We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to come back to!”
Review of Lake Duluti Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Duluti Lodge
Ranked #15 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel- it has 18 cabins, which are luxurious huts, nice furnished, in the heart of a quiet green scenery, just 150 meters from Duluti lake (it's a walking distance, and you can't see the lake from the hotel). Although the cabins are not air conditioned, they have a ceiling fan, which can be enough at night. During the day it's quiet hot in the room, but since we spent our days in 1-day Safaris, it wasn't that bad after all. The king-size beds are covered with mosquito nets all around, which are very effective. But the best asset of this hotel is its staff- starting with the manager, which is almost always available on site all day long, and up to the last gardener and maintenance guys- they're all helpful, polite and will do their utmost to assist. The restaurant is great- Niko, the chef, is a superb cook: the dinners were all delicious, European and Mediterranean-style food, with fresh vegetables they grow themselves! Good South African wine is offered. The only weak point I can write is that the room maides are sometimes sloppy- he/she made my room but forgot to take care of the bath and toilets- clean, empty the bins and fold/change towels and replenish toilet paper. Also, the lamp on the fan in the ceiling was burnt, but it wasn't changed during my stay. But if you're in the Hakuna Matata mood- so it's nothing to compare with the great feeling and peace of mind you get there. When we departed, the whole staff stood at the parking place, singed and danced a farewell to us. It was very touchy indeed! This is a place I would surely go back to, once I'm back in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glex5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Lake Duluti Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We only stayed here one night which was a shame. The welcome was wonderful and the Manager welcomed us himself. The rooms are immaculate and the bathroom, well, if you have the time to enjoy it, its amazing! We had a full 3 course dinner and cooked breakfast. both were to a very high standard. We asked to see the Lake which is a few minutes walk away. The guard will accompany you.its worth checking out, very beautiful, especially at sunrise / sunset. You cannot access it from within the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluti, General Manager at Lake Duluti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Clare

Trust this reply finds you well

This is to simply express our sincere appreciation of your decision to choose us among the rest who are also good but thank you for us being your choice.

The whole team of management and staff of Lake Duluti Lodge are still thanking for taking your valuable time to recommend us on this great TripAdvisor.

Stay blessed and looking forward to host you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The hotel was very nice, people very kind, specially Manolito. Food was excellent and the surroundings also. We'll recommend it to all spansh friends!
We visited a local family and we could see the wedding dresses, drink local beer and have a chat with them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Anonimos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluti, General Manager at Lake Duluti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Anonimos

Trust this reply finds you well

This is to simply express our sincere appreciation of your decision to choose us among the rest who are also good but thank you for us being your choice.

The whole team of management and staff of Lake Duluti Lodge are still thanking for taking your valuable time to recommend us on this great TripAdvisor.

Stay blessed and looking forward to host you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Wonderfully appointed rooms and an excellent restaurant provide and relaxing, romantic and private setting to enjoy oneself. The staff is attentive and look for opportunities to provide unexpected service. Each room is a private bungalow. The bathroom is over the top; spacious with a freestanding tub and walk through shower with abundant windows to invite in the out of doors should you wish. The bedroom is spacious, the beds comfortable complete with flat screen, tv, fireplace sofa, chair, and desk. It's a very peaceful space and place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mdohrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluti, General Manager at Lake Duluti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Mdohrh

Trust this reply finds you well

This is to simply express our sincere appreciation of your decision to choose us among the rest who are also good but thank you for us being your choice.

The whole team of management and staff of Lake Duluti Lodge are still thanking for taking your valuable time to recommend us on this great TripAdvisor.

Stay blessed and looking forward to host you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We came for dinner here, attracted by the promise of a lakeside romantic dinner. Well, apparently lakeside is not possible right now due to renovations. When we figured that no renovations were taking place we were told that this wasn't possible in the evenings. Our 'pool side' dinner booking seemed to have not made it as we were asked to wait for the table to be prepared. When asked if we wanted to eat inside or outside our 'outside' response caused some chaos as now the table needed to be moved (there was only one other couple eating). Food: soup and mains were nice, salad very small and desert awful (lipstick coloured strawberry sauce over some weird 'Swiss roll'. The coffee was poor considering it is a coffee plantation...What killed it was the rip-off exchange rate of 1700TSh/US$. We called the manager who was not particularly interested in listening but eventually adjusted it to a more normal 1650. Not a place that can compete with other offerings in the area in all setting, food & mgmt., especially for residents.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Prior to hiking Mount Kilimanjaro, we wanted a couple of tranquil days to relax and get rid of travel woes. This was the perfect spot.
Each room is a separate bungalow with a fabulous bathroom and shower, porch, extremely comfortable bed, and great amenities.
The staff were gracious, kind and caring.
At no time were there more than four rooms occupied while we were here, so food service was highly personalised and the quality very good, although choice was limited.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are essentially identical, so just enjoy
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelBroadhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluti, General Manager at Lake Duluti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Mike

Trust this reply finds you well

This is to simply express our sincere appreciation of your decision to choose us among the rest who are also good but thank you for us being your choice.

The whole team of management and staff of Lake Duluti Lodge are still thanking for taking your valuable time to recommend us on this great TripAdvisor.

For future stay would like to assure you that we now have quite a good number of meals selection which are prepared into detail and more personalised.

Otherwise the quietness and privacy of this cosy and serene location is being maintained to make sure your dream of peace and relaxation is met.

Stay blessed and looking forward to host you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here on our first two nights in Tanzania at the start of a 10 day safari. We arrived at 10 pm so had no idea where we had arrived. We had a meal, met two other guests leaving the restaurant. We went to our bungalow, everything dark outside. I stood at the platform, all dark, looked out with a flashlight but not a lot to see.

The next morning we opened the curtains and then you understand you are right in the middle of a coffee plantation. The put in the bungalows, put in some trees but all around there are still coffe plants. And people working on the plantation as well! Nice, very nice.

We stayed there for the rest of the day, only walked to the lake. This you can’t see from the hotel. We asked how to get there and were told it was outside the gate but that they would accompany us. The owner/restaurant manager/desk manager (one person) got out a key and took us through a side gate: 3 meters high fence all around the hotel, barbed wire, electrified…
We walked for 10 minutes and came to a beautiful lake, closed local restaurant, looked around a bit and went back. If you go there, make sure you’re not just adjusting to the temperature but get a tour at the local reserve.

Overall, nice place but very isolated. Why lonely? The other guests had checked out, we were the only two left which also explains the staffing. That night two more guests and a cook arrived… Nice dinner, nice terrace, great to be in Tanzania.

When we left by car the next morning, in daylight we could see that the hotel is right on the edge of town. The road to the hotel is a local market where the difference between the hotel economic situation and the average local economic situation is shown as embarrassingly huge. Thus the fence…

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeeeBeeeBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluti, General Manager at Lake Duluti Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear GeeeBeeeBeee

Trust this reply finds you well

This is to simply express our sincere appreciation of your decision to choose us among the rest who are also good but thank you for us being your choice.

The whole team of management and staff of Lake Duluti Lodge are still thanking for taking your valuable time to recommend us on this great TripAdvisor.

For future stay would like to assure you that we now have quite a good number of meals selection which are prepared into detail and more personalised.

Otherwise the quietness and privacy of this cosy and serene location is being maintained to make sure your dream of peace and relaxation is met. Actually this is what makes us different from others and are proud of.

Its true that we are located out of town of about 13kms. The lodge is situated within 30acres of active coffee farm. Apart from electrical fence, for sure we have even enhanced our security position for the comfortability of everyone around because we all differ from how we get used to a different place from where we are used to.

Due to the tall indigenous trees around which are maintained purposely so as to welcome almost 54 spicy of birds around, which is most loved by those who are interested. Although on the other side those trees have blocked some of the rooms which initially had a good view of the lake. So far we are bringing up an inside path leading down to the lake since our land touched the edge of the lake. Once this is done then we will no longer take our guests for a 3minutes walk down to the lake through our other gate.

The Tengeru local market which is almost 120 mtrs from the lodge is also one of the activities that some of our guests enjoys walking there and experience. The market is on only on Wednesday and Saturdays.

Stay blessed and looking forward to host you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5.2 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
462 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
591 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
983 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
451 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Duluti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Lodge

Address: PO Box 12061, Arusha 0025, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: £195 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Duluti Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Duluti Lodge is a fine countryside retreat that perfectly combined an authentic African rural setting with outstanding amenities and service. The lodge is made up of 18 spacious contemporary African styled romantic chalets ideally positioned for maximum privacy inside an active coffee farm on the outskirts of Arusha. Guests can enjoy delicious, hearty meals prepared with fresh produce from the lodge's vegetable garden. Sunbeds dotted around the inviting infinity pool are perfect for a lazy afternoon. The Lakeshore Sundowner Lounge located at the edge of the shimmering lake is an idyllic spot for guests to savour refreshing drinks and light lunches. There is a lot to Experience with Lake Duluti Lodge for those guests in need of relaxation can head to the massage and Spa room for a bout of pampering or rather go for tours to coffee plantations, vegetable farms and cultural villages, hiking, bird watching, canoeing, nature walks and day trips to Mt Kilimanjaro are enough to keep the adventurous happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Lake Duluti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing