We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arusha Serena Hotel, Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$553
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
177
219
46
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
219
46
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake dulutimain buildingkilimanjaro airportfirst nightone nightbeautiful groundsnight flightguided walkset menulobby arealong flightceiling fanpre safaritanzanian safarithe hotel offerscoffee plantationno air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2009

The staff were very attentive and pleasant, I only stayed over night as i was on my way to the Serengeti, but what i encounted i liked. The Serena lodges and hotels are of a good standard.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitkat064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We stayed here in Room 25 for just the one night in late December. As we were to discover during our Safari with Roy Safaris (excellent) it was a typical Serena property in that it was comfortable, clean, secure with good food and mostly good to excellent service. Our "Rondavel" # 25 was a distance from reception with only a garden outlook. The Rondavels are grouped in a circular formation of about 10 per group so some near the entrance pathway had garden views and some others had a presumably lovely view of a very scenic & pretty lake. If that sounds like you ask on check in for a view of the lake. At other Serena propertys we asked for "a room with a view" and were always given one.

On arrival here the carpark which is outside the gates is extremely dusty with a very fine white dust - if you don't want your luggage plonked down in it ask for the bellboy to carry it the short distance to the paved entrance gates. We didn't & the packs were so dusty we had to end up brushing them off outside the room. Just a small point but an avoidable situation.

The main reception building is like a very large, grand old colonial house & is beautiful inside & out with a well maintained lawn sloping down to the lake. What a nice location to have a G & T before dinner to watch the sun go down!

The meals here are all good as is the service. There was a slight hiccup with the service at breakfast, when we were there it was a bit chaotic & we didn't receive exactly what had been ordered however this can happen anywhere.

The rooms are spacious & clean with very comfortable, huge beds. The bathrooms are large with a big shower and good (not excellent) water pressure. There are plenty of opening windows to get some fresh air but remember to close them before dusk unless you want to share the room with a mozzie or two.

This lodge is very near the Arusha National Park & this is why we stayed here after our day in the park. There is nowhere to walk from here so if you want to go exploring or to have a look around Arusha this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Stayed here one night (1st) of 9 day Tanzania safari immediately after long (16 hours with delays and no luggage) flights from Rome to Kilimanjaro. My first reaction was - Oh, no! - as we turned off the main (paved) road leading to Arusha into a maket area and onto a very rutted, bouncy road to the Lodge. BUT... arrival at the lodge was a pleasant surprise. It has a colonial ambience with nice gardens - a view of a lake ( I saw no view of a mountain - so I still do not know the origin of the lodge name). We were greeted immediately and given towels and a fruit drink and keys to individual cottages. The cottages were very clean ( in contrast to some 2007 reviews on Trip Advisor), with a very large bathroom, cable TV, and a firm comfortable bed. We traveled with another couple and while our room had a workable ceiling fan - I found it necessary to use it - our friends only had a wire hanging from the ceiling where the fan should have been.
The food was OK - it was all buffet style - and we found it overcooked or cold. It was certainly edible but not of the quality we had at other lodges in Tanzania. We only stayed here the first night and it appeared there were many people just staying one night - either at the start or end of their Tanzania stay. It is a fine place- price was included in our package so I do not know the actual cost per night. It is convienient to JRO airport ( 40 minutes) and a more than adequate place to spend an over night. I would do so again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

It is a lovely hotel - just like what I'd seen in the movies. Great rooms in private houses, a lovely dining room in a stately looking mansion, and incredibly lush grounds. We were all blown away!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamelai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

The hotel is situated overlooking Lake Duluti about 12 Km from town. It is about 1Km off the highway so is very quiet. The grounds are nicely landscaped. The rooms are large, bathrooms also large and nicely appointed. Showers are nice, although the showerhead in my room didn't work all that well but the water was good and hot so I didn't care. One especially nice touch is that the mosquito netting encloses the bed area, not just the bed so it is possilbe to move around the bed after shutting the netting.

Food is very good in the restaurant. The bar is well stocked, and the service is excellent. All staff is very well trained and extremely friendly without being pushy.

This is a typically well run Serena property. Very highly recommend it. It is expensive compared to other Arusha hotels, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank xbioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews