We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in Arusha” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Meru Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mount Meru Hotel
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury in Arusha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

This must be the best place to stay in Arusha. The grounds and views out the back are beautiful with a calming effect, and the pool is amazing. Just sitting at one of the outdoor tables was enjoyable. The rooms are spacious with great bathroom facilities. Staff is gracious, helpful, and willing to try to meet any request. Food is excellent. I stayed there in July for 1 night after safari. It turned out to be a great choice for relaxation before the long trip home.

Room Tip: Stay in a room overlooking the grounds and pool in the back for a calming and expansive view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    249
    88
    16
    10
See reviews for
92
125
28
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the Mt Meru Hotel in Arusha as we were on our way to, and after returning from a climb of Kilimanjaro. Having never been to Tanzania before, I wasn't sure what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised to find a clean, modern, higher end hotel up to the standards that one would find in any modern city. The property was well kept. The staff were friendly, helpful, and fluent in english. The rooms were clean and modern with satellite TV. The beds were very firm, which I find comfortable. In room safe's made me confident that I could venture out without my passport etc. We left some of our bags at the hotel for the week that we were on the mountain, and everything was in order when we returned. They locked valuables in the hotel safe for those who had them.
My only complaints, and they are minor were:
1. The service at the restaurant patio. Every one was very polite and nice, but man, was the kitchen ever slow. Easily 45 minutes for a club sandwich. As long as you have a bit of time, the food was tasty, but you better not be in a rush. I loved that we could smoke a cigar on the porch, and they didn't complain when we produced a bottle of single malt scotch (to have with said cigar) to toast our success on Kili.
2. The internet was very unreliable, but hey, this is africa, they had free wifi when it worked, so I can't complain too much. Just don't plan on downloading or uploading any large files from the hotel...

The hotel had a nice buffet breakfast and dinner. The food was tasty, and the choice of foods was plentiful.

If I ever go back to Arusha, I am certain that this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: Both rooms I had did not feature a tub, but rather an open shower. Both the tub and shower spilled a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSeaker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Well kept. Rooms are very good. I only stayed there over night so I can't give it a full 5 stars. It seems that electricity brownouts are the norm for Arusha. Electricity went out about 6 times in 1 evening.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

compared to the competition, Mt Meru has established itself as the smart hotel in town. The Arusha Hotel has history on its side and although comforatble is tired. The Arusha Coffee Lodge is outside town and very much geared to the safari set which it does well. The Mt Meru is where local businessmen can meet and feel they can offer their guests an international standard in terms of hospitality.

Room Tip: Make sure you are facing South across the golf course. Although the other side faces Mt Meru which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Mt Meru is a modern, western-style hotel with all the conveniences travelers have come to expect. The beds are very comfortable. I don't understand the fascination with open showers as they just end up wetting the floor. Food, especially the buffet, is quite good with ample variety. The pizza by the pool was adequate, although not exceptional We stayed twice, at beginning and ending of a climb of Kilimanjaro. Some of our group used the spa and reported that the massages were very good. This would be a prefered place to stay to be insulated from the rest of Arusha.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpinist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Mt Meru is a modern hotel with all the convenience western travelers have come to take for granted. The staff are accommodating and represent the gracious nature of the Tanzanians well. Rooms are bright and beds are very comfortable. Food is quite good with ample variety. Showers are a pleasant full flow especially welcome post safari to weary dusty travelers. The lobby shop sells tanzanite jewelry at a reasonable price but there are other sources that might have higher quality stones. There is a coffee bar and full service liquor bar where you can enjoy a cocktail outdoors admiring the beautiful grounds that surroundd the hotel.

Room Tip: Suites provide you with an additional sitting room that comes with an additional twin size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moxie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

After crossing the border from Kenya, My safari group, Ranger Tours, dropped into Mt. Meru Hotel and treated us to a spectacular break from the stress of a long road trip. We dropped in during a meeting of some very high level US embassy lunch meeting. The place was abuzz with top military brass. We only stayed to eat lunch and wash up. My only gripe about this place was the awful food. The barbeque chicken, lamb and steak were overcooked, the desserts were dry and tasteless. Surely the brass would have chosen a better place had they also known in advance.

Room Tip: Specify single or double bed in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.9 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
3.6 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#6 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Hotel

Property: Mount Meru Hotel
Address: Nairobi - Moshi Road | Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Meru Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the place where heaven meets earth, where the rhythm of nature pounds to the beat of an African drum, and where life is all about a revival of the senses. Mount Meru Hotel is situated in the tranquil green area of Sekei, Arusha. The ideal location gives you panoramic views of Mount Meru on the one side and the Gymkhana golf course on the other. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you are invited to take delight in the breath-taking setting, lend your ears to the beautiful sounds of nature meeting civilisation, and touch the heart of Tanzanian highlife and luxury. The city centre and main business area are located nearby and Kilimanjaro international airport is just 50km from the hotel. Services: The Hotel offers a wide variety of business and leisure facilities with wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel. The rooms are an experience of understated African opulence, open space and natural light. The Hotel boasts 4 premier restaurants to tantalize even the most discerning guest’s taste buds. The main restaurant, Meru, offers guests buffet style meals. Fine dining at Duluti is based on a la carte international cuisine combined with local spices, an eclectic blend of tastes and fragrances! Named after Africa’s great lake, Tanganyika Pizza bar is created for you to enjoy a light lunch as you lounge around the pool. The ultimate indulgence at Arabica Coffee Shop is surely their cappuccino. They serve light lunches and a selection of delectable confectionery. You can end your day at the Mawenzi Cigar Bar whilst sampling some of Scotland’s and Cuba’s finest exports. Conference and Banqueting: A wide variety of conveniently sized, air-conditioned business facilities are available. The modern and equipped banquets rooms are perfect venues for meetings, seminars, cocktail parties, dinners and other functions. All conference rooms are fitted with their own sound systems, telephone and wireless connection. Secretarial services, photocopying and fax services are available, as well as spacious areas for breakaway groups. We can also arrange decoration music, lighting and entertainment. Special indoor and outdoor venues are available for high level meetings, cocktail parties and dinners. Mount Meru Hotel won the "Best Luxury Hotel 2011" and Tanzania Info Guide magazine presented this award at the Karibu Travel and Tourism Fair 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Meru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing