We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kigongoni Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masai Camp(Arusha)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Impala Hotel(Arusha)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
69
52
13
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
52
13
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee plantationthe bar restaurant areakilimanjaro airportwalking tourpre postmount merulate in the eveninga wonderful staydirt roadfirst stopcomfortable placethe cottagesnext morningarusha cityour honeymoontwo nightsbreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Spent 2 days at Kigongoni with Thomson Safaris between Mt. Kilimanjaro and a safari. Top notch in all respects. Very clean, great food, pleasant & accomodating staff, and everything worked.

Met the owner, Atty Hammer-Roos and her son who manages the facility - both of whom were extremely hospitable.
Atty also founded the Sibusiso Foundation,a center for mentally or physically handicapped children. She arranged a walking tour of Sibusiso for our little group of 4 and a tour of the grounds.

Good value for the money. Would defintiely recommend to family and friends!

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank TheKiliKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

We spent a night here in December 2007. There must be changes as we found the lodge quite well kept and the staff responsive. We had Christmas dinner here and the food was good and fresh. We met the owners son, who is managing the place and he was on site and available to address questions and make us feel at home. The room was quite large, overlooking MT. Kili during sunset, very clean with a large bathroom with lots of hot water.
Overall the place was nice, food and service good. Would recommend. As I noted, the management is on site so there must be changes from previous reviews.
PS it also serves a good cause so it gave me some personal satisfaction that some of the profits are going to help the community.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2007

We spent 3 weeks in Tanzania with one week safari, one week Kilimanjaro and one week in Zanzibar...

Kigongoni was our base camp between these 3 activities. So we stayed 3 nights total, one night at a time...

I must say we really enjoyed it... we had absolultly no problem with the service... The waitress we had was actually extremely nice... The food was good but maybe a little overpriced... but the rooms were a very good quality for the price...

The thing that we notice though is that this is a family owned place and you get a very typical tanzanian experience... Hakuna matata style... which might surprise the stressed out north americans we are ;-)

Example: the 2nd and 3rd visit, they gave us a room with 2 single beds although we had asked for one bed, being on our honeymoon... we mentionned it, ready to complain and yell but the whole hakuna matata spirit came up... the lady called the reception and while we were waiting, we started to chat and ended up singing the Jambo song together... then we got another room and the porters just took care of everything... so it is different and kind of drives you crazy at the begining ... but it then slowly infuses your body and disolves the stress ;-)

The terrasse is gorgeous with a magnificient view of Mount Meru... We had a beautiful afternoon having drinks with our travel agent and few friends of hers, on our return from 6 days hike up Kili...

I would certainly go back to Kigongoni ...

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

The rooms (lodges) are great, the pool is good, so is the view and the tropical garden.

The (new) management however doesn't understand how to run a business. The personnel is more concerned with their own affairs than with yours. You feel like you are interrupting their social life when you want to get something to eat. Specially the restaurant service is lousy, although the cook is very good. The African music in the kitchen is louder than the music in the restaurant, service is slow. Many errors made.

The garden people sleep in the chairs of an unused lodge while the management is absent.
Be sure to bring Deet. Muscitos everywhere, night and day.

It sure needs management.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelingBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

We booked our stay here through Africa Travel Resource and were looking forward to a relaxing stay after a long few weeks of traveling. The property is very nice and clean, the pool is pretty, the restaurant and bar area also attractive. Unfortunately, that's about as far as it goes. Service is atrocious. Sadly, they don't seem to know how to take care of guests, but the lodge certainly knows how to charge $$ like it does.

A few examples: Dinner on the first night took 2 hours. Not because this was a multi-course, 5-star place, but because there was a 1-hour gap between our appetizer and entree -- with no explanation as to why. The second night, dinner took 35 minutes. The third night, the dinner menu offered only a third of the options they had the previous nights. There were never more than a few occupied tables, either. Service was slapdash and uncaring everywhere on the property, though, not just in the restaurant (which is waaaay overpriced for the quality). Staff members stared at us wherever we went (other guests said the same thing) instead of smiling. Overall, they did not look happy -- and we felt it.

The free Internet is one VERY SLOW computer with a line of people waiting to use it -- don't expect much.

The lodge is under new management -- we were there at the beginning of July and the manager had only been there for 4 days. He didn't ever actually introduce himself as the manager, but we assumed he was the first time he spoke to us. He's friendly and willing to address any issues you might have, but the service issues seem to go pretty deep -- it's almost like no one was trained to do their job. This new manager might have to start from square one.

I'd hold off a few months (from July 2007) before staying here to let management work out these service problems. For the price, it's just not worth it when there are other properties in the area of similar nature.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank msp132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews