We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel”
Review of Mount Meru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Meru Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a fairly new hotel, and it is gorgeous. Modern facilities. Beds are comfortable, you get to control your own thermostat. There is a mini fridge and hair dryer in the room. Spa bathroom with a rain shower head. Toiletries include shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner. Bottle of water given every day. Free wifi. Swimming pool on hotel grounds. There is a gym, however, it is not quite up and running yet. There is a concierge, a jewellery shop, a spa, the main buffet restaurant, various bars, and a coffee lounge.

Food is decent. Staff are incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroovieGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    271
    94
    16
    10
See reviews for
101
133
30
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed in the Mount Meru Hotel in August, and the hotel itself is really nice. The staff is friendly, efficient and accomodating, the food is good and rooms are luxurious. It's about a 1.5 mile walk to the center of the city.

The only problem we had is that the generator would go on and off every 5 minutes at night, and the noise woke us up. Also they do advertise that they have a gym, but it has not been constructed yet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuresforamys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Very good and luxurious hotel. Free WiFi and a some nice views from the room. The Room is good and is equipped with all kinds of luxury. Nice bathroom and very friendly staff.
We stayed two nights in this hotel. Before we went on Safari and when we returned. Our choice was very satisfying. We also had dinner in the hotel which was good and very affordable. The breakfast was also good.
Check-out was good and all credit cards could be used.
The hotel is about a 60 minute drive from Kili airport and costs about 50$ The hotel is far from the main road, so there is no noise when you are outside or in your room. The swimming pool was also nice and enough beds are there for everybody to relax.

Room Tip: You can ask to have a mountain view or a garden view. We had both and both were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We ended up spending 4 days here (as we had a late arrival flight and finished our kili climb early) - the hotel was recently rennovated and opened earlier this year. The rooms were spacious and very well priced. All outlets worked and very importantly there was hot water! Rolling blackouts did occur but was quickly either turned back on or rolled over to a generator. The grounds are immaculate and the restaurants resonably priced. Our stay included the buffet breakfast which was divine. Also free wi-fi and cable tv (BBC!) which was nice while we recovered from jet lag. Note that we heard loud music ALL NIGHT LONG from the bars across the street so for peace and quite - ask for a room facing the pool.

Two negatives:
1) The reception desk was very rude - strange because everyone else in the hotel was very nice and accomodating but the people at the reception desk must've felt they were better deserving than others because there were VERY RUDE. Doesn't stop me from staying there again but really did leave a bad taste in my mouth.

2) We also left a bag with the hotel while were on Kili. Someone went through our bag and used our laptop but nothing was actually taken so I guess we should be grateful.

Would stay here again but would ask to face the pool to avoid the noise and would tape the laptop to dissuade whoever rifled through our bag to not use our stuff (or would just not bring valuables in general)

Room Tip: Ask to face the pool if you want a quiet room. Note that they do not have junior suites that face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wegoaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here for a few nights before our safari. The hotel is beautiful-- the grounds, the rooms, the pool were all lovely. The service is very attentive--to the point where the servers carry your dinner plate from the buffet line to your table for you. Sometimes that can be too much.

Here are my cons for this hotel: another reviewer mentioned the slippery/wet bathroom floors. We experienced the same issues. Our room keys deactivated every day. We had three rooms, and it happened to each of us. The front desk told us not to put the keys near electronics and we were very careful not to, but they still kept deactivating. It sounds like a small thing, but it is kind of a pain to go up to your room, not be able to get in, and have to go back down to the front desk every day. Also, the power goes out several times each day-- only for a few seconds each time-- but it is frequent. The food was okay, but not great. The food at the small coffee shop with the seats outside is much better. Also, there are no places to walk to or to go to eat outside the hotel.

The good points of the hotel-- spacious rooms, beautiful pool area and pool bar, the coffee shop food and drinks, the outdoor area with big cushy seats, free internet, a very reasonably priced salon where you can treat yourself to a massage or manicure after your safari. Great service, nice overall atmosphere, beautiful decor.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for a short pre or post safari stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeggygNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

A positive surprise in Arusha: a brandnew luxury grand hotel with tasteful contemporary African decor. Friendly and well trained staff. Good food, especially on outside terrace with lounge chairs. Excellent (but expensive) business center. Well appointed rooms. International standard spa and nice outside pool. This hotel may be the best for the start or finish of a safari Northern Tanzania providing all creature comforts. I hope the quality stays over time. If you look for a smaller luxury lodge in Arusha, the best may be the Arusha Coffe Plantation, but at 3 times the price tag.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of our safari in Tanzania.
All of the staff were very friendly and efficient.
The BBQ lunch was delicious and you could sit outside or inside.
The Collectors Corner jewellery shop in the foyer had a fine selection of Tanzanite.
A great place to stay .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
960 reviews
1.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
76 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 42 in Arusha
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Hotel

Property: Mount Meru Hotel
Address: Nairobi - Moshi Road | Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Meru Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the place where heaven meets earth, where the rhythm of nature pounds to the beat of an African drum, and where life is all about a revival of the senses. Mount Meru Hotel is situated in the tranquil green area of Sekei, Arusha. The ideal location gives you panoramic views of Mount Meru on the one side and the Gymkhana golf course on the other. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you are invited to take delight in the breath-taking setting, lend your ears to the beautiful sounds of nature meeting civilisation, and touch the heart of Tanzanian highlife and luxury. The city centre and main business area are located nearby and Kilimanjaro international airport is just 50km from the hotel. Services: The Hotel offers a wide variety of business and leisure facilities with wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel. The rooms are an experience of understated African opulence, open space and natural light. The Hotel boasts 4 premier restaurants to tantalize even the most discerning guest’s taste buds. The main restaurant, Meru, offers guests buffet style meals. Fine dining at Duluti is based on a la carte international cuisine combined with local spices, an eclectic blend of tastes and fragrances! Named after Africa’s great lake, Tanganyika Pizza bar is created for you to enjoy a light lunch as you lounge around the pool. The ultimate indulgence at Arabica Coffee Shop is surely their cappuccino. They serve light lunches and a selection of delectable confectionery. You can end your day at the Mawenzi Cigar Bar whilst sampling some of Scotland’s and Cuba’s finest exports. Conference and Banqueting: A wide variety of conveniently sized, air-conditioned business facilities are available. The modern and equipped banquets rooms are perfect venues for meetings, seminars, cocktail parties, dinners and other functions. All conference rooms are fitted with their own sound systems, telephone and wireless connection. Secretarial services, photocopying and fax services are available, as well as spacious areas for breakaway groups. We can also arrange decoration music, lighting and entertainment. Special indoor and outdoor venues are available for high level meetings, cocktail parties and dinners. Mount Meru Hotel won the "Best Luxury Hotel 2011" and Tanzania Info Guide magazine presented this award at the Karibu Travel and Tourism Fair 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Meru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing