We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and Beautiful”
Review of Mount Meru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Meru Hotel
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Arusha in Northern Tanzania is a relatively quiet town and in the heart of the City lies Mount Meru Hotel. One of the newest hotels in town, the hotel is sparklingly neat, the staff are friendly, the food in the restaurant is superb and the view from both sides of the hotel is breathtaking. The front view has the beautiful Mt Meru while the rear has lush green golf course and a wonderful pool area. The rooms are big, the beds comfortable, the atmosphere is quiet and serene. The wifi in rooms are however slow. The hotel is close to great tourist/safari/mountaineering attractions. The Hotel is a perfect getaway for the couple, a family or a business group. Sure will like to come here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Femorata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Mount Meru Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Feel very good every time I stay there. Its got a nice practical layout very spacious. Staff is very friendly, people in general have a kenyan touch in the service industry in the northern Tanzanian circuit which is a plus plus compared to Dar.
Food is decent too. Nice finishing with the new refurb. Rooms are very comfortable, well done !

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanikaNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Whilst aesthetically this is one of the nicest hotels in Arusha it is going rapidly downhill in terms of service and standards. I was there with 5 friends for a few sundowners and we had about 3 different waiters serving us and none of them had any level of understanding and just ording a simple drink became a mission. Coupled with that the prices are ridiculous. Tsh8,500 for a glass of very mediocre white wine nearly had me falling off my chair. This is very expensive compared to everywhere else in Arusha and I get the feeling they are just trying to rip off the tourists. What a shame as the service really does not represent the standard this hotel should be.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Top notch hotel with modern feel and amenities. After getting in and out of a small tent and using porta potties in the rocky terrain on Kilimanjaro, this was the perfect respite for this spoiled american to come back to. Best of customer service at the front desk and everywhere I placed my tired body. Espresso bar, food service at the pool, laundry and the buffet restaurant area. Staff was always friendly and very patient with any questions I had.

Room Tip: I paid for a hot stone massage and was pleasantly surprised to get a wonderful treatment by my pract...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed here for business and was in a hurry.
Maybe not the best mind set for this hotel.

The hotel and it rooms are new and in a good condition.
Front Office is very welcoming, understanding and service orientated.

The rooms are decent, well equipped and clean. Bed is a bit small and hard, the bathroom small but sufficient. The price-quality is perfect. Decent TV programs, good in-room menu, but Internet is weak, not even slow.

Until you go for a drink in one of the bars. I was surprised. The staff just did not have it. Orders come out wrong or in three parts. The food was good, but not reflecting what is indicated on the menu.

The pool (area) is great! Nice pool, good situation with the gardens around it gives a country lodge feeling at a city / business hotel.

As said before good price quality balance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IJMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is definitely among the best hotels in the area. New and clean, it is very comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms are well appointed. The main problems with the hotel are the service and food. I also had a room where the air conditioner only worked intermittently, and they could not fix it and gave me a difficult time about moving rooms. The breakfast and lunch buffets were mediocre, at best. The food variety and preparation was nothing special, neither interesting nor very tasty. The meats were tough, fish did not seem fresh, and the vegetables of a very limited variety. Finally, the fitness center was small and cramped with cheap machines. It did not even have a treadmill.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank des16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

As we turned into the complex from the bustling main road, we entered an oasis of calm. Once in the the sleek, modern lobby, we were greeted with a refreshing glass of fresh fruit juice. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and efficient.

Though small, the hotel room was cozy and well appointed. As unique touch, the television in the room had a personalized welcome message.

Though I usually do not like buffets, both the dinner and breakfast buffets were excellent. During the dinner service, the chef was present to give explanations and descriptions of the food selections.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
983 reviews
1.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#5 of 43 in Arusha
85 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 43 in Arusha
266 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
462 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 43 in Arusha
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Hotel

Address: Nairobi - Moshi Road | Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range: £45 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Meru Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the place where heaven meets earth, where the rhythm of nature pounds to the beat of an African drum, and where life is all about a revival of the senses. Mount Meru Hotel is situated in the tranquil green area of Sekei, Arusha. The ideal location gives you panoramic views of Mount Meru on the one side and the Gymkhana golf course on the other. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you are invited to take delight in the breath-taking setting, lend your ears to the beautiful sounds of nature meeting civilisation, and touch the heart of Tanzanian highlife and luxury. The city centre and main business area are located nearby and Kilimanjaro international airport is just 50km from the hotel. Services: The Hotel offers a wide variety of business and leisure facilities with wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel. The rooms are an experience of understated African opulence, open space and natural light. The Hotel boasts 4 premier restaurants to tantalize even the most discerning guest’s taste buds. The main restaurant, Meru, offers guests buffet style meals. Fine dining at Duluti is based on a la carte international cuisine combined with local spices, an eclectic blend of tastes and fragrances! Named after Africa’s great lake, Tanganyika Pizza bar is created for you to enjoy a light lunch as you lounge around the pool. The ultimate indulgence at Arabica Coffee Shop is surely their cappuccino. They serve light lunches and a selection of delectable confectionery. You can end your day at the Mawenzi Cigar Bar whilst sampling some of Scotland’s and Cuba’s finest exports. Conference and Banqueting: A wide variety of conveniently sized, air-conditioned business facilities are available. The modern and equipped banquets rooms are perfect venues for meetings, seminars, cocktail parties, dinners and other functions. All conference rooms are fitted with their own sound systems, telephone and wireless connection. Secretarial services, photocopying and fax services are available, as well as spacious areas for breakaway groups. We can also arrange decoration music, lighting and entertainment. Special indoor and outdoor venues are available for high level meetings, cocktail parties and dinners. Mount Meru Hotel won the "Best Luxury Hotel 2011" and Tanzania Info Guide magazine presented this award at the Karibu Travel and Tourism Fair 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Meru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing