We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with lovely staff members”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The Serena Lake Duluti hotel is quite nice - it offers cozy rooms (cottages-like) and fair food. The staff is absolutely great - waiters and waitresses such as Nelson and Salma were very friendly. The security administrator and trip guide Lucas really did become my friend, as he speaks good English, has a vast knowledge of the area and is very friendly and fun to be with. This hotel is very recommended to those coming to Arusha, Tanzania.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for several nights using it as base for our safaris. Left luggage in storage room which was very nice.
Nice room with mosquito netting provided. Bottled water, shampoo, lotion, body gel, Kleenex and plenty of towels. Staff was great. Grounds were well kept, beautiful and lots of birds for birdwatching. Monkeys also. Arranged a walk around Lake Duluti to bird watch and see monitor lizard. Saw Great King fisher among many other birds including Marabou storks.
Food was excellent and service was great. Laundry available for reasonable charge and back in 3 to 4 hours. Nice view of lake. Able to walk to village Saturday market from hotel. Also walked short distance to viewing area to see Mt Kilimanjaro when weather cooperated
Enjoyed our multiple day stay here very much. Note: accepted US Dollars as payment for laundry, bar bills etc.

Room Tip: All rooms we were in were good. Numbers 1 to 20 had view of lake. Others may have but were not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Desertdocent2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice room in a well designed series of multi-room cottages. Nice gardens and main lodge. Staff is very friendly, food above average. Access to Lake Duluti for walking and a short walk to the Arusha market for a true local experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tatsuo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was our first hotel in Tanzania, at the beginning of the safari. It is very nicely kept, the gardens are beautiful. The main building reminds of a colonial past. The room was large, nicely decorated and with all the amenities needed. As in other hotels in Tanzania, the big bed is protected by a net against mosquitoes. As with the other Serena hotels that we visited, the feeling that I got when there, was much nicer than what I expected from the photos I had seen. The food was not memorable, but I was satisfied with the fact that I didn't get ill through the whole visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavivita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

a warm welcome after a long flight. cold drink and a cold washcloth is clean up with. Our rm was comfortable and had everything we needed. we just needed a place to sleep before our 8 day safari. Upon awaking and eating breakfast we wandered around. nicely landscaped, with tropical flowers and trees. Just beautiful. this is not a hotel lodging but seperate bungalows

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here for two nights pre-safari after a long flight from Australia. I loved the well-kept grounds and found my little "hut" very comfortable. The dining room staff in particular were very friendly. It's a place for relaxation, entertainment options are limited and it's a long way into Arusha. If you want to go for a walk around Lake Duluti they will try to tell you that you have to take a guide at a cost of $35. But you can just walk out the gate and along the compound walls until you come to the lake. For a small entrance fee you can walk around the lake, or you can just go to a viewpoint where there is a kiosk and seating and enjoy the view and watch the birds. Although I liked the hotel I'd probably not stay again as I prefer to stay closer to town where there are more things to do.

Room Tip: The further your hut is from reception the longer the walk to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lutzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for one night and thought it was a great place to start our Tanzania vacation. Beautifully maintain grounds with some nice views. The rooms were very nice and we really liked the separate bungalows, which had a lot of character. Service was great and the food was excellent.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Jon131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
6.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 45 in Arusha
1,074 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 45 in Arusha
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#5 of 45 in Arusha
645 reviews
5 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
523 reviews
10.3 mi away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 198 in Arusha
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa

Address: Arusha, Tanzania (Formerly Lake Duluti Serena Hotel)
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: £108 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of a traditional coffee estate in the majestic environs of snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro, the exquisitely appointed Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa ( formerly Lake Duluti Serena Hotel) offers heady views over verdant tropical forests, cool mountain walks, a wonderful array of wildlife, roaring fires and superlative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Village Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing