We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly Wonderful!”
Review of Mount Meru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Meru Hotel
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed here before and after our Serengeti Safari. At first arrival I though the hotel looked like a typical 70's cookie cutter Sheraton that had been remodeled. While that was somewhat true as a first impression, it unfolded to be a wonderful experience in terms of comfort, food and service.

Our suite was very well appointed and spacious. The only fault I would have is we found the lighting in all the rooms (we saw several) to be quite dim/dark to our standards. This is pretty much true in most of Tanzania as electrical power can sometimes be iffy, and I understand it is quite expensive to operate. So just be prepared to turn every LED/Energy saver light on, and then bring flashlights!

Common areas were very nice, always seemed bustling with mix of Safari guests and conventions and meetings. Never felt crowded.

Food buffet was quite good. A nice variety for all palettes. Lot's of Indian food focused as the main entrees, but there were others as well.

Staff was friendly, helpful and very responsive.

I would highly recommend this property as it is out of the congestion of Arusha, has nice rolling hills & Mt Meru views, and is very modern and comfortable.

As far as value for price paid - I would say met my expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank journey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Mount Meru Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

From the moment you arrive, you are made to feel welcome. Spacious room overlooking Mt. Meru. Well appointed room and good sized bathroom. Very accommodating housekeeping, especially considering that many of their guests come off of either Mt. Kilimanjaroo or Mt. Meru and are in need of (multiple) showers and clean, dry clothes.

Want to mention the buffet restaurant and outdoor, terrace bar. Both had wonderful, friendly staff with really good food at the restaurant and an awesome view at the bar. Plus the free wifi was very nice after 9 days without any contact. Near perfect hotel in a fairly out-of-the-way location.

Room Tip: There appear to be 2 wings...I'd suggest getting one that faces Mt. Meru (and the front of the h...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Good new hotel, all brand new.
Even though my room was not clean when I checked in (used and reported clean by mistake) they immediately came and cleaned it like new.
Great dinner and breakfast!
You see so many hotels like this in the region!
VOD and good tv.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Like many of the reviewers on here, my husband and I stayed for just one night upon our arrival in Tanzania. We arrived slightly after 10am and were EXHAUSTED after flying overnight from Heathrow via Nairobi to Kilimanjaro airport, an hour away from Arusha and the hotel.
Despite the early hour we were able to check in straight away and were given a nice room on the 3rd floor with floor to ceiling windows across one side of the room looking out onto the grounds. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean with a massive walk in shower, we also had tea and coffee making facilities (always a big plus) and free wifi.
We were only there until 2pm the next day but were very comfortable spending our waking hours lounging around on the terrace, recharging our batteries after the journey and in prep for our week long safari to follow.
We were left to relax without feeling pressured to buy more drinks all the time and really enjoyed our stay.
The buffet was fine, standard dining fare, the staff were friendly but its strongest selling point was the look and feel of the hotel, which was top notch.
I would stay there again if the need arose.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LBaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

There is a sign by the entracne saying that the hotel was opened in 2010. We were surprised to find that it had been built several years earlier. It looked as if it was brand new. Good rooms, good service and pleasant grounds. Hotel is large (> 100 rooms) on several floors. Free wifi. Safe in the bedroom. Hotel grounds are well fenced and partolled. Comfortable but probably not very memorable. This was the first night of an inclusive holiday so I can not comment on the rates.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed here on the first and last days of our safari. We were placed in a large suite which was the equal of anything we've stayed in. The facility is very nice, the service as with most of Tanzania is excellent. The people are warm and inviting. The food wasn't outstanding but was very adequate. The facility has modern conveniences and there were no problems with the power when we stayed in September. Certainly a facility that is worth a stay when in Arusha.

Room Tip: this is not a particular 'view' area being in the city but views of the grounds/pool are pro...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chingachgook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a fairly new hotel, and it is gorgeous. Modern facilities. Beds are comfortable, you get to control your own thermostat. There is a mini fridge and hair dryer in the room. Spa bathroom with a rain shower head. Toiletries include shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner. Bottle of water given every day. Free wifi. Swimming pool on hotel grounds. There is a gym, however, it is not quite up and running yet. There is a concierge, a jewellery shop, a spa, the main buffet restaurant, various bars, and a coffee lounge.

Food is decent. Staff are incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GroovieGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
983 reviews
1.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
85 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 43 in Arusha
266 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
462 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 43 in Arusha
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Hotel

Address: Nairobi - Moshi Road | Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range: £45 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Meru Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the place where heaven meets earth, where the rhythm of nature pounds to the beat of an African drum, and where life is all about a revival of the senses. Mount Meru Hotel is situated in the tranquil green area of Sekei, Arusha. The ideal location gives you panoramic views of Mount Meru on the one side and the Gymkhana golf course on the other. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you are invited to take delight in the breath-taking setting, lend your ears to the beautiful sounds of nature meeting civilisation, and touch the heart of Tanzanian highlife and luxury. The city centre and main business area are located nearby and Kilimanjaro international airport is just 50km from the hotel. Services: The Hotel offers a wide variety of business and leisure facilities with wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel. The rooms are an experience of understated African opulence, open space and natural light. The Hotel boasts 4 premier restaurants to tantalize even the most discerning guest’s taste buds. The main restaurant, Meru, offers guests buffet style meals. Fine dining at Duluti is based on a la carte international cuisine combined with local spices, an eclectic blend of tastes and fragrances! Named after Africa’s great lake, Tanganyika Pizza bar is created for you to enjoy a light lunch as you lounge around the pool. The ultimate indulgence at Arabica Coffee Shop is surely their cappuccino. They serve light lunches and a selection of delectable confectionery. You can end your day at the Mawenzi Cigar Bar whilst sampling some of Scotland’s and Cuba’s finest exports. Conference and Banqueting: A wide variety of conveniently sized, air-conditioned business facilities are available. The modern and equipped banquets rooms are perfect venues for meetings, seminars, cocktail parties, dinners and other functions. All conference rooms are fitted with their own sound systems, telephone and wireless connection. Secretarial services, photocopying and fax services are available, as well as spacious areas for breakaway groups. We can also arrange decoration music, lighting and entertainment. Special indoor and outdoor venues are available for high level meetings, cocktail parties and dinners. Mount Meru Hotel won the "Best Luxury Hotel 2011" and Tanzania Info Guide magazine presented this award at the Karibu Travel and Tourism Fair 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Meru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing