We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect start to our safari adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangazi House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shangazi House
Ranked #37 of 98 Arusha B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect start to our safari adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

At the beginning of our wonderful safari adventure with George Mavroudis Safaris, we recently stayed at Shangazi house for a few days after a series of long flights from the USA and we were delighted with all aspects of the beauty, comfort and service. The grounds are pristine and lush and hide the few tucked in luxury cottages that have all the important comforts and amenities. Mario the friendly pet warthog is a must see while wandering the spacious areas between the cottages and the common area. The food was diverse and delicious at all meals and the service from Festo, Maria and the crew made us feel like part of the Shangazi house family. We highly recommend Shangazi house to fellow travelers as a perfect way to begin or end a Tanzania safari adventure or to just chill while exploring this great area in Africa.

Room Tip: We went with two other couples and all of the cottages are similar and great and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed at this little gem of a place on my first & last nights in Tanzania. It's convenient for Kilimanjaro airport and is set among some stunning gardens - very relaxing place.

The service was great, no fuss but everything done with style and elegance. The food was 'yummy' - some of the best I ate during the whole trip and the portions were big as well.

The main house is full of interesting pictures & artifacts and the cottages great for a peaceful nights sleep.

Happy travels
Peter

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at Shangazi house after landing in Arusha, before heading onto safari the next day. It was just what we needed after 20 hours of air travel. So relaxing to arrive to cocktails by the fire and a delicious dinner. Dark when we arrived, we awoke to fresh coffee and the wonderful surprise of beautiful gardens around the cottage and property. So peaceful and relaxing you would never realize how close you are to the airports, etc.
We also did a day room in the main house before flying back. It was great to relax, refresh and get in a good meal before starting the trek home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TifsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed at Shangazi house while visiting Tanzania with family during the summer of 2012 and could not have been more pleased. The property is convenient to downtown Arusha and both airports but is extremely peaceful at the same time. There is a main house with a huge terrace, swimming pool, lounge area, and dining room where meals are served (I highly recommend the lasagna!) There are a few guestrooms in the main house, and more guestrooms in the outlying cottages. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed. I would not stay anywhere else in Arusha!

Room Tip: Request a cottage if you prefer privacy, or the main house if you prefer convenience- both are lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marybethcary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I was exhausted and Shangazi House was the answer to my prayers. After 19 long hours of air travel from Washington DC to Arusha Tanzania I needed a rest before beginning two weeks of touring Tanzania's "northern circuit". I was picked up by my guide at Kilimanjaro International Airport and taken to nearby Shangazi House -- a secluded colonial style lodge with four outlying cottages on ten acres of huge quiet trees and beautiful gardens in the foothills of Mount Meru. In the lodge I was greeted with warm hospitality, drinks before an open fire place, and a lovely dinner and lively conversation. What followed was a solid night's sleep in an exquisite, tastefully decorated cottage, with a firm comfortable bed and plenty of hot water. Perfect. My tour ended like it began with unequaled quality. My first night was at Shangazi House and my last was at Singita Grumeti -- number 1 in Travel & Leisure Magazine's 2011 and 2012 ratings. I've traveled often to Tanzania. For me Shangazi House is number 1 for stopovers and for touring the nearby Mount Mero National Park.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHDugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Me and my family stayed at Shangazi house for three nights in July 2012. This beautiful guest house, only 20 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro Airport and only 10 minutes drive from Arusha NP, welcomed us with opened arms and we felt part of the family from day one. There is nothing about Shangazi that we wouldnt recommend, everything was perfect. The food has to be mentioned as it was better then any other 5 star resturant that we ever been to. Everything was homemade and all the salads and herbs was taken from the very well looked after garden every morning. With sadness we had to leave this place but we all know that we will be back one day. Many thanks to the Shangazi Team!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beatrice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We felt like we stayed at someone's private, wonderfully decorated home. Beautiful local artwork, fantastic gardens, excellent service and such a peaceful environment. We wish we could have stayed for more than one night. The kids enjoyed the family pet warthog.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie_clb_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 148 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zawadi House Lodge
Zawadi House Lodge
#6 of 98 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangazi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangazi House

Property: Shangazi House
Address: Momella Road, Plot #166 | Ngongonare, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing