We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply very nice”
Review of Caanan Hotel

Caanan Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caanan Hotel
Ranked #74 of 140 Arusha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2011

At the end of our tour it was good to relax in the evening in this nice hotel. The surrounding area may be not very safe, but the hotel itself is very safe and guarded. Our room was clean and quiet. Ok, some problem with the lock at the door's room but after 2 minutes, the staff helped (very nice and polite) to sort out the problem. The food in the restaurant is good, with some local and international food. Internet was very fast (I couldn't believe after the previous experiences in other places in East Africa) and a big thank you goes to the manager for sending all our postcards! (we had to leave by bus the day after..)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inabigcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2010

Caanan is relatively new and as a result is in great condition. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well-finished and the showers are a real treat after a week of camping.

Do order your dinner in advance of going to the restaurant though, everything takes a while to prepare.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The Caanan Hotel is a great choice for budget travellers who need to stay for more than just one night and yet want more than just a backpackers' dorm. The Hotel is well situated in a calm backstreet of the popular Mianzini neighborhood, only 100m off the Arusha-Moshi Road and a 5min Daladala ride from the AICC (Arusha International Conference Center, which houses the Rwanda Tribunal, the East African Community and other international institutions).
As in all Tanzanian budget hotels, the breakfast is extremely spartanic, but free. There is simple yet enjoyable food for dinner, but you might have to wait up to an hour for it after ordering. The staff are very friendly and comparatively discreet, and the rooms are kept clean. At most times of the evening there is warm water.
The biggest plus for people with laptops/smartphones is the fact that this hotel offers free wifi, a rarity in town, and it works quite regularly, albeit slowly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rogermcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmar2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
631 reviews
11.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
4.7 mi away
Christina House
Christina House
#7 of 140 in Arusha
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 45 in Arusha
108 reviews
54.7 mi away
Fun and Lovely Tanzanian Family
3.6 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caanan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caanan Hotel

Address: Arusha - Moshi Road | Mianzini, Arusha 16547, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing