We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic middle-eastern food and setting”
Review of Damascus

Damascus
Ranked #63 of 109 Restaurants in Arusha
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Damascus is a great meeting place with tasty food in Tapas & Meze style, great cocktails and relaxing shisha. Chill out in our shisha lounge with your fiends, bring a book to our book exchange and enjoy our garden while reading or come to start your night out with a colorful and delicious cocktail. We also cater for bigger groups and parties, do deliveries/catering and organize lunchboxes for your safari or day out. Contact us for more information or visit or website! Karibu Sana!
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic middle-eastern food and setting”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I'm always dubious about ordering hummus and falafel after spending two weeks in Israel. It's just hard to repeat, especially in a country where the olive oil is so-so and tahini is almost non-existent. Enter Damascus, which surprised and delighted me.

I've been back about 5 times, each time trying new things (mostly sticking to the mid-east influenced food). The falafel is wonderful, the hummus is decent, but most importantly try the mango and bean salad, something called the "Sudanese Fuul", and other simply but well prepared dishes.

The atmosphere and setting are perfect, giving you space to lounge around under awnings with a perfect view of the sky and moon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorisTzinfobureau, Owner at Damascus, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Salutations Josh D, and thank you for your review, it is pleasantly rewarding to hear that you have enjoyed your time spent at Damascus Tapas & Meze, and the meals have been to your satisfaction as well. We are happy of our Team here at Damascus who go to great lengths to ensure you and other guests go away happy, full and smiling. The Kitchen Crew have worked extremely hard at being able to produce authentic Middle Eastern & Spanish tastes, their ability to make Tanzania' local produce as tasteful as they do has been refreshing to us all.
Should you have the chance to visit Damascus again we only hope that our service and quality of meals meets and possibly exceeds your last experience here.

Thank you to Damascus & Bed'ou'Inn Team for making Josh D and all our guests times here as satisfactory as they have said...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An oasis in Arusha”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have had the extreme pleasure of spending the last month at Bed Ou'Inn and eating every day at the restaurant, Damascus. Having eaten almost everything on the menu I can attest to it's superb quality, variety and freshness. There are dishes from all over the Mid East & Africa and each one is more delicious than the previous.

Boris & Linda are wonderful hosts. They've created a uniquely relaxing vibe and their calming, yet efficient, energy is felt throughout.

I absolutely LOVE it here and I assure you will too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda J, Owner at Damascus, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you Jerry! We have really enjoyed your company this passed month and every happy guest makes it worth while. We are always working with our staff to improve our services and it makes us very happy that we have managed to give you the feeling of being welcome and at home. This is what we strive for, you should come to Damascus and BedouInn to relax and de-stress, have hearty fresh food and even better cocktails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We came here by chance to get away from the horrible food at our hotel and were pleasantly surprised. The food was great and we had a long talk with the very friendly manager of the place, Linda. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting Arusha who wants to eat good meze style food.
Tack Linda för att vi fick en mycket trevlig kväll i Arusa!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CriMa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda J, Owner at Damascus, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you! It was great to meet you both and we are so happy you enjoyed your night with us. I hope you enjoyed your last week in Zanzibar. All the best to you and hope to see you next time in Tanzania ;) Och det är alltid härligt att träffa svenskar på resa! Ha de fint! /Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing middle eastern food!”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

It took a bit of time to find (the restaurant has moved from Simeon rd to another location - check their website) but so worth it.

Fantastic middle eastern food - beautiful dips, pita bread and North African dishes. Very highly recommended.

The setting is somewhat strange - it is in a backyard in a residential area in Arusha with no sign on the front gate - but worth the effort.

Helpful?
Thank Asubterranean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorisTzinfobureau, Owner at Damascus, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hey There Asubterranean,

Thank you for coming to visit Damascus, and it is very refreshing to know that you enjoyed your meal with us... Yes we have moved from Simeon Road and now in the AICC Quarters.

Damascus has also added a new section of Operations being "Bed ou Inn" Bed & Breakfast in with which both Bed ou Inn and Damascus are now on the same property. We will have signage up soon as we were awaiting the relevant permissions to be able to put them up.

Anyone looking to come and dine with us, please look at our website and also we have positioned ourselves on google maps as well..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Went here for dinner and some sheesha with a few friends and we loved it. Comfy sofa's, good food and it was nice and quiet. Staff were fine and the sheesha was good even though they were out of a lot of flavours. Will definitely be heading there again soon.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmealia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Damascus also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Damascus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing