We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a stopover”
Review of Planet Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planet Lodge
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fine for a stopover”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Decent, comfortable hotel and the price is right. Service is a mix - some employees going out of their way to make you comfortable, while others appear uninterested. Restaurant is decent. However, my main criticism would be that the whole place lacks a little character - perhaps this will develop over time though. Certainly a fine choice for a stopover in Arusha

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Sacha K,

I am glad you concluded that Planet Lodge is "a fine choice for a stopover in Arusha." As you might agree, perception of character is not universal because most of our customers have complemented the decor, gardens, staff and overall ambiance of the lodge. We have never received a customer complaint about it... We thank you for choosing to stay with us and wish you a Happy Holiday season.

Warm regards,
Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    205
    46
    7
    1
See reviews for
74
187
37
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for two evenings (before and after a Kili hike) and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. As noted by other reviewers, the rooms are located in yurt style houses (4 rooms per house) but they are modern, solid and very clean. The "walled" grounds are spacious and peaceful and the main reception and restaurant have a contemporary yet inviting feel. There is free wifi and some of the units have televisions. The location, however, may be an issue for some people. The lodge is located outside of Arusha so if you want to go into town, you would need to hire a taxi for about 7 USD one way. We took advantage of the laundry service following our return from a 7 day hike of Kilimanjaro and found the prices were quite high. The meals were very good however and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here one night upon arrival and then after climbing Mount Meru (the mountain in the background of most of the pictures of Planet Lodge) and we were very happy with our stay. The rooms remind me of a yurt or bungalo sort of construction, but are much more solid. Nice big bed, mosquito net (we certainly didnt need during our visit), secure location, etc. All positives. As we traveled in from Kilimanjaro Airport, it was like going from night to day. Lots of dusty roads, busy streets, and lower level housing and then suddenly you go through the gate to Planet Lodge and boom! Clean, secure, open, friendly staff, good atmosphere. The hot water for the showers is controlled from within the room so you have to turn it on for 10-15 minutes before your shower. As long as you wait, plenty of hot water. As another reviewer mentioned, that post-climb shower is so thoroughly appreciated. Free wifi was a bonus since it was nice to check in and let people at home know we made it and then later it would be a good way to check in for a flight if you needed to. One note that service and explanations seemed a little slow, but that may just have been that we needed to slow down from being used to living in the New York City area. I didn't notice it when we came back after our trek up Meru! Thumbs up all around to Planet Lodge as a launchpad for Tanzania!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here at the end of a Kilimanjaro climb, so the showers will always remain a memory!! Nice semi-detatched lodges in style of round huts in nice gardens on the edge of the town. Spacious reception and dining building in which to relax with pleasant garden. Food of decent quality. Overall a good value and pleasant stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hattamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in Planet Lodge for 4 nights in September and really enjoyed our time there. The rooms are spotless & spacious with comfy beds, and the whole atmosphere is very relaxing. The staff are very helpful & attentive. Would recommend a stay here before or after safari's or Kili!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJRethabile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Bright African Safari set up our entire trip and Planet Lodge was our 1st stop upon our arrival in Tanzania. We were greated with such genuine kindness and received a welcome drink and towel while we checked in. The grounds were secure and our room was quite spacious and clean. We had an excellent dinner (the pasta was homemade and outstanding) and breakfast was equally as delicious. I would hightly recommend this property - everyone at the Lodge was so gracious and willing to help to make our stay as enjoyable as possible

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Kathy B,

We want to give you a tremendous thank you for staying with us and for the great review! It sounds like you enjoyed the complimentary welcome drink, our friendly team, the pasta for dinner and your breakfast. I am glad you noticed the grounds were secure and the room to be clean and spacious.. We hope to see you with us again soon.

All my best!

~Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Bright African Safari set up our arrangements to stay at Planet Lodge and we were so happy with our experience there. The cottages were spacious and clean, landscaping beautiful, plenty of hot water and all in a safe and secure setting. We did not meet one person who was not cheerful 100% of the time. The people at the desk, the chef, the wait staff, housekeeping . . . all very special. I would not hesitate to stay there.

Room Tip: Even though all rooms were great, the best ones were closest to the resturant and reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Planet Lodge, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Jill H & Kathy B,

Wow, you hit all the hot spots for Planet Lodge! Spacious and clean cottages, beautiful landscaping, plenty of hot water, a good team and all in a safe and secure setting. We work hard on finding staff who match the Lodge atmosphere, look and feel. I am glad you met them and felt cared for 100% of the time. We hope you will come back soon and see us.

Asante sana!

~Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 41 in Arusha
914 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 41 in Arusha
550 reviews
8.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 41 in Arusha
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 41 in Arusha
60 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 41 in Arusha
87 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 41 in Arusha
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Lodge

Property: Planet Lodge
Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing