We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arusha Planet Lodge
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for a night each before our Kili climb, after the climb and after our safari. It was a perfect place to prep for the climb and recover once it was done. The staff was helpful and professional and the food was quite good. It's a bit of a distance from the center of town, but they do have a shuttle service available. The rooms were clean, large and each room had a private patio.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrndu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here for one night in August 2013 on the last leg of our trip to Tanzania. My girls immediately discovered the play area beyond the swimming pool and loved it! The trampoline was such a hit that even the adults had to (illegally) join in.

Rooms were basic but clean, the garden areas were well maintained, and the service was good. Food:A good ala carte range, and the staff were happy to accommodate specific requests. No complaints at end.

Location: at 5km away from Arusha town, it is OK for a one night quiet stop over.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool, away from the main road, or you'll hear early morning traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhru16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Dhru16,

Thank you for telling others about us. We are delighted to know your girls discovered the play area beyond the swimming pool and loved it! Yes, the trampoline is always a hit and we have witnessed quite few adults (illegally) join in (-: I am glad we made your last day in Tanzania a fun one. Asante!

Best regards,
Eva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

After spending one night at another hotel in Arusha I came here and was pleasantly surprised.

After a warm welcome from the staff, seeing the king size bed was a real bonus. The grounds and pool looked great - I just didn't get to use them unfortunately.

Toiletries were provided in the bathroom, the shower not the best - but not the worst either, just really fiddly.

Restaurant staff were attentive and the reception team were great in helping me out with onward travel and provided me with a breakfast box as I had to leave early - and it was not at all an issue for them.

A note - this lodging is several kilometers out of town - about US$8 by taxi, but it's worth travelling the distance. I just wish I had stayed here the other night as well!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed here in one-half of a round bungalow building and my 2 travel companions stayed in the other half. The building we stayed in prior to out safari (with Good Earth) seemed a little bigger than the one we were in after our stay. Both were quite comfortable, though my room was a little cold (in August) and there was no heater. I used the comforter from the 2nd bed in addition to my own. The staff was pleasant. The food was good (we especially liked the curry lentil). The hotel did seem to be an oasis, with walls around the grounds and a security guard and gate. The pool area and the common area with the terracotta fireplace were both lovely and comfortable. The grounds were well-maintained. We felt safe at this hotel. They had wifi if you were in or near the lobby and a couple of computers in the lobby that you could connect with.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great place to stay. We loved the accommodations, the staff very extremely friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable, and the food was great! They even have free shuttles to take you downtown if you need it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for the great feedback! There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us. I am glad to see you found "the staff very extremely friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable, and the food was great."

Yes, the free shuttle is very popular with clients staying with us for a couple of nights - making it convenient for them to spend time in Arusha as needed. Asante and we look forward to seeing you again at Planet Lodge!

Best regards,
Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Planet Lodge is something of an oasis in Arusha - the lovely grounds and quirky little bungalow rooms come as a pleasant surprise after a bumpy, dusty taxi ride through the outskirts of the city. The staff were all welcoming and helpful. The rooms are all in small bungalows, with 2 separate rooms in each bungalow. This does mean that if your neighbours are noisy, you get to hear it, but that's the same in most hotels wherever you are! The rooms are basic, but ok. Bathrooms are a bit 'rustic', so don't expect The Ritz, but again they're ok. I'll be charitable and call the mattress 'firm' - a very personal preference, but much too hard for my liking. Evening meal is a local buffet - a pretty limited selection of hot dishes, but all very tasty and as much as you can eat. Free wifi is available in the main reception area and you can enjoy a drink outside in a lovely little garden area by the outside bar. Overall - a good value hotel for those who need to use Arusha but don't demand typical western luxury.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are proud to know you thought that "Planet Lodge is something of an oasis in Arusha... the staff were all welcoming and helpful." We are all happy to see that our lodge and staff met all your needs during your stay. Likewise, the feedback on the bathrooms is well taken as we continue to improve the rooms and services.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Warm regards,
Eva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

There are lots of great things about Planet Lodge - the rooms are great, the staff are friendly and the setting is beautiful. At the same time there are things we didn't enjoy - the mistakes (they forgot my wifes main both times we ate, they lost luggage for a few hours), the sleepless nights due to work going on, the location was a bit far out of town. It was a good place to stay to bookend our honeymoon, but it was not as amazing as some of the reviewers had led us to believe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 45 in Arusha
646 reviews
3.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,079 reviews
4.3 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
527 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
3.1 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 45 in Arusha
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Planet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Planet Lodge

Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range: £61 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arusha Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arusha Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing