We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Zawadi House is a delightful place to stay"”
Review of Zawadi House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zawadi House Lodge
Ranked #7 of 130 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a total of nine days before and after climbing Kilimanjaro and going on safari. The ambiance of Zawadi House is serene and peaceful with its lovely garden and African decor. The rooms are very clean and well appointed, including safety deposit boxes and very large, comfortable beds. During our stay here, the water was always hot and the Wi Fi was good. The staff were wonderful, they were honest, warm and friendly and very hospitable, we have very fond memories of them all. They assisted us with places to visit, including assistance with shopping ventures in Arusha. The laundry service was excellent, following our climb our very dirty boots, gaiters and clothes were washed and returned to us looking like new. The food complimented the accommodation and service. We found it a wonderful place to rejuvenate after our long flights and busy schedule and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

I had a very comfortable stay together with my wife and Daughter. The rooms where very comfortable with cable TV, room safe for my laptop/iPad as well as other important items, air conditioning although the weather did not require one etc. The bathroom and it's amenities was up to international standards found at any 5 star hotel.

While at ZAWADI you really feel at home. For those who do not like the hustle and bustle of big hotels, this is the ideal place to stay. Try it you won't regret.

Room Tip: Most rooms have the same level of comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gilbert U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights before and after climbing Mt Meru and going on safari. The staff were really helpful and the room was clean and modern, with a great bathroom and comfy bed. After a long flight, roughing it on the mountain and camping on safari it was perfect for rejuvinating.

We walked into Arusha with no problems, which was a really interesting walk through 'real' tanzania, rather than the more touristy areas, although we were offered a lift if we had wanted.

The food was good and the waiter was really friendly, and taught us some key swahili phrases which helped for the rest of the trip. I felt that we had a better experience than we may have done in a larger less personal hotel, and at better value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeedsStatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Top class boutique hotel to stay. Truly home away from home. Had the best shower ever. Friendly and helpful staff. an Oasis in the wilderness. Great Wi-Fi, clean rooms, quiet and worth staying before and after a climb on Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

Nice place to chill off before or after a safari.

Location far from town and one might get worried about the surroundings when approaching it

Behind its high walls is a welcoming place with nice rooms, big towels and pleasant environment

Food however was just ok but not great

Highly recommended especially for those who want to have a proper roof over your head after all the tents and tented lodges.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tramp1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I visited the place a while ago and cannot stay away. Its lovely, serene and cozy. Great meals, polite staff, great WIFI and wonderful rooms. Its absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had a night there as part of a safari to the Serengeti etc. The place was fantastic, and the staff really went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

Ignore the approach road - once you get inside the gate you will have an experience equal to anything you might find in a top class hotel in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Only one level, and a high external wall means there is no external noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.7 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 42 in Arusha
613 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
273 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zawadi House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zawadi House Lodge

Address: Kundayo Road | Phillips Area, Arusha 1648, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: £76 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zawadi House Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zawadi House is a new up-market, boutique style hotel in a quiet area of Arusha. All 13 rooms are comfortably equipped with a modern designed bathroom with all amenities, air conditioning, satellite TV and free internet access. The house is surrounded by lush green gardens with tall trees and pretty flowers. A cozy bar and small restaurant supply the finest drinks and cuisine. The ideal place to wind down after an intensive day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zawadi House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing