We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to start a safari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Ranked #4 of 180 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We arrived a few days before the start of our safari tour to rest after the long journey from the US to Africa. This is a charming property, with beautiful grounds and comfortable individual "lodge type" rooms. We enjoyed just strolling around and taking it easy. The food was good and the staff helpful and friendly. We especially enjoyed a tour arranged by the hotel desk to Arusha National Park. Our guide and driver, Solomon, was absolutely outstanding. If you are there request him as a guide. He was a great spotter, great driver, very knowledgeable of the park wildlife and the area of Arusha, and very easy to understand. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: The property is spread out for views of the lake and for a low profile. If you have difficulty walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Yes!
Arranged a little like an old English village from a fairy tale... small round cottages glued to each other in clasps of 6, better keep quiet to keep peace in the neighborhood. clean, well furnished, great toiletries, very good, clean bath. the gardens and the setting are beautiful. Very peaceful and makes a great stay on the way to/from the Kilimangaro airport.
Food is good. service is efficient and polite. the lobby and dining room have a bit of a "good old colony" look.

Room Tip: the high numbers (23 and up) are quieter, but also a bit of a walk down the lane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nushki65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Woow amazing place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I will recomend to everyone to come here
Room was clean and absolutely lovely -- the grounds and the main lodge were gorgeous and meals were outstanding. The service was absolutely top notch. I would absolutely go back. In fact, I wish I was there now ...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Overall the hotel is very well presented. The gardens and the little cottages are very pretty - lots of interesting flowers and trees - and we even had monkeys roaming around!

The room was clean, well laid out and the bed and pillows were really nice and comfortable - perfect after a lot of travelling! :) The shower could have been much better though! When we came back from dinner we had a lovely honeymoon surprise of unusual flowers on the bed and a very tasty coffee cake!

The food is nice, but nothing really to rave about - personally, we would have the meats more tender and everything generally better seasoned. There was a great selection of fruit and juices at breakfast though. Note: lunch and dinner are set 4/5 course menus - bit awkward if you just want a quick bite to eat, especially when you first arrive after travelling. The house red wine, however, was very tasty, as are the cocktails at the bar!

Staff service was fine and generally representative of our experience across hotels in Tanzania - the service is certainly not on par with similarly rated hotels in UK/Europe, but they do try!

That's all we can say since we only stayed here one night, but it was a good start to our safari trip and a good first impression of the serena hotel range!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ninedegrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel and the rooms are very nice, food is good and very reasonably priced, but.... Don't believe the sales blurb with the happy couple cycling around the lake and canoeing on it. You can't leave the hotel grounds without a hotel escort and, if you want to explore around the lake, a local guide. You will pay for the guide (even if you just want a short evening stroll) and the hotel escort, whilst ostensibly free, was suggested to be given a "tip" (there's a lot of "tipping" in Tanzania if you want to maintain service). A good place to stay if you want relax after a long flight, but not is you are interested in the surrounding area - the hotel staff themselves describe it as unsafe for tourists.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good, well provisioned and comfortable with nice decor and generously sized ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Don_Fitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here at the start end end of my Safari. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Kilimanjaro airport and close to Arusha. The room was nice after a late flight but both stays I was in different rooms but both bathrooms smelt of damp. After staying in the other Serena hotels in Tanzania you realise that this one only provides you with one bottle of water(the rest of chain they give you two), food is okay but better in the rest of the chain and the drinks are more expensive. When challenged about water they expected payment luckily our itinerary stated that we had to be provided with 1 litre of water, Staff will only provide or even mention change when challenged about price of drinks, to avoid problems with change the rest of the Serena change round down their prices and still make a handsome profit. If I had not been to three other Serena hotels I would have thought the service and food was good, but feel this is the weaker link in the chain in the end my tips were less due to the overcharging on the drinks. On a positive note I went on the canoe ride around the lake which was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After traveling overnight from the UK, our first destination was the Lake Duculi hotel for an overnight stay before the start of our safari. For us, a perfect overnight stop over, the hotel had an old colonial feel with big open fireplaces and leather chairs. The food was excellent, a good choice and plentiful. Our bedroom, set in the grounds, was spacious and clean with a view overlooking the lake. Overall, a lovely start to our Tanzania adventure, I would definitely recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDJDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
6.2 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
603 reviews
5.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
476 reviews
6.3 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
455 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
1.3 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 43 in Arusha
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Duluti Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Duluti Serena Hotel

Address: Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 180 Speciality Lodging in Arusha
Price Range: £136 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Duluti Serena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of a traditional coffee estate in the majestic environs of snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro, the exquisitely appointed Mountain Village Lodge offers heady views over verdant tropical forests, cool mountain walks, a wonderful array of wildlife, roaring fires and superlative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lake Duluti Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Mountain Village Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing