We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, fantastic staff and beautiful property.”
Review of Legendary Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Legendary Lodge
Ranked #10 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

For anyone starting off a Safari or returning from one, Legendary lodge offers a seamless bled of great food, beautiful accommodations and attentive service. We stayed there on the way into the circuit and they revived us after a long day of travelling. The beautiful rooms and grounds provide a wonderfully serene atmosphere and the food is excellent.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
Thank Ricus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Legendary Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

After the hustle and bustle of airports and customs officials - what an oasis this Lodge is, set in a wonderful garden. The rooms are spacious comfortable and very well appointed. The food is excellent and the staff and management are very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. A perfect place to wind down before a safari or relax before the journey home. Definately worth spending at least two nights to be able to appreciate and soak up the atmosphere. Thanks to Russel and Florida for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Loved this property - it's a little heven in the middle of a busy city. It feels like you in the middle of nowhere but you right next to town.
Big / Stunning rooms with great staff and good food!!! Beautiful gardens
Wish I could stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole-andBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

What a perfect place to unwind before and after a hectic safari. Even though we only got in after 12pm after a long and tiring trip from London Russel, the General Manager, was there to meet us and settle us in. And that set the tone for the rest of our stay, nothing was too much trouble for the really friendly and helpful staff. The cottage rooms are large, superbly furnished and equipped, and set in acres of beautiful gardens swarming with birdlife. The main lodge is the converted farmhouse and and immediately feels like home, comfortable, welcoming and again beautifully furnished. The food was the best we had on a long top end safari, as good as most top end UK restaurants. The price includes everything except spa treatments, and is genuinely inclusive, food, drinks, laundry, excellent Wifi in the cottages and lodge. Russel and Florida are wonderful hosts and really do make you feel at home. Our schedule meant that we spent 2 nights on the way in and one on the way out and both stays were up there with the best of our experiences out on safari. Having that extra time really enabled us to enjoy the Legendary Lodge experience so much more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oomdavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We landed at Kilimanjaro airport about 8:30. It is about an hour to Arusha and the Lodge.
Upon arrival we were greeted by staff and directed into the living room area for a cocktail. As we were tired and hungry we opted, instead, for dinner. They prepared a great dinner for the four of us. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the layout is well thought out for convenience and comfort.
In the morning they prepared a good breakfast and we left for the airport wishing we might have had more time there to see the coffee plantation and maybe some of the local points of interest. But we were off for a flight to Ngorongoro Crater Lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms are all conveniently located near the main lodge. There may be a pool but I didn't see...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Great place to start your safari trip, came with my family, after a long night flight this was the perfect place to chill and relax before the exitment of week safari.
Safe for children to run around in amazing grounds, welcome family hospitality , amazing rooms,
Connecting cottage made it great to have couple privacy at night.
Great service, great food very recommended.
Country club next door free use of huge pool and tennis courts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IssyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

If you're looking for a pre or post safari stay, in Arusha, THIS IS IT. The accommodations are splendid, small boutique, clean. The food is to die for, the staff wonderfully accommodating and genuinely friendly and welcoming. It's about an hour from Kili Airport, but well worth the short drive. As a travel agent, I've stayed at and booked most of the pre and post safari stays in the past, at most of the different properties, and without hesitation I will continue to use this property if it fits within my guest's budget. It is comparable to many other properties, but you get so much more, it is all inclusive, you have a mini-bar in your room. Want to dine in your room? Not a problem, the staff will accommodate you. Want your laundry done? No problem you'll most likely get it back the same day, weather permitting. Florida, who is the Manager and Russel who is the General Manager will assure you have the most pleasant stay at their property, they don't just check you in and forget you're there. Not at this property. Everything is informal, You're one of the family!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same so location doesn't really matter. If you can't walk distances, then...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
4.7 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
592 reviews
15.6 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
462 reviews
4.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
451 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 176 in Arusha
757 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lake Duluti Lodge
Lake Duluti Lodge
#17 of 176 in Arusha
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legendary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legendary Lodge

Address: Nairobi Road | Selian Coffee Estate, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Legendary Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing