We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have a personal investment in your satisfaction!”

Bright African Safaris
Ranked #13 of 300 Outdoor Activities in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: BRIGHT AFRICAN SAFARIS. We are local Tanzanian Tour Operator selling tailor made safaris within east African countries - Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda. We offer the following Services:- Budget camping Safaris, Standard lodge/tented camps safaris, Cultural Tours, Canoeing, walking safaris, Beach holiday, Hot air balloon Safaris, Camel Ride, Cycling/Biking safaris and Kilimanjaro Trek. We are well experienced and cooperate to our guests to arrange their holiday. We are patient and attentive to all your requests. We concentrate on every individual requests and work closer with you to finalize your program. Our range of services is wide, from budget to luxury. "Let Bright African Safaris rhythms make your Africa vacation dreams come true"..
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“They have a personal investment in your satisfaction!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After contacting 6-7 different safari tour companies with our desired 6 day safari plan, we picked Bright African Safaris because they thought of a couple of things the others hadn't. For starters, all emails back and forth with Mr. Msangi were prompt, courteous, and had sufficient detail to convince us that his company knew what they were doing. He also factored in a rest day back in Arusha after the safari, based on our flight timings, which is something the other companies had neglected to do, with some others having us rush to the airport right after a game-drive. We also learned that the company is owned and operated by Msangi, and that we weren't talking with an agent. This was important to us, because we like to support individual hospitality enterprises in our travels, rather than the giant chains and tour operations.

In the pre-safari briefing, it became clear to us that Msangi was genuinely invested in us coming back from safari with big smiles on our faces, and that we should enjoy what his country has to offer without being harangued, nor with any logistical stresses.

And now for our guide, Othman. A safari driver/guide effectively becomes a part of one's family when on safari for several days at a time. He is just as happy spotting animals as you are.... and he's done this for several years now both in Tanzania and Kenya. Othman is a seasoned professional - punctual, efficient, ever-smiling, warm, unintrusive, helpful, friendly and a very, very safe, calm driver to boot. We have been backpacking for 4 months, and didn't carry binoculars with us. Othman brought along a pair of really good ones for us to use, which was invaluable.

Bright African and Msangi did seem like they took care of a few extra details that made us seem like we were a bit more special than the other tour companies. A tablecloth for picnic lunches, the special (and quite elegant) 'tea/coffee basket', etc. all made us look a little nicer than the other safari companies that were having their lunch around us.

As far as animal sightings are concerned, we saw everything. The Big 5, a cheetah, racing herds of wildebeest, giraffes galore, zebra everywhere, hyenas, jackals, etc. etc. Othman's guidance was exceptional here.

To other potential safari-goers: A guide can only do so much, but it's all up to nature and weather to decide what you will see. Any safari company that gives you assurances (or guarantees) that you will see say, rhinos up close and personal with them, are giving you false hope and may be more in it for your money. I liked how Bright African's briefings set the right expectation in our minds.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank ChangingRainbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Bright African Safaris, Arusha, Arusha Region, Tanzania


On our recent visit to Tanzania we spent 2 weeks (Feb 2-15, 2014) with Bright African Safaris. Following a personal recommendation, we contacted Msangi, the owner of the business via email, and over the course of a number of emails, together worked out our final itinerary which included safari/game viewing in addition to some cultural activities that were of interest to us. Msangi was easy to deal with, anxious to provide a memorable trip and interested in our post-trip feedback. Our driver/guide, Athuman, was an excellent and safe driver. He was very knowledgeable about the wildlife and had a number of field guides if any clarification was needed. He had good English and was very kind and considerate. He was an excellent spotter and allowed time at each sighting for us to enjoy watching and photographing the wildlife. Our safari vehicle, a Toyota Land Cruiser, was well maintained and radio equipped, which increased our chance of sightings. We saw a total of 31 different mammals (mostly in herds!) including all of the "big 5" and at least 76 different birds. Our accommodation consisted of lodges, permanent and temporary tented camps which were always clean, well maintained and with good food. We had a fantastic time, thanks in large part to our choice of Bright African Safaris. With over 600 safari companies in Arusha it's hard to find the good ones! We would highly recommend Bright African Safaris for your "safari trip of a lifetime"! :)) Ernie and Jean P

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernie and Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional safari trip!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We went on safari with Bright African Safaris for four days at the end of February 2014 and I would highly recommend using the company.

We were fairly specific about our travel arrangements before we started looking at safari providers, so we contacted four different operators, two of which were through personal recommendations, to find out some more information. Bright African Safaris wasn’t a personal recommendation, but I had seen their excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, so thought they would be well worth contacting.

I was immediately impressed with Bright’s quick and cheery responses from Msangi (the owner of the business) and I was attracted to the local and small setup of the business. Although we were quite sure about some things we wanted to do, Msangi made sure that he advised us on things that he felt made more sense, places to stay etc. The whole time it didn’t feel like he was ‘selling’ to us, but really making sure we had a tailored exciting trip ahead of us.

There were three of us that decided on a four (and a bit) day, four night safari visiting Lake Manyara national park, the Ndutu region, Serengeti and then looping back to the Ngoro Ngoro crater. We wanted to camp for the experience of feeling very close to the wildlife, so we were staying in public campsites on the ‘budget’ option. Msangi drafted us a really detailed itinerary that made us feel really excited about the trip. Some of the other operators just didn’t seem to put the same enthusiasm and care into the planning process, so I was keen to go with Bright. Msangi was also happy going back and forwards quite a lot – I had loads of questions and he never became inpatient or distant. And although they weren’t the cheapest quote we had, they were definitely one of the most reasonable (I think the second cheapest), so it seemed like a good option for our budget.

Despite being a bit nervous about going with an operator that wasn’t a personal recommendation and having to pay a deposit (which seems to be the way with all the safari companies), I just felt happy and most positive about Bright, so we went with them and I am very pleased that we did!

We had a brilliant time on our safari with Bright African Safaris, mainly because our guide Othman was a wonderful friendly person and a truly talented and experienced safari guide. He was incredible at spotting all animals across the Serengeti landscapes – things that I would have never seen even if I was close to them! He was extremely knowledgeable about all the animals, landscapes and people that life in the region and we had some very interesting conversations about the country, culture and conservation. We were also accompanied by our cook, Jamal, who was a lovely guy and a very good chef – we were extremely well-fed throughout our trip!

Knowing that some of the animals are very rare to see – namely leopard and rhino – and that we were technically doing our trip at the beginning of the off-peak season, we weren’t hopeful about seeing everything. Having not been on safari before, we were just keen to see lions, zebra, giraffe etc. and get a great sense of the landscape and wildlife. However, we were incredibly lucky on our trip to see the ‘Big Five’, including a beautiful leopard, plus a pride of lionesses on a hunt stalking warthog just a few metres away from our car, cheetah and cubs, the wildebeest migration north to follow the rains, hundreds of wallowing hippos and a male and female lion on their ‘honeymoon period’, having a great time! Plus loads of elephants, giraffes, gazelle, baboons, beautiful birds, zebra, ostrich, jackals, hyenas… the list goes on and on. All of the animals were pretty close to the vehicle as well, and Othman was extremely good at manoeuvring the vehicle to the right place for a good view whilst ensuring that the animals were not disturbed (in actual fact none of the animals seemed to care at all that there was a car around – they are used to the vehicles and don’t really pay a blind bit of notice!) The only animal we saw that was a bit far away was the rare Black Rhino, but it was incredible that we got to see this animal at all as there are only a few of these rhinos left in the Ngoro Ngoro crater, unfortunately. It was a real privilege to spot one, even at a distance.

We really couldn’t have asked for a better safari trip in terms of what we saw and the people that represented Bright. Here are a few additional highlights about the company and the trip:

• Very good recommendation of campsite for our first night – Haven Nature Reserve by Lake Manyara national park
• Excellent safari vehicles – 4x4 Land Cruiser with pop-up roof
• Binoculars and nature books in the vehicle
• Charging points in the vehicle
• Safe driving
• All the drinking water we wanted
• Excellent advice about the campsites, which made you feel safe and secure despite the presence of hyenas and buffalo in the Serengeti and Ngoro campsites!
• Non-pushy guide – i.e. Othman was very respectful of the animals and wasn’t pushy about us visiting shops at all on our trip
• Fluent English-speaking guide (he speaks French as well!) with a real passion about his job

Safe to say that we would really recommend visiting the locations we went to, as well as Tanzania as a country! For reference, we stayed at the Seronera campsite in the Serengeti and the Simba campsite at the Ngoro Ngoro crater.

It will be a difficult holiday to top and a trip I will always remember. Thank you to Othman, Jamal and Msangi for our wonderful trip!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor City, New Jersey
1 review
“awesome”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

These people are the best and care about a quality experience in Tanzania and Kenya. They showed tremendous hospitality and gave us a great experience through Tarangire, Ngorogoro, Serengeti, Embakai crater hike, (and virtually everything in between).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Honeymoon”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We have been on a 10 day Safari with Bright African Safaris in August / September 2013 and experienced an extraordinary time.
When we started researching Safari companies (and there a hundreds of global and local tour operators), our aim was to find an good, reliable and not too expensive LOCAL operator. After an extensive research we came across Bright African Safaris (and the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor) and got into contact with Msangi (the Manager). He was very helpful, sent us various options for accommodations, gave advise for the different national parks, always replied on our emails within one day and was extremely patient with our modification requests. At the end we have put together a great itinerary for our Honeymoon Safari.
On the first day of our Safari our guide Orthman picked us up from our lodge and we started our Safari with a short visit at the Bright African Safari office where we got to know Msangi and his colleagues. He explained the itinerary, gave us some additional advises and encouraged to ask any questions we might have. It was really nice to get to know him in person. We again visited him at the end of our Safari where he was really keen to receive our feedback and suggestions for improvement – frankly there were none really.
Our guide Orthman is a good-hearted, open-minded and professional person. He educated us a lot on him, his life in Tanzania, the culture, the animals. We have enjoyed the trip with him and had a lot of fun. He is a very save driver (which is important – as it`s not much fun changing a burst tyre in the middle of a national park surrounded by wild animals ;-) and has spotted many animals (like lions and chitas) which we wouldn’t have spotted by ourselves. Therefore, we would really like to thank Orthman for this terrific trip!
During our Safari we have visited 5 National Parks (Arusha, Tarangire National Park – if you love elephants, then you definitely have to visit this National Park!!, Lake Manyara, Serengeti and the Ngorongoro Crater). We have stayed in different tented camps and lodges which have all been very good (very clean, nice views – the view from the Tarangire Safari Lodge is really breathtaking!!!, very good food). In general, it’s always better to stay in a camp/lodge inside a national park, so that you don’t loose too much time to get in or out of a national park, but can start your game drive just after breakfast. During our game drives we have seen thousands of animals (e.g. baby elephants playing around, lions and chitas hunting, etc.) which was an amazing and unforgettable experience.
All in all we had a wonderful Honeymoon Safari which we will always remember. Thanks a lot to Bright African Safari! Hopefully we can come back soon!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank stefan_karo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bright African Safaris also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Bright African Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing