We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to paradise...”
Review of Kiboko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kiboko Lodge
Ranked #2 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close to paradise...”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Kiboko Lodge is little more then one hour drive from Arusha and can only be reached after a 30 minutes drive on a bumpy road (even with a taxi in dry season). After a welcome drink close to the fireplace, you can take a warm shower in the cosy lodges with the sound of frogs on the background. After the meal service, you are invited to admire the sky with diamants and to sing the national "Jambo, habari yako" song with the staff. In the morning while you enjoy breakfast, you can see the birds playing above the swamp. It's close to paradise and also to the beautiful Arusha National Parc!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cousie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    51
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
69
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Karibu - or a warm welcome of the friendly staff - when you arrive Kiboko lodge after a 7km bumpy road. A tranquile lodge in a tropical garden in a swamp with cosy rooms, soft beds and good shower. Excellent diner in the open restaurant with fireplace, afterwards songs from the staff (former street children wich were excellently trained for the job) at the firepot in a seperate space above the swamp, delicious breakfast in a separate open house with a splendid view on the swamp and it's birds. One night was too short for this delicious and warm place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schilde
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this lodge which is set up by a foundation supporting street children. The special thing is, it is ran by former street children who got their life back together. The people working there are very kind and helpful and serve good meals. The lodge itself is situated at the end of a 7km bumpy road but once you get there it is all wortwhile as it is situated in beautiful natural surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

It is a 7km bumpy road up the mountain to reach this lodge, but once you enter the property you find yourself in a tranquile tropical garden. The staff of this lodge is very welcoming and friendly. At night we had a beautiful dinner under the stars, warmed by fire pots. It was a pity we only stayed one night, because this lodge is truly a hidden gem offering great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 162MvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beira, Mozambique
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

After travelling 9 days through Uganda a calm and pleasant start in Kiboko Lodge in Arusha. We loved our time there. The village walk was very special and the food and service amazing. So warm and welcome we felt and how sweet all staff was with my 2 year old.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

after a busy and tired flight we arrived at the wonderful lodge, the scenery was so relaxing, you only heard the multiple sounds of hundred of birds, the service was excellent and warm hearted and the food and the night sleep was very good

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikSteevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hidden from view of the main road is a wonderful little lodge called Kiboko Lodge. The hippo after which it was named has left the property because his watering hole dried up. Marsh grasses have taken over. Now it is a wonderful bird sanctuary! So our disappointment over not seeing the hippo was replaced by all the amazing birds! Kiboko is a great "get away" destination. It is peaceful and cozy. The staff is attentive. And the evening meal was superb! Our only complaint is the signage could be better. But then again finding it could be your "little secret!"

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 166 in Arusha
721 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
0.0 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiboko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiboko Lodge

Property: Kiboko Lodge
Address: Ngurdoto Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiboko Lodge is part of the Watoto Foundation, founded by former retail director Noud and Truus van Hout from The Netherlands. The foundation works to educate street children in Tanzania since 2003. Watoto Foundation is a vocational training centre. Children who suffer from addiction to drugs, glue and alcohol are given the opportunity to build a new life. The Foundation offers them the chance for an education, which will equip them with the necessary skills to find a job. This is unique in a country where 70% of the population are unemployed. Staying at Kiboko Lodge is possible from $83 per person during high season and $73 per person in low season! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing