We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Service”
Review of Mount Meru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Meru Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2012

After 3 flights and 36 hours of traveling we made it to the Mount Meru hotel before starting our safari with idreamofafrica.com. The hotel is only a few years old. The rooms and common areas are beautifully decorated all in dark woods with contrasting beige walls. Beautiful furniture and lighting fixtures. Our room over looked Mount Meru. The bed was so comfortable - great night sleep. Service was great and everyone was very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was fabulous. Great place to stay with all the comforts you would find at home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

I organised a three day business meeting here with team members from across the globe. I think there was quite a bit of apprehension from some of the team when they heard where the meeting was to be held, but any concerns were quickly dispelled by the excellent staff, super business / conference facilities and overall facilities that the hotel had to offer.
Rooms were very comfortable with good TV channels and free wifi which worked very effectively, meals that we had were mostly buffet (which were fine).Sitting out in the evening watching the sun set with an excellent local beer in hand completed an overall great time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

How amazing to step of the dusty streets of Arusha into this extraordinary hotel that looks like it is more suited in the Western world! Diplomats visit regularly, so the red carpet is laid and rolled up constantly. A treasure in every respect, and certainly well worth the fees charged!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WingedPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed at the Mount Meru Hotel for 4 nights just recently on our trip to Tanzania. The hotel was clean, beautiful and the service was top notch. Great food and great ambiance! This place has it all...you should absolutely consider the Mt Meru HOtel as your home base when you go to Arusha

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and the beds are nice and firm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marioc2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed here for a few hours after our Thompson Safari and before our night flight from the Kilimanjaro Airport. It was a wonderful place. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean, the shower-powerful. The "snack" they served was more like a full meal. The foccacia sandwich was enough to feed three people!
I absolutely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pachita61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We are from Kansas (in the United States) and stayed here in October of 2012 for 2 nights before hiking Mt Kilimanjaro and 1 night after the hike. I was the only man in our group and I was a bit concerned about traveling with my wife and 2 other women in Africa. However, it was an amazing trip, and this hotel was a part of that. The people were very polite and spoke very good English. They have a few restaurants and bars with very good food and drinks. The amenities were very similar to good hotels in America. The rooms were good size (much large than the one we stayed at in Rome on the way back to the US) and the beds were very comfortable. Our room had a flat panel TV, free Wi-Fi internet, a room safe, and a refrigerator. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clinton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Each detail was perfect. Hotel is very Modern and Style. It has it's own unforgettable face. Staff are very friendly, ready to help any minute. Rooms are spacious, with amazing view to Mount Meru. When U are opening up the window fresh mounting air penetrate to the room and it feels like SPA air procedure! We did enjoy it really. Also meal are various and delicious. We specially liked pizza near the pool. And we have enjoyed a lot by the decor of the Hotel. I wish the Hotel will be showing the same high level in the future also.

Room Tip: I think the view is better from the highest floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moyo-africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
3.5 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
101 reviews
11.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Hotel

Address: Nairobi - Moshi Road Sekei Area | Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range: £42 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Meru Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the place where heaven meets earth, where the rhythm of nature pounds to the beat of an African drum, and where life is all about a revival of the senses. Mount Meru Hotel is situated in the tranquil green area of Sekei, Arusha. The ideal location gives you panoramic views of Mount Meru on the one side and the Gymkhana golf course on the other. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you are invited to take delight in the breath-taking setting, lend your ears to the beautiful sounds of nature meeting civilisation, and touch the heart of Tanzanian highlife and luxury. The city centre and main business area are located nearby and Kilimanjaro international airport is just 50km from the hotel. Services: The Hotel offers a wide variety of business and leisure facilities with wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel. The rooms are an experience of understated African opulence, open space and natural light. The Hotel boasts 4 premier restaurants to tantalize even the most discerning guest’s taste buds. The main restaurant, Meru, offers guests buffet style meals. Fine dining at Duluti is based on a la carte international cuisine combined with local spices, an eclectic blend of tastes and fragrances! Named after Africa’s great lake, Tanganyika Pizza bar is created for you to enjoy a light lunch as you lounge around the pool. The ultimate indulgence at Arabica Coffee Shop is surely their cappuccino. They serve light lunches and a selection of delectable confectionery. You can end your day at the Mawenzi Cigar Bar whilst sampling some of Scotland’s and Cuba’s finest exports. Conference and Banqueting: A wide variety of conveniently sized, air-conditioned business facilities are available. The modern and equipped banquets rooms are perfect venues for meetings, seminars, cocktail parties, dinners and other functions. All conference rooms are fitted with their own sound systems, telephone and wireless connection. Secretarial services, photocopying and fax services are available, as well as spacious areas for breakaway groups. We can also arrange decoration music, lighting and entertainment. Special indoor and outdoor venues are available for high level meetings, cocktail parties and dinners. Mount Meru Hotel won the "Best Luxury Hotel 2011" and Tanzania Info Guide magazine presented this award at the Karibu Travel and Tourism Fair 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Mount Meru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing