We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay just outside of Arusha!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arusha Planet Lodge
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at Planet Lodge in between a safari and Mount Kilimanjaro adventure. The hotel is slightly outside of Arusha on a nice expanse of land which makes you feel as though you are still in Tanzania, compared to a high-rise hotel. The staff is extremely helpful with a sincere desire to make you feel comfortable and happy throughout your stay. They will safety store extra bags (we left a small duffel bag while we were climbing the mountain). They will also provide complimentary rides into Arusha so you can explore the markets, restaurants, and shops. Their menu, both drink and food, is expansive and delicious. Rooms are wonderful with a hot shower, comfortable bed, and small balcony. A true GEM!!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Gab M,

We appreciate your choice to stay with us! The team thoroughly enjoyed having you and your boyfriend here... we sure hope to see you again when life brings you in to Arusha.

Asante!
~Eva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here 1 night and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were large, the bathroom and shower were a little small, but everything was clean. We had hot water and water pressure. The mosquito net was a proper net, the wifi worked but was a little slow (painfully slow at times) and the pool area was nice. We had lunch and the food was pretty good. They were serving a buffet for dinner which is not my favourite, however we had eaten lunch so late we asked if there was a way we could just get a bowl of soup and a salad. After some going back and forth the chef came out and accommodated us. Really what choice did they have we could have ordered room service and they would have had to serve us….we just choose to eat in the restaurant. The only 2 things that upset me a little was that I asked if they could print out my air tickets for me because heaven help you show up at an airport without a ticket in Africa – you won’t get in the airport. They charged me $1 a page – outrageous. Then the next morning I asked if we could check out a little bit later as our flight had been moved back. No they needed the rooms because guests were coming in – but I only want it for an extra hour. So they said I could pay for a day room. I did not pay for a day room but did note no new guests showed up between me asking and the time we left the hotel. It just makes me feel like if there is a choice between good customer service and making a buck they went for the buck. We paid by visa – were charged the extra fee (when are they going to learn that this just gets the customers upset) – but at least this hotel has set prices in USD and shillings so we were not faced with 3 foreign exchange conversions losing money on each one of them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hello LLHGEG,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to provide feedback from your recent experience at Planet Lodge. We are glad to know you "were pleasantly surprised" and well accommodated at the pool and restaurant.

With regards to printing costs, you might find it equally outrageous to know that @ $1 or TZSH 1000 per page, we charge less then most print shops in town that charge TZSH 1500 - 2000 per page. Regarding a late check out: As was explained to you, we had assigned someone else to the room you had (arriving at 1pm). Unfortunately we could not afford to have you stay longer and then rush through the housekeeping process for the next client... We have allowed many late check outs when a room is not booked for the following night (i.e. 1-2 hrs later) for free. I am sorry you felt the option presented i.e. to move you to another room type unacceptable.

We do our best to provide free services where cost is manageable. This includes wifi, use of our 2 computers to access the internet, transfers into town, toiletries, tooth brushes, tooth paste, extra towels and even late checkout when we can. We truly care for our clients and I am sorry you felt that we only cared to make a buck from you... I hope your time in Zanzibar and the rest of Africa is very enjoyable.

We truly appreciate you choosing to stay at Planet Lodge and hope to see you again when life brings you our way!

Asante,
Eva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Friendly and pleasant service. Astonishingly comfortable beds (even before you've been up the mountain). Just one hour transfer from the airport. Food is fine if unspectacular, but if you're still carving the 6000 calories plus you ate everyday while climbing Kili them you won't be disappointed by the buffet!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redskidoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

You seem to be leaving town on the way to the property, when the road turns to dirt, but don't worry. The hotel is enclosed and quiet. They seem to be trying for "Five Star" service, and they're not quite getting there, which is probably for the best. It's a little bit quirky, and I found it to be rather fun. Just relax and go with it. The landscaping is nice, and the rooms are pleasant and restful, and let in plenty of light during the day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We staied for 2 nights and felt very welcomme ! The rooms are nice the beds are good and the restaurant is good though with ALL the varaiety of a bigger hotell. The hotell consisted of many small round huts and a nice swimmingpool and is an excelent starting point for killemanjao or safari in Tanzania.!!

Room Tip: Ask for a hut with garden veuw- there are huts that poin towards a tank an some sheds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tove n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear tove n,

We are glad to know you all "felt very welcomme! " We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on the rooms, beds and the restaurant. Yes, we work hard to provide a good variety of meals to cater to the diverse clientele who choose to stay with us.

Asante and we hope to see you again when visiting Arusha!

Best regards,
Eva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here one night in transit between Nairobi and a safari to the Serengeti. The grounds are nice- large gardens and nice landscaping. Our family had two adjoining rooms, which for a short stay were fine. The service, though, was... well, weird. The main building is one large room with three sets of doors. When we arrived after a long trip from Nairobi, we started to bring our luggage-unassisted- into the main doors in the center of the building. Someone rushed out, took our luggage from the doorstep, back out to the drive way and around to the doors to the right- which opened up into the same room we had been about to enter. We had dinner at the hotel, and one of the hotel staff basically stood next to our table for most of the meal- it was like he was watching us eat or something. I think he meant well, but it was a bit strange. I'd stay there again- but their staff needs some training in customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoshiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear MoshiTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We discussed your take on how we handled your luggage assistance at check in with those responsible. As you might recall, there were other clients drinking and watching a game on the lounge area where you intended to come in through... the porter preferred not to disrupt the game watching with your group's entry hence the choice to use our customary entry doors. Likewise, your perception of the waiter was shared with the restaurant supervisor and staff.

Glad to know you would stay with us again and yes, we will continue to train our staff and interns who work with our clients.

Asante!
Eva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We ended our safari at Planet Lodge which, after five nights camping, was a lovely treat. Staff very friendly; the rooms are clean and airy (the kids had a room with three beds, which was nice as they didn't need to share); food was good. The pool served its purpose and the garden has lovely views of Mount Meru. I also thought the B&B price for five of us (£150) was reasonable. Internet a bit patchy, but it's free.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
613 reviews
3.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,034 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
485 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
4.3 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Planet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Planet Lodge

Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range: £67 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arusha Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Arusha Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing