotel has 5 floors, and it has a nice modern lift. The staff is helpful with the luggage and everything else.

When looking for minuses, I only can think of a few:
- sometimes there was no power at all; it wasn't the hotel's fault, after all, it's Tanzania :) They have their own generator, but they use it only after sunset. So, if a power outage happens during the day, no can do - any recharging must wait until evening.
- there was a free wifi connection. But it didn't work on all the floors. Somehow it was working only between 2nd and 3rd floor, and only for about 10 minutes at one go. After that it would stop working and a reconnect was required, and it could take some minutes after the system would let you in again.
- the hotel is situated almost in the very center of town; which means that you will hear the traffic sounds till late hours.

For us, those flaws weren't a problem at all.

Summarizing - very good value for money, high standard, clean. Definitely worth staying in if you need a reasonably priced, high standard overnight in Arusha.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zvoloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Our safari tour company (Bobby's Tours) arranged for us two nights accommodation pre and post our 7day safari trip. It's not very busy tbh but that was ok for us.

We found all areas very clean and decent. Reception staff were pleasant and friendly too.

We paid $60 per night bed and breakfast (2 pax) and we were happy with that. I see that some bargained (from other reviews on TA) and as it wasn't busy you might have some luck there, but we were ok for what we paid for the room.

I would stay again and recommend to friends for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncle-Jayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Basic accomodation used prior to catching a bus back to Nairobi the next day. Room was clean and tidy and bathroom had hot water which was great. Power went off 3 times and generator took about 20 minutes to kick in which is not so much fun when you are eating dinner and packing for the return flight the next day! The staff are customer focussed but this is a very basic hotel. Not sure I would have been as comfortable if I had of been by myself, although having see a few other places on the way to the bus stop it was better than others so best to do your homework in Arusha. They say they have WIFI but it only worked for about 2 mins! Food was very basic and hit and miss - dinner very average and breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: The higher the better for security reasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishO1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Tourist Inn

Property: Arusha Tourist Inn
Address: P.O. Box 1530, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Arusha Tourist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arusha Tourist Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing