We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Easter Retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arusha Planet Lodge
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My girlfriend and I took a road trip to Arusha from Nairobi and spent the Easter weekend at this lovely haven of peace. Of course thanks to TripAdvisor for ranking them as the top choice for 2014. It is highly deserved. The customer service is out of this world, always smiling and very polite. The staff speak fluent English, they respond to every request promptly too. The lady (I forgot her name) and Evance were quite helpful. They even helped me find a mobile money transfer agent nearby to pay & book for our Safari tour to Arusha National Park. The garden and the architecture of the huts is wonderful. The room was very spacious, with hot water and an umbrella (came in handy since it rained a lot that weekend). We loved the food at the restaurant. They even offered to extend breakfast time for us to11am when it rained so much on Saturday morning... This place simply put; My girlfriend fell so in love with Planet Lodge and Arusha, I must admit I felt a lil' jealous. However for Safari lovers, best time to visit Arusha is July to December. it's sunny with little or no rains and so you get to see all the animals out in the parks. April is a bit subdued, but thanks to Phillip (our tour guide) we enjoyed the national park tour. You can always get in touch with him (www.africasafaris-tz.com). He is quite affordable and a polite guy. We look forward to our next visit, this time to Serengeti & Ngorongoro.

Room Tip: If you need rooms with TV you must specify, our room didn't have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jotham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hello Jotham K,

Asante sana for choosing us for your Easter retreat! We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your girlfriend here. The whole team is very encouraged that you found our "customer service is out of this world..." Satisfied customers are central to our goals and values and we are all glad to know you we met your expectations.

Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you both again in the near future!

~ Eva for Planet Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a very pleasant 3 nights stay. Very friendly staff with warm reception ready to assist at all times. Clean, spacious rooms with excellent green gardens. Our children had an excellent time at the pool and the play area with a magnificent view of Mt. Meru. The reception, lounge and dining areas blended well, just the right size to make the place simple and cosy. Esther, Otieno, Joyce, Veronica, Winnie and all the other staff thank you for making our stay memorable. Eva, we are grateful for your assistance in pointing out places of interest around Arusha. This made our stay in Arusha, which was the first one, quite a good experience. One recommendation would be to put a signage along Old Moshi road near Clock Tower to indicate distance to the lodge. I would recommend Planet Lodge for those interested in staying away from the busy city center.

Room Tip: Rooms with View of Mt. Meru
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waruingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Waruingi,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. Your recommendation on putting signage along Old Moshi road near Clock Tower is well noted and appreciated - we will work on it.

Receive warm greetings from Esther, Otieno, Joyce, Veronica, Winnie and the rest of the team. As promised, we all look forward to seeing you again in December - God willing.

Karibuni tena!
~ Eva for Planet Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was very relaxing. The staff are extremely friendly and well trained, thoroughly look as if they enjoy working there.

The rooms are light, clean and spacious. Our room overlooked the pool and mountain so we enjoyed sitting in our balcony admiring the views.

The area itself is great, you can catch a dalla-dalla into the city from around the corner. There are also many local pubs and restaurants nearby if you want an alternative to the lodge.

There is a good selection for breakfast. The dinner menu is vast and the food is fine... but I would have expected a little better quality from a lodge that's listed #3 on TA at the moment.

There is also a difference in service depending on the number of guests. When we first arrived, there weren't many people staying there and we were without power and hot water for most days (normal in Africa so this wasn't much of a problem). However when 20 guests arrived we realised that they just hadn't bothered to put on the generator and we then had an abundance of power! We were also able to choose from a menu for dinner but when they were full we had to order a three course from a set menu without being told beforehand. None of the above were a problem, we just found it quite interesting.

Overall I would recommend Planet Lodge to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of Arusha, it's definitely a great place to relax within easy reach of the city.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear 87Pelicoo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Arusha! We are all glad to know your stay here was very relaxing and that you found the staff extremely friendly, well trained and thoroughly seemed to enjoy working here - rest assured, we do!

We also appreciate your comments about the food and service levels when only a few people are staying with us. It is true that during your stay the power company (TANESCO) was doing major maintenance work on the power lines supplying our village and beyond. I am sorry you had to be without hot water. Our front office staff notified clients about the power cuts and proposed a workable timetable for running the generator... this is done via phone call to the rooms and/or during breakfast. As you might understand, we prefer not to run the generator full time during the day - unless clients need to use power. I've discussed the matter with the front office team and they are equally sorry about it... they know we have to notify all clients who are in house during such a power cut and we are not sure how we failed to contact your room. I wish you would have called the front desk to inquire and we would have gladly discussed the power schedule and turned on the generator so you can take hot showers.

We thank you for recommending us "for anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of Arusha, it's definitely a great place to relax within easy reach of the city." We sure hope to see you again when life brings you our way.

Asante sana!
Eva for Planet Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights before and 2 nights after our safari. The rooms are fine, comfy beds, wonderful air conditioning, nice balcony. The bathrooms are fine except there is no where to put toiletries. The shower pressure is adequate and there is hot water and electricity all the time!
We had a bungalow near the back by the pool and I was able to see people wandering through from the back of the property, so I found this a bit weird.
The food was fine. Good breakfast selection, except when they ran out of something ( bananas!) it took a while to replace them. Lunch was from a menu and when we were there dinner was a buffet. Bar service can be a bit slow.
We sat in the lounge quite a bit as there are no chairs in the room to sit on, just the balcony.
It rained one day and the floor of the main building and stairs can be very slippery.
Esther at the reception desk was great, cheerful and very helpful to us.. thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Judi K,

Thank you so much for being our guest and staying with us; it was our pleasure to have you! We take pride in the "comfy beds, wonderful air conditioning, nice balcony!" We are continuously making improvements and your comments regarding space to put toiletries in the bathrooms, bar service and the main building floor. These were addressed with the respective departments and corrective measures are underway. There should be a table and chair in your room as well as the balcony - but I agree, the lounge is most popular for watching tv, reading, socializing etc.

With regards to people wandering from the back of the property, it is likely that you were here on weekend when we normally get a few local patrons coming for lunch and drinks by the pool. Rest assured all guests come through a guarded gate and we do not entertain any "wanderers" in the property.

Yes, Esther and the front office team work very hard to make sure our guests feel comfortable here. Thank you and we hope to see you again next time!

Best regards,
Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I booked this place to stay the night before we started our safari. It was great!!. The rooms were spacious and clean, the dining room was also spacious and the food was wonderful! We just wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy exploring the beautiful property

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Maurine S,

Thank you very much for being our guest! We hope to see you and your husband again when life brings you our way.

Asanteni sana!
PL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Following an intense 11 day safari we found the perfect place to spend a couple of days before we flew home. The hotel is set out like a small village of garden houses. The accommodations were first class, easily equivalent to a 4 star, North American property. The grounds were beautiful and the on site bar and restaurant were equally amazing. The menu was extensive and the set menu dinner was delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Clint H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience with others. We sure hope to host you again soon.

Asante sana!
PL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Not a million miles from Arusha and therefore not a million miles from Arusha Airport which is just the other side of town. This is a pretty nice place to stay whilst either waiting to go on safari, after you've come back or before you move on. We picked this place purely because of it's excellent ranking on Tripadvisor, but did it live up to it's billing .... eeeeerrr maybe.

It's away from the hustle and bussle of Arusha so it's nice and quiet. The staff are friendly, the rooms are nice and pool area is totally ok. It's not going to blow you away, but it's just a nice place to hang out for a night or two.

Room Tip: All the huts are the same as far as I know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetLodger, Director of Sales at Arusha Planet Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear ProkyProky,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review your stay at Planet Lodge. Your feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services for our future guests and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

We hope to see you again when in Arusha.

Asante sana!
Eva
for Planet Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 45 in Arusha
646 reviews
3.2 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,077 reviews
4.3 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 45 in Arusha
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
526 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
3.1 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 45 in Arusha
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Planet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Planet Lodge

Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range: £61 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arusha Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arusha Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing