We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, bungalow camp in a coffee plantation”
Review of Lake Duluti Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Duluti Lodge
Ranked #15 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Prior to hiking Mount Kilimanjaro, we wanted a couple of tranquil days to relax and get rid of travel woes. This was the perfect spot.
Each room is a separate bungalow with a fabulous bathroom and shower, porch, extremely comfortable bed, and great amenities.
The staff were gracious, kind and caring.
At no time were there more than four rooms occupied while we were here, so food service was highly personalised and the quality very good, although choice was limited.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are essentially identical, so just enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelBroadhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluti, General Manager at Lake Duluti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Mike

Trust this reply finds you well

This is to simply express our sincere appreciation of your decision to choose us among the rest who are also good but thank you for us being your choice.

The whole team of management and staff of Lake Duluti Lodge are still thanking for taking your valuable time to recommend us on this great TripAdvisor.

For future stay would like to assure you that we now have quite a good number of meals selection which are prepared into detail and more personalised.

Otherwise the quietness and privacy of this cosy and serene location is being maintained to make sure your dream of peace and relaxation is met.

Stay blessed and looking forward to host you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here on our first two nights in Tanzania at the start of a 10 day safari. We arrived at 10 pm so had no idea where we had arrived. We had a meal, met two other guests leaving the restaurant. We went to our bungalow, everything dark outside. I stood at the platform, all dark, looked out with a flashlight but not a lot to see.

The next morning we opened the curtains and then you understand you are right in the middle of a coffee plantation. The put in the bungalows, put in some trees but all around there are still coffe plants. And people working on the plantation as well! Nice, very nice.

We stayed there for the rest of the day, only walked to the lake. This you can’t see from the hotel. We asked how to get there and were told it was outside the gate but that they would accompany us. The owner/restaurant manager/desk manager (one person) got out a key and took us through a side gate: 3 meters high fence all around the hotel, barbed wire, electrified…
We walked for 10 minutes and came to a beautiful lake, closed local restaurant, looked around a bit and went back. If you go there, make sure you’re not just adjusting to the temperature but get a tour at the local reserve.

Overall, nice place but very isolated. Why lonely? The other guests had checked out, we were the only two left which also explains the staffing. That night two more guests and a cook arrived… Nice dinner, nice terrace, great to be in Tanzania.

When we left by car the next morning, in daylight we could see that the hotel is right on the edge of town. The road to the hotel is a local market where the difference between the hotel economic situation and the average local economic situation is shown as embarrassingly huge. Thus the fence…

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeeeBeeeBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluti, General Manager at Lake Duluti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear GeeeBeeeBeee

Trust this reply finds you well

This is to simply express our sincere appreciation of your decision to choose us among the rest who are also good but thank you for us being your choice.

The whole team of management and staff of Lake Duluti Lodge are still thanking for taking your valuable time to recommend us on this great TripAdvisor.

For future stay would like to assure you that we now have quite a good number of meals selection which are prepared into detail and more personalised.

Otherwise the quietness and privacy of this cosy and serene location is being maintained to make sure your dream of peace and relaxation is met. Actually this is what makes us different from others and are proud of.

Its true that we are located out of town of about 13kms. The lodge is situated within 30acres of active coffee farm. Apart from electrical fence, for sure we have even enhanced our security position for the comfortability of everyone around because we all differ from how we get used to a different place from where we are used to.

Due to the tall indigenous trees around which are maintained purposely so as to welcome almost 54 spicy of birds around, which is most loved by those who are interested. Although on the other side those trees have blocked some of the rooms which initially had a good view of the lake. So far we are bringing up an inside path leading down to the lake since our land touched the edge of the lake. Once this is done then we will no longer take our guests for a 3minutes walk down to the lake through our other gate.

The Tengeru local market which is almost 120 mtrs from the lodge is also one of the activities that some of our guests enjoys walking there and experience. The market is on only on Wednesday and Saturdays.

Stay blessed and looking forward to host you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at Lake Duluti lodge for two nights before beginning our safari. The cottages are beautiful and comfortable, and all the staff friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious and the service was great as well. The location was also a good base for exploring Arusha prior to traveling to the wildlife parks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familytravelers6nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here after flying for 20 hours before heading out on our Safari. It's a beautiful lodge with stylish rooms and a very well appointed and lovely bathroom. The food was very good, and the hospitality excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at this Lodge for one night en route to the Serengeti. A lovely building, very well appointed, with spacious and comfortable rooms with king size beds. The bathroom facilities are wonderful. The staff was friendly and courteous at all times - making sure that your every need was attended to without delay. The food was out of this world, and I would not hesitate to recommend Lake Duluti Lodge to anybody who is visiting Tanzania en route to the Ngorogoro Crater and the magnificent Serengeti plains.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfectly situated for great views and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynnis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. The grounds are maintained perfectly. The pool is small but pretty. The food was excellent and varied nicely. The staff are pleasant and well dressed. Some speak English fairly well. They have a good internet connection and they have tv with about 4 channels.

Room Tip: All the rooms that I saw were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesV1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Lodge is very nice but be careful of less than honest front office staff.
Examples: our Arusha airport pick up vehicle was a death trap
-vehicle which we hired to take us to the Arusha National Park did not have A/C and was very old
- on Sunday evening just before dinner the office manager came and announced that there was a mistake in booking and our rate has just doubled. We did not pay but it was not a good way to spend Sunday evening arguing with the staff
-there were three couples in our in our party. On the morning of our departure the office girls were presenting the same bar bill to each couple at the same time. Of course each couple paid and got ripped off.
- in April there was a 5% charge on credit card payments on top of terrible exchange rate
Now for the good things:
Food is good to very good
Kitchen and restaurant staff is friendly, knowledgeable and caring.
Fellow in charge of the dining room is a gem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonamejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
6 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
630 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
510 reviews
6.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
6.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#8 of 45 in Arusha
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Duluti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Lodge

Address: PO Box 12061, Arusha 0025, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 195 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: £261 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Duluti Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Duluti Lodge is a fine countryside retreat that perfectly combined an authentic African rural setting with outstanding amenities and service. The lodge is made up of 18 spacious contemporary African styled romantic chalets ideally positioned for maximum privacy inside an active coffee farm on the outskirts of Arusha. Guests can enjoy delicious, hearty meals prepared with fresh produce from the lodge's vegetable garden. Sunbeds dotted around the inviting infinity pool are perfect for a lazy afternoon. The Lakeshore Sundowner Lounge located at the edge of the shimmering lake is an idyllic spot for guests to savour refreshing drinks and light lunches. There is a lot to Experience with Lake Duluti Lodge for those guests in need of relaxation can head to the massage and Spa room for a bout of pampering or rather go for tours to coffee plantations, vegetable farms and cultural villages, hiking, bird watching, canoeing, nature walks and day trips to Mt Kilimanjaro are enough to keep the adventurous happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lake Duluti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing