We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't saty anywhere else”
Review of Zawadi House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zawadi House Lodge
Ranked #7 of 130 Arusha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We had only one night at Zawadi house and loved everything. The location, massive beds, beautiful rooms, the organised pick up and the dinner. We would not recommend staying anywhere else and wish the staff and owners the best of success.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

After spending two weeks on an amazing camping adventure around Kenya and Tanzania, this small, secluded, secure and stylish resort was just heaven!

Spacious and modern room - with a very comfortable bed to catch up on much needed sleep!

Clean and modern bathroom - with a great hot water system for a much needed long hot shower!

Onsite restaurant had limited menu options but all food was delicious and of great quality. The chef and especially our waiter Emanuel were very friendly and helpful.

Free WiFi for catching up with everyone back home.

The only issue was trying to find it! Located just outside central Arusha, its hidden off the main road and very few locals knew where it was located.

30 minute drive to reach the airport on the other side of town.

Will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I found this hotel completely by accident, when I was searching for some quality accomodation which I don't need to rob a bank for. This was quite a tall order in the high season in Arusha. Fortunately I found Zawadi House, which was a great choice. Comfortable, well equipped, stylish little hotel that offers all the services that anyone can expect in a four star hotel. And why is it affordable? The place is not well known even among locals, which is probably due to the fact that it's not located in a touristed part ofthe town. In fact outside its high, protective walls it's quite a shabby neighborhood. Before you start worrying about that, I can assure you it's completely irrelevant as Arusha is not a town where you go to take a walk anyway. You stay there, eat, rest, sleep and get ready for the safari. That's wahy people go to Arusha for. And for that purpose the hotel is just perfect...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fuzert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed at Zawadi House on several dates in June, July, and August this summer as I was traveling in the area and used Arusha as my base.

I found the Zawadi House to be very pleasant with a helpful, friendly staff. Free wifi, a small bar, air conditioning, and a small restaurant on site that was a good option. My room rate was competitive for Arusha. The location a little out of Arusha town meant quiet nights. The walk into the city is fairly straight forward if that is something you'd like to do. The manager,Dorotea helped arrange transport when I needed and provided free and secure parking to a visiting friend. Email communication was straightforward and responded to quickly.

There were not many other guests during my stay, so I can't speak to how they operate with a full house, but they seemed well staffed to handle such situations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitakatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This July I traveled to Tanzania via South Africa to attend a funeral of a loved one in Machame. After the hectic travel schedule, time difference...I needed a place that I can fully relax and rejuvenate before my return to the USA. A friend recommended Zawadi House. Not only was I surprised by this hidden jewel, it was a breath of fresh air!!! The place is absolutely amazing...a boutique hotel that is breathtaking competing with any world class accommodation. I am happy to know that such is available in Arusha! The staff was gracious, friendly and attended to all my requests making my stay memorable and relaxing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Zawadi House is like "Heaven on Earth" right in Arusha. It is secluded and quiet, punctuated with luxury under the banana canopy of Arusha. Perfect for soulmates to reflect back and ponder what next life has to offer. Couldn't think of a better place. The staff members are professional, courteous and friendly.

Room Tip: Zawadi House is like "Heaven on Earth" in Arusha. It is secluded and quiet, with a punctua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odemari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

In February 2013, I travelled to Serengeti with 6 other guests. I had taken them for a wild life safari (some photographers). On our return from an exciting 8 night safari, I had booked Zawadi house in Arusha for a night.
Wonderful reception, excellent food, well appointed rooms, free wi-fi - truly 5 * hospitality.
I will strongly recommend this place to all those who are looking for an accommodation in Arusha after a safari or a climb to Kilimanjaro!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.7 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
614 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
273 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Vijiji Center Lodge & Safari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zawadi House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zawadi House Lodge

Address: Kundayo Road | Phillips Area, Arusha 1648, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zawadi House Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zawadi House is a new up-market, boutique style hotel in a quiet area of Arusha. All 13 rooms are comfortably equipped with a modern designed bathroom with all amenities, air conditioning, satellite TV and free internet access. The house is surrounded by lush green gardens with tall trees and pretty flowers. A cozy bar and small restaurant supply the finest drinks and cuisine. The ideal place to wind down after an intensive day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zawadi House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing