We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city hotel”
Review of Mount Meru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Meru Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Good city hotel”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here before the night before leaving Arusha Airport the next day back for Europe. It is located in the city, but it has a huge garden / park that is very nice to walk around, especially during sunset. Nice view of Mount Meru from pretty much anywhere in the park. Being set back from the road it is quiet and peaceful. We had a pretty decent meal at the hotel, not gourmet, but certainly met all our needs. The pool is spacious and good especially when traveling with kids. We did not leave the hotel at all to see Arusha and got the impression from our guide that there could be safety issues in the city - not sure if that was true or a bit exaggerated. There are also a few shops, some quite elegant where one member of our party got a great deal on an beautiful Prada bag. Overall I would recommend, especially if you have an early transfer to the airport the next day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    271
    94
    16
    10
See reviews for
101
133
30
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A 3 night business stay at Mount Meru Hotel which was according to expectations. Staff was very friendly and willing to assist at every minute, good breakfast buffet, clean rooms and a very nice terrace and swimming pool to relax in the evening. Hopefully I will have the opportunity to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vasilescumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a brief stay here after landing late at Kilimanjaro airport. It's a modern hotel with good proximity to the airport. Our room had functioning air conditioning. The dining area offered outside seating. The lobby is adorned with modern sculptures.

A convenient gateway hotel for hikers of Kilimanjaro and international travelers who need to take a respite before jumping into an excursion.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnFran20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed at the hotel a number of times over the years and it was always very good, for Arusha! Now everything seems to have slipped a few notches, except the quality of the mattresses.. The food is getting worse and worse, the service is just OK and the cleanliness is noticebly poorer.

The "hot box" on the breakfast buffet is totally dreadful and something you would expect to see at a roadside food vendor on the road to Karatuu.

It is still the best option for the money but Arusha Coffee Lodge would be a better option if you can afford it!

Dread to think what it would be like in 18 months time. I believe it has new management.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chui101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

In order of gravity I had the following problems when we stayed in the hotel last week;

- When my clothes returned from the laundry somebody had written the room number ON my clothes in biro - I noticed it on the collar of my shirt.
- They then scrubbed a hole in the one item which they took away to investigate this happened to be an expensive shirt
- I noticed the room number written on further items of my and my husbands clothing after we had left the hotel.
- Others in our group had the same problem.
- They lost other bits of laundry
- They returned other people clothing to us

- Our bed looked like it had been made up by a child
- I phone housekeeping twice about this but nobody ever came to sort it out
- Housekeeping manageress came to our room about the laundry issue and I showed her the bed to which she half shrugged

- Our safe didn't work on arrival and we had three different people come to look at it

- Our kettle didn't work on arrival and this also required two visits to have it replaced

- Nobody EVER answered the phone at reception
- There were black hairs on the bathroom floor when we arrived in the room
We were not charged for the laundry but the cost of the items damaged was significantly more than the laundry bill.
There wasn't any real remorse or apology forthcoming for the damage caused and nobody seemed to care very much.

Whomever is managing this hotel has clearly not taken any time whatsoever to train anybody in the housekeeping section of the hotel. The people working there have no idea what they are supposed to be doing. This should not be listed as a top end hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janedoexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We - a family of 3 - stayed 3 nights. A good hotel in its category. It could have been located anywhere in the world really - an international many-star hotel with all the trimmings.
Breakfast was very good. Did not have any other meals at the hotel, so cannot comment on the other options available, The gardens were good and extensive enough to run around with a child. The pool was good too.
If they had fixed the TV that was not working properly since day one it would have been good - it would have helped entertaining a small child in a hotel setting. Instead our complaint was ignored. The internet connection was also very bad. I was not able to do an emails while there.
Also - a cot would have been good .....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a very good hotel, up to the standards of the leading US chains for four star hotels. My room was not very large and did not have a comfortable sitting chair. The bed was fine but not great. The shower was good but not a real strong spray as one would expect for a hotel at this price. The room had a refrigerator but no minibar. The best part is the grounds and outdoor dining areas. Both the restaurant and bar have covered patios where the breezes are pleasant. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. One would not guess from the front of the hotel that the back is so lush, inside a large city. The restaurant has good food. Service is quite good but anything that includes a charge is quite expensive. For example, it costs almost a dollar a page to print computer files. And who carries a printer with them while traveling. That is exploitative. This is the nicest hotel in Arusha that I know of, and rooms facing the street also have a great view of Mt. Meru. Note that the floors with smoking rooms smell very smoky. So ask for a floor that does not have smoking, not just a non-smoking room. Be sure to visit the Cultural Heritage Center (on the south side of Arusha) which has an amazing amount of great crafts for sale as well as a free museum/gallery of art.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
0.8 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
960 reviews
1.4 mi away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#6 of 42 in Arusha
76 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kibo Palace Hotel
Kibo Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 42 in Arusha
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 42 in Arusha
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Meru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Meru Hotel

Property: Mount Meru Hotel
Address: Nairobi - Moshi Road | Sekei Area, Arusha 2673, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Meru Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the place where heaven meets earth, where the rhythm of nature pounds to the beat of an African drum, and where life is all about a revival of the senses. Mount Meru Hotel is situated in the tranquil green area of Sekei, Arusha. The ideal location gives you panoramic views of Mount Meru on the one side and the Gymkhana golf course on the other. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you are invited to take delight in the breath-taking setting, lend your ears to the beautiful sounds of nature meeting civilisation, and touch the heart of Tanzanian highlife and luxury. The city centre and main business area are located nearby and Kilimanjaro international airport is just 50km from the hotel. Services: The Hotel offers a wide variety of business and leisure facilities with wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel. The rooms are an experience of understated African opulence, open space and natural light. The Hotel boasts 4 premier restaurants to tantalize even the most discerning guest’s taste buds. The main restaurant, Meru, offers guests buffet style meals. Fine dining at Duluti is based on a la carte international cuisine combined with local spices, an eclectic blend of tastes and fragrances! Named after Africa’s great lake, Tanganyika Pizza bar is created for you to enjoy a light lunch as you lounge around the pool. The ultimate indulgence at Arabica Coffee Shop is surely their cappuccino. They serve light lunches and a selection of delectable confectionery. You can end your day at the Mawenzi Cigar Bar whilst sampling some of Scotland’s and Cuba’s finest exports. Conference and Banqueting: A wide variety of conveniently sized, air-conditioned business facilities are available. The modern and equipped banquets rooms are perfect venues for meetings, seminars, cocktail parties, dinners and other functions. All conference rooms are fitted with their own sound systems, telephone and wireless connection. Secretarial services, photocopying and fax services are available, as well as spacious areas for breakaway groups. We can also arrange decoration music, lighting and entertainment. Special indoor and outdoor venues are available for high level meetings, cocktail parties and dinners. Mount Meru Hotel won the "Best Luxury Hotel 2011" and Tanzania Info Guide magazine presented this award at the Karibu Travel and Tourism Fair 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Meru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing